Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Lonely Mountain - A shape shifting tv series

by Jod - Jam Entry

Ever wanted to write screenplay? Ever wanted to change a romantic comedy into a zombie-survival series? Here's your chance!

Lonely Mountain is a failing TV series. You are called in to make it successful again, using any means necessary! Do whatever it takes, but get the ratings in from the viewers, the critics but also the actors and the marketing department.

Lonely Mountain is a Twitch game, meaning it's an interactive story made with HTML, CSS, some javascript and a whole lot of swearing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Overall(Jam)4.05
#39Humor(Jam)3.94
#49Mood(Jam)4.06
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#316Theme(Jam)3.63
#601Graphics(Jam)3.21
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

This was fun. I don't enjoy text games or soap operas in general, but I quite enjoyed this game (which I find quite weird lol).

I got only one ending. I can imagine just how much writing had to be done. Good job on that.

Klaas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25pm

I got a second series! I like the theme interpretation.

subpixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:17pm

I really liked that. I did, unfortunately, succumb to the lure of Zombies. Good thing you didn't put period piece temptation in there too.

I did get where you're going with the theme, but I don't know if I buy it :)

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Very cool. Great take on the theme :)

Got a Sleeper hit.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21am

Fun theme interpretation! ^^
It was really nice to play it! Just some times the background isn't quite right, but details...
First ending was Sleeper hit, then I got all endings =p

Great entry!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:23am

PS: + points for puppies and kittens

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

I can tell that was a huge amount of work. I like the idea and the writing was pretty good (if a bit long-winded at times, the comedy version of the last episode went on longer than it would have on TV for example). I did feel a bit disconnected from events, and I felt more like I was just taking in the writing than trying to achieve any goal with my choices. Possibly that's because I didn't have a reason to care about any of the happiness indexes.

I liked the music on the email screen, but I do appreciate that you didn't include any during the script editing. That made reading much easier.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Very cool entry ! Congrats ! I wish I was able to write that huge amount of text in a short time (even if it was in jam and not compo).

Miko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:11pm

I loved playing this entry- great job on making it! Also, I got ending 5, "A Classic"!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:16am

Man, I really enjoyed playing this one :) I'm usually not a big fan of text games but this one has great theme, cool audio, nice execution and I found it pleasant visually ! You're definitely a super good writer, it's an outstanding amount of work for a jam game.

sadenly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:05pm

I liked it a lot, a couple more pictures would be really cool!
I appreciate the work you did, with all that writing!
(got the second season ending from 3rd time)

celia14 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Awesome idea, awesome execution! First off, I was really impressed by the look - having struggled with formatting Twine before, you did an awesome job.

It was a lot of fun to pretend I was writing a cool TV show - I liked seeing the different genre interpretations of each scene. Overall, trying to please the various stakeholders was an interesting way to make decisions, and I had a lot of fun.

I played a few times and I can't find all the endings, but I'll just have to be happy with a sleeper hit. :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Yay, second season!

Very good entry, I liked the take on the theme and the concept itself. Congrats!

rburema says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:54am

Heyhey,

(I already scored the game last week, but I owe you a comment at least as well.)

Thanks for the support (& tip to use beepbox.co for the music) during the event (gChat go!). Also: Always nice to see a text-based entry (writing is a lot harder than it seems, especially if you've got different endings).

@'nintendoeats' ... I think maybe the happiness ratings show how close you are to various endings? Like you however, I did end up feeling a little bit disconnected. I think maybe the emails you get in the interludes & the game telling you 'you do some housekeeping' etc. where supposed to help with that where supposed to help with that, but the TV-series itself is cleary 'the star of the show' (... errr game). And that seems to push the framing-story out of the (heh) frame.

Something to be 'fixed' in a post-compo vbersion? ;-)

grt,
Remco.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Action Sleeper Hit, yeahhh - and the actors love me.

Great piece of writing & trying to balance different needs! :)

May 1, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very nice use of the theme and I had fun seeing the show being created and changing it depending on my current whims. Sadly with my first play through I did resort to the zombies. The amount of detail and the writing was also top notch.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:05am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]