Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tree Line

by h2n0 - Compo Entry

You are a state of the art crate making machine.
You have been tasked with creating boxes on an industrial scale, will you be able to cope?


How to move:
Up & W to move up
Down & S to move down
Left & A to move left
Right & D to move right
Space, X & C to interact

What you have to do:
You need to build crates from the trees around you.
1. You need to cut down some trees, to do this you need to be practically on the tree you want to cut (this is a programming error that I have deemed not a "hot fix")

2. You need to then take the trunks you have just gathered and use the saw, thats the tool on left inside the shack again, you need to practically be on the machine for it to work.

3. Now take your newly fashioned logs and drill them (the middle tool), this will give you planks.

4. With the planks you must create crates, use the sanding machine on the right to do this.

5. Now that you have crates you need to take them over to the truck that is on the right hand side of the map.

6. Repeat steps 1-5 until bored.

Thanks to all of those that have given feed back so far (24/04/2016), I am going to start work on a post-compo version of the game soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#349Humor2.53
#436Graphics3.08
#507Innovation3.05
#549Mood2.81
#746Fun2.70
#830Overall2.71
#885Theme2.36
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

guckstift says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Hi there, It took a time for me to find out how to chop down a tree. Couldn't find out how to use the other tools or doing anything other then sawing trees down. But your graphics are fine and simple.

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

This it on purpose, that I cant go diagonal? :) Some sounds would be cool. But nice idea!

h2n0 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Thanks for the feedback. @guckstift I'll append my description with a better explanation of the controls. @zugende sadly yeah, moving diagonally is possible but I didn't think of a way to implement it until this morning, there was sound at one point but Java didn't like it on Linux so I scrapped it. Hopefully there will be sound in the post-jam edition.

FaeDine says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:10am

I really like the aesthetic of it all, but I found it quite confusing.

The player has to be lined up really close to a tree to cut it (I didn't think you could after failing a few times). I also didn't understand how I was supposed to fulfill contracts. I was able to create crates from the trunks I collected, but didn't see a place to put them or anything?

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:53am

Animations are all very slick, game works nicely :)

Louspirit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:06am

Congrats to do a game with java. I miss some sounds, and it is not enough natural to play in my opinion. The trigger to use the machines are too small and I couldnt manage to perform the tasks on the right.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Bit confusing but nice chopping game :D. I like the concept

in3orn says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:38pm

I'm stuck behind the car! Help me! xD

More seriously:
The truck was nicely hidden. Luckily I'd red your post, so I knew where to find it. The second problem is movement - it's not natural (e.g. cannot go up & right at the same time). However I like the notifications and general concept. Good job!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Nice little crafting game. I like the animations of the yellow robot. Very well done!

danielilett says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:38pm

I liked the idea, but I agree with a lot of people here that the movement wasn't as smooth as it could be. However, good job on making a game with Java!
Also, I tried putting my crates on the truck, but I couldn't seem to (every time I used the action key, it just sawed the truck instead). At one point, I also got stuck inside the truck, so I presume that's a bug that needs fixing. I liked the robot's animations and sprites though. Good luck with a post-competition version if you make one!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]