Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Bee Gone

by bobismijnnaam - Compo Entry

=== BEE GONE ===
A strange beehive has appeared in your backyard! How dare it! Destroy it by launching yourself at high velocities at the perpetrator. Bee careful, however! Those bees might sting!

=== CONTROLS ===
- Click the circle and drag to launch yourself an enemies!
- That's it, really.

=== INSTALLATION ===
[Windows]
Located in the windows folder. Just start "bee-gone.exe". Should "Just Work". If not, let me know.

[Mac]
Check out the file bee-gone-mac.zip. No idea how that works. Mac probably has a way to install zipped apps or something. I followed the instructions, I hope you know how to use the end result. I'd like some feedback if it did or did not work.

[Linux]
I hate to ask this, but to make it run on Linux you need to install some stuff. First, add the PPA listed on the official Love2D site (https://love2d.org/). Then, "sudo apt-get install love". After Love2D has been installed you can run the game by executing "love bee-gone.love". Enjoy!

[Web]
Visit http://www.plusminos.nl/ld35 to play the game! Let the game load for a few seconds first, it's somewhat slow! Once it's done loading something will be visible immediately.

=== ABOUT ===
BEE GONE was made for the Ludum Dare 35 compo. @bobismijnnaam made it in 48 hours with Love2D and GIMP. The source is licensed under the MIT license. If you want to look at it feel free; just unzip the .love file.

@bobismijnnaam
http://plusminos.nl
bobrubbens [at] gmail [dot] com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#68Fun3.86
#235Innovation3.50
#289Overall3.41
#296Humor2.70
#570Mood2.76
#627Graphics2.71
#857Theme2.52

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48am

I absolutely adore the slowmo while you are trying to aim. It gives quite the adrenaline rush

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07am

A fun game to play with!

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14am

Kinda hard but sooooo awesome. So far it's my favorite.

igrir says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:42am

This is a violence game! LOL.
Really like the slow motion part when pulling the ball

rubna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

cool game ! i really liked shooting around

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

cool slowmo effect! the game had a nice feel to it - the graphics could use some work

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

aight lekker bob

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58am

nice! I always wondered what is possible with the love2d physics engine. Nice one! I love the bees, the animtation and the slowmo mode :D

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08pm

You need some patience to lure the bees to less-troubling positions.
Had some trouble clicking on the right place, good game through.

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

I like this game bobe

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46am

Lovely mechanic - once you get to grips with it, it feels really intuitive and satisfying. I played this for far longer than I'd expected and had a lot of fun. Only one very tiny suggestion - I would have liked the dead bees to look 'deader' somehow. :)

Awesome work - one of my favourites so far!

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15am

Fun game, for an ubuntu user ;)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:22am

Hehe, yeah I have to agree there's no clear way to run this on any other distribution besides compiling it yourself lol.

Thanks for the great comments everyone!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:10pm

This is great, the bees look very nice too. The mechanic is fun and works very well, the objective is so close too, your really feel like you are close to getting there.

A bit more tolerance on the click zone would have been nice, clicking slightly away from the circle and not activating the shot can be a bit frustrating.

Arnage says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:43pm

With the addition of a score counter this could be a great arcadey game. Although bees piling up on the ground is also quite a satisfying "score" already :)

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really fun! Not the most revolutionary game but one of the most fun!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:49am

Nice ... I really enjoyed killing the bees. There was a good satisfaction with it!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10am

cool ^^

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59am

Slowmotion was very good used and very fun to watch. Otherwise nicely done game, you can add more levels or some kind of goal other than just killing bees in numbers. Hovewer killing bees in numbers is also fun :-D

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:38am

Really fun game. The slow motion really adds a lot !

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:43am

It's pretty fun. very difficult to win.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]