Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Gallery

by Roan Contreras - Compo Entry

Discover a gallery of shapes made from a group of vertices, made by you. Play a game to gather more vertices and expand your gallery for more shapes to see. While having collected vertices to build some shape, you can shift it to show another variation.

Can be played on HTML5 (WebGL). Made in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Audio3.65
#96Graphics3.93
#150Mood3.46
#360Overall3.33
#473Humor2.18
#483Theme3.33
#575Innovation2.93
#663Fun2.84

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Awesome animation.

qikcik says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Nice :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:55am

Really great polish here, the animations, sound design and dynamic vectors were really cool! Thumbs up!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18am

Great presentation! The sound was well-made, the smooth animations were great, and the reveal system was alright. It's a shame the core mechanic was something as simple as card-matching, but I like the shape-making thing at the end.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:22am

This game keeps surprising me with how beautiful and polished it is. Really nice job, it was very fun to play.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:29am

Match all the vertices, great game!

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40am

Nice card revealing game! I like that you get that extra reveal some times when you "flip a number" good. Music gets bit repeating though :(

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38am

Other than being a twist on memory, this game is AMAZING. I love the animation, great polishing on the game given the time to do it. Great job overall, buddy.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54am

Respect! Tight animation and awesome art direction. Great fun too!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57am

Gorgeous game! Really liked the way it saved the shapes. Music was a bit repetitive but was enjoyable at first.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Definitely has great animation and music. Game is a bit simple but the random shapes and art style definitely look really well done.

rantt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Cool matching game, smooth animations and nice graphics and music, the reveal bonus is a cool mechanic. Fun game, nicely done.

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:11am

Simple mechanics, but I like the abstract atmosphere of the game.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:18am

Now that's a memorization game dressed up in graph theory and modern art :P
Nice animation . The game is small though.
I liked the idea of the gallery and naming my shapes :D
where do those paintings go anyway ?

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:52am

I'll comment for the first time because someone just ask :D
Those paintings will stay at your computer for now haha. It will stay at your screen.
To everyone, thanks for your feedback and playing my game :)

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Nice visual style. I like it!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Good animation.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Looks cool! :D

Jimbly says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Really like the style and feel of this! Animation, fonts, colors are all great =).

Game not different from "Memory", and the keeping of shapes (and shifting them?) seems pretty unrelated.

t4u says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:33am

I don't feel the magic. For me it remains a simple match game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Really nice match game. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

Maysickdev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Very cool. Sound and graphics were outstanding.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:26am

this game really had a lot of polish for a jam game... i'm not really one for the matching mechanic, but i liked the ending bit where i got to name my own shape, haha. overall really great graphics and sound!

luquio says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:44am

the graphics where just perfect and the game keeps u engadged! this should go for mobile!!!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:45am

Totally awesome!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Nice animations and clean graphics. Good work

okoto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:14am

Well done

APantaloni says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Well, the shape collecting part is definitely original. Naming them all can be a little tedious. The game looks nice and the music is a bit repetitive but cool. Not a big fan of the core game mechainc but it's well done.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:46pm

The main gameplay is not anything new, but it's still well done and I liked the idea of the gallery, even if I didn't see any particularly awesome shapes. :)

Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Awesome game, with excellent graphics. Very well done!

Anti says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:53pm

This is one awesome entry. Great presentation. This is just so very polished. Nice work!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Nice graphics and music but I felt like the shapeshift theme could have been used more.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:26pm

I feel like awaking from a strange dream, it was fun. Well done. :)

ElliotFiske says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Great game, super innovative idea! I'm not super good at memory games, but it was satisfying to clear the board and rack up vertices.

I loved the shape-naming part, it would be awesome to save to an online gallery!

Stellar music, mood and art design on this. Great job!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Nice twist on a memory game. Love the graphics and presentation and the audio is great too.

madk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Fantastic music but I don't quite understand the point of the gameplay

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:25am

Very neat game! I didn't know what I was getting into and initially thought it was just a matching game (didn't read your description above), but you really surprised me in the end. Really well done.
Presentation was also really appealing.

wboqm says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Gallery at the end of the memory game was a nice touch.

trulyvile says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Very visually beautiful, and the music is great too. I do wish there was some sort of consequence to making an incorrect match though. Without any challenge I didn't really feel encouraged to play the game so much as just click stuff until I got to the gallery.

ermrk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Nice artistic game.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:33pm

enough innovation and really built a unique atmosphere~ this ambient music also let me feel my brain is under high speed running,totally feel very great and really thanks this qualitiable experience!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]