Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Through Oneself

by Omiya Games - Jam Entry

A lone woman finds herself stuck in-between two dimensions, and only you can help! Guide this person to salvation using environmental cues and your own smarts. Through Oneself is a unique puzzle-platformer where your character itself reveals a new hidden world. Use the visual cues in both the real and hidden to navigate through this treacherous world!

Controls:
* WASD to move
* Space to jump
* Left-Ctrl to crouch and crawl
* Move the mouse to look around
* Use mouse scroll-wheel to zoom in and out
* Esc to pause

Note: a 3-button mouse (mouses with scroll wheels) vastly improves the game, but is not necessary to play.

Confused? Here's a big hint! Your character can only interact with what's visible inside of her silhouette. So use that scroll wheel to zoom in and take a closer look at what the invisible world looks like!

Created in:
* Engine: Unity
* Graphics: a combination of Unity Standard Assets, Unity-chan (Candy Rock version) and Autodesk's free Character Generator.
* Music: GarageBand, something I made a few days ago
* Sound Effects: Unity Standard Assets and BFXR
* Font: Fira-Sans by Mozilla

The team:
* Taro Omiya (yup, only me!)

This game is funded through Patreon. Many thanks to the following:
* Adam R. Vierra
* Joshua Jennings
* XanderHD
* Tommy Pedersen
* Jacob Clark

Made in Tech Valley Game Space!

Edit Logs
#1: Attempted to upload a WebGL build. Doesn't play music on Chrome, and Firefox indicates security errors.
#2: Took down the WebGL build. Need to look into more further, but when I'm not sleep-deprived.
#3: Added hint for people who were confused with the game. I admit, I'm generally hands-off in explaining core concepts of the game.
#4: Re-organizing description a bit, adding WebGL build created by Unity Cloud, and more hosting websites.
#5: Actual changes made to the executables (but nothing gameplay related). Enabling the Quit button to exit from the game. These builds will be marked with a v1.0.1 version number.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.28
#341Overall(Jam)3.45
#490Fun(Jam)3.19
#565Mood(Jam)3.08
#624Humor(Jam)2.28
#807Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41am

Really cool idea!! It could have used more time to fully develop but you did remarkably well. The cutout effect is really well done and it's fun to use the camera to "reveal" more of the level.

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44am

Great concept!! Love the idea, please continue to make it as a product. I want to buy it!!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15am

@Evergreen Games: Ahaha! Yeah, I was very short on time. If you want the full story, there was a hackathon going on at the same location, and the same time I usually organize the Ludum Dare real-world meeting. So I was pulled right and left with Unity VR questions, and really difficult ones to boot. Anyway, it's amazing I got anything done, really.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:56am

Awesome game. Please develop it further!

MeritLeave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01am

Wow, this is really novel! I dig the idea of being stuck on a different plane of existence like this. It's kind of mind-bending to play, and you could do a lot of interesting puzzles with lots of moving parts! I really hope this gets expanded into something larger in scope. Great work!

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:11am

Interesting idea! It is a bit difficult to see where you're going. Also, the acceleration on the camera movement makes the controls a bit frustrating to use.

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15am

That's a pretty awesome concept.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:27am

Very interesting concept! Nice visual effect for the main character. Cool game.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:35am

Wow, what a cool idea! The cutout effect was well done. I could see a very cool full game come out of this idea, no problem.

There were a couple areas where the two "worlds" were the exactly the same and it was hard to judge jumping distances since you couldn't see the character at all. I think some play testing to find those areas and adding more variation of textures could fix that.

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

This game is breaking my brain

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14am

Very interesting concept! I have no idea how you achieved that effect but it is what made this game what it is!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Really cool concept! It took me a while to fully figure out what was going on and didn't really know where I was supposed to go, but a lot of potential to be had.. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Really nice concept, using the camera as mechanics. Also, nice music. Feels very Anime-Urban.

What I felt was immersion-breaking, though, was that the crowds and the sterile test chamber-like (I'm thinking Portal) environment with all the huge blocks and buttons didn't quite mix, so at the end it seemed like it wasn't important that the protagonist was a human girl or that the crowds were crowds, I would just play the game mechanically.

Still, the puzzles were interesting and fun. Kind of felt like a mix between the block pushing in a Zelda game and the different kind of thinking that Portal requires.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Interesting idea! It's quite impressive that you were able to do all that in those 72 hours, with all those other things going on around you.
Sometimes it was kinda hard to see where I was going, though, hehe.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:27pm

This is a brilliant little showcase for a very strong concept. I love the idea of it! I believe that with enough time and development this can be a triple A game some day. Fantastic job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Tons of good things here - cool idea to layer the shaders like that, to unveil things you haven't seen before. The menu and levels of content and tutorial all speak of a person who has done a few game jams before.

I highly recommend continuing on this idea, and finding a few 3d artists along the way to expand on what you have. Could be really cool with a vaporwave color pallete. Thanks for doing the stream on twitch. Cheers!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Very innovative !

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20am

@Omita Games yeah I've seen your games and stream in the past and I saw the post about the vr thing. Hope you are streaming this year!

subpixel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:33am

Really nice work, it started becoming second nature looking around the level through the keyhole for new features. There were a few places where it wasn't super clear to me what the form was on the other side, but experimentation always yielded the answer.

It would be great to try this out with really disparate, detailed scenes on both sides of the divide. Would it still read, or do you think you need these simple planes and clear colors to disambiguate the view?

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:33am

Amazing graphical effects. Understanding the environment of what was invisible at times was a little challenging, especially with the people wondering around.

Curious about where to see this going in the future.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Whoa, this is super trippy. Really cool mechanic. Finding switches and crawlspaces was especially interesting; with the platforming i usually found it easier to just feel my way through it. Interested to see how you could expand it further. Great work!

Pusty says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:47pm

This is amazing! 5/5

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Amazing concept! The platforming physics were a bit awkward but that didn't matter most of the time. Some really sweet ideas here and I could definitely see this turned into a "full" game! Good work.

calzep says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:09am

really neat idea, never seen or could imagine something like this before. Definitely innovative

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Really cool idea! Unfortunately I think it crashed when I crouched.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:38pm

@bytegrove Is that the webGL having the problem? If so, does the PC/Mac/Linux versions work any better?

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Woah this concept is trippy. Extremely clever how you achieved that effect. Annoyingly my mouse pointer wouldn't lock to the screen so controlling the camera felt awkward, but I really enjoyed playing the first few levels!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:25am

Wow, this is such an original concept! I really like this game. A little confusing, but very interesting!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:39am

A really great idea and implementation as well.
I wish my character had a slightly different animation when she was pushing crates, as there's no real indication otherwise.

I think the choice of music and having crowds of people walking around was a good way to set the tone of the game, giving a hint to the player that it's a completely safe puzzle/explore game.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:34am

That was a cool idea!!! It would be nice to see this one as a full game! Nice work!!!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:50am

Wow great concept!! :)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:28am

Nice polished game, really fun to play !

ijona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Wow! The mechanics is definitely interesting. It seems to me that mood could less joyful and more mysterious in such a game. But maybe it would be a different game then:)

axoona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:30pm

very cool concept and the puzzles are really fun. keep it up!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:52am

Bit difficult to see the character, but the mechanic was really interesting and fun to work with, and the levels were all on an even enough difficulty to make it fun without being too easy. Oh, and the music was excellent!

knason says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Great concept! very out of the ordinary. I really liked the audio it really added to the mood. I hope you keep on working on this. Great job!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very interesting concept! Hard to wrap your mind around. The music feels very Naruto-esque, shame it doesn't translate to the visuals. That being said, a fantastic concept with pretty good polish in terms of implementation! (Even got a tutorial!) Awesome stuff guys!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:57am

Neat idea. Great accomplishment getting this innovative tech done for the Jam.

BitDare says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:44am

This game is so beautiful. The gameplay is innovative and fun. And the Mood felt amazing.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Cool idea. The various layers and how they inverted visibility was a bit disorienting but I got through in the end. Nice.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:03pm

very nifty idea, but also really confusing. guess i would like to see more visual contrast between the two dimensions

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:15pm

It is definitely an innovative idea, but it was not fun with the current game mechanics.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Cool idea but i dont like the game it just feels strange

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Amazing concept! I think you can get this somewhere and it'll be the best to see on market.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:17pm

I don't feel like the audio added to it. Interesting mechanic with the way you have to look around.

zondarg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:01am

Very interesting idea, the cutout effect is very special. For some reason I got stuck in midair twice, but entertaining nevertheless :D

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:37pm

This is a really cool idea and was very well executed.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Pretty interesting puzzle platformer. I really liked the silhouette/cut-out effects.

tmpxyz says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:53am

Cool idea!

I would suggest to add some helpers to help player locate himself, and the lighting is a little dark.

Brightstar says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:08am

Nice. -_^

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:49am

Very polished, with a very unique concept.
I didn't see the theme, but that's not a big deal.
You should have added a fullscreen for the emebed game though.

May 8, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Really clever concept! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/IgqbHpL7wxo

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:06pm

@TheCain: I didn't add fullscreen due to the code not accommodating for changing screen sizes. Perhaps at some point, I'll add the code in, but it would have to be a post-compo entry.

PowerSpark says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Awesome game concept, great idea with the camera layering effects. I hope you take this game further!

geekguy100 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:15am

Very interesting and unique. Cool game! I'm glad you added in a tutorial!

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:40pm

HOLY CRAP! This is really really amazing Taro! Platforming segments felt strangely good (with the combination of 3D and semi-visible character, I was really worried about it :P) and the concept is super interesting! Might be one of my favorite games from you! Good work!!

Omiya Games says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:07am

@01010111 Many thanks!

Omiya Games says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:08am

@01010111 Oh, yeah, I made the character extra-floaty, figuring the platforming was going to be hard for most people. Glad you liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]