Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Tetris Piece That Tilted And Fell

by cinnamonmelonpig - Compo Entry

Controls:

Arrow keys to move;
Space to shapeshift;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#39Innovation4.03
#39Theme4.17
#54Fun3.90
#62Overall3.90
#79Humor3.48
#112Audio3.55
#122Graphics3.86
#164Mood3.42

Comments

flummox3d says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

I really love this! The "did I get it right" slow motion moment won me over :)

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Super polished and nice looking, my one issue is that while the game is isometric, the solution isn't so I got really confused as to how its oriented and couldn't get past like 3

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:55pm

This was cute and well executed, the slow mo part was a really nice touch. Nice job!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Insanely difficult, but one of the most polished entries I've seen so far. If only I could get a score in the double digits... :D

I agree with the comment about having difficulty reading where the red blocks are going to appear due to the lack of isometric map in the bottom right, but perhaps that would make the game too easy? Despite this, I found myself playing again and again to get a better score.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Wow, really slick

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Really great! Took a few tries to match the iso play area to the straight on field, but it's a lot of fun.

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Real Good O_O
Only problem is the Iso and the solution as @ORECROS already mentioned :P

dusho says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

very nice idea.. and well performed
fun game.. but really hard

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Wow, this was fun. I would add some indicator of the order of shifting. The game was very intuitive. I think the map of the upcoming board should be isometric as well, but I got used to it pretty quickly.

I got 45 score. The best strategy seems to be in the shape of the T block most of the time as it can fit in most of the boards, and just switch to the others sometimes if it can't.

The music that kept slowing down was a bit weird.

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Really addictive :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Took me a while to figure out how to orientate the preview. Fun game, good job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23pm

This is a well polished game with fluid controls. Being able to distinguish the angle is difficult, but I imagine when I play more of it I will get the hang.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Than't so cool! Played way to long - solid entry. Congratulations!

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

This was amazing! The slow motion definitely helps. score of 51, I see my mistake now, but that one was hidden well. http://imgur.com/EPDN42Y

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:19am

Graphics and anim are cool

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:49am

I like how the piece's expression convey's so much panic.

Strike says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:55am

Everything is so great about this game. Very good job !

curtamyth says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:29am

I only played a few times so I only got to 10. Really cool concept though, I enjoyed playing! Overall 4/5

Alphish says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Haha, that entry is pretty sweet. Small, but has a bunch of touches that makes it feel complete (especially the slow-motion part). Really cool work. ;)

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Very cool Game. I had fun testing all the possible shapes. I was however somtimes not able to play for long, because one level was unexpectedly difficult :-(
Good work with nice tune which makes me try again after failure...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]