Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Flutterby

by BrianSChung - Jam Entry

From pooper, to pupa, to flutterby.

Flutterby is a game of pooping, dreaming, and flying. Metamorphose through 3 stages of life and death.

UP to wake - story mode. enjoy the transformation narrative.
DOWN to dream - action mode. play as the flutterby for high score.

Play in fullscreen.
Arrow keys or WASD. Gamepad supported. HTML5.

Credits - @TheSheepsMeow
Brian S. Chung - @BrianSChung
GJ Lee - @whereisgj
Warren Savage - www.soundcloud.com/audiomushroom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#63Audio(Jam)3.94
#86Mood(Jam)3.89
#147Innovation(Jam)3.67
#249Overall(Jam)3.57
#336Graphics(Jam)3.71
#451Theme(Jam)3.46
#610Humor(Jam)2.30
#754Fun(Jam)2.85

Comments

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Really cool concept! Love the art!

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40am

Thanks for playing! Any feedback welcome.

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59am

Incredible stuff. We're 2 guys here playing this and we both dropped our jaws when we turned into the butterfly. Well done!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59am

This game as a bit too much on the artsy side. i didnt really enjoy it too much.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03am

Okay, bit too trippy for me. I really love the audio, and beyond that I have no idea what's going on, which I also kind of love.

fondreak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19am

I like everything about this game, i never cared about the butterflies until this game. Lovely music, sound effects and visuals.

But you should have a warning for seizures

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57am

A really cool and unique visual style!

Shizor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59am

Weird but good concept, makes you want to play to the end.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:32am

The whole thing straddles a line between "dreamlike" and "seizure-inducing." XD Very pretty, and rewarding when you figure out the near-abstract graphics.

Soron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:01am

It was a bit hard for me to see what was going on, visually. Then again, it's possible that I had render bugs (playing in Chrome on Linux, and I saw a bunch of black volumes that looked like they were supposed to be shadows of some sort, etc.).

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Very unique looking game, probably one of the most unique I played so far, I liked the background song, gameplay wise it's very simple just wanted to make it to the end. I am pretty sure I read this exact same quote in a game called Persona 2 innocent sin.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Pretty good game, loved the art and the audio.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:45am

Really cool atmosphere and eye-catching unique art. I loved the background music especially. It wasn't obvious what to do, but I think that's a good thing! Figuring out how to play was half the adventure.

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:12am

Really awesome graphic effects, love them pixels!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:19am

I don't think it's possible for me to comprehend what I am experiencing but I can tell it's really incredible and polished. Actually thinking about it for a minute or so, I think I get it. It's cool when your mind is totally blown one minute and the next it all makes sense. Not sure if that was intentional but I really like this overall.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:42am

This was a really amazing experience, and it perfectly nailed the theme, thank you for making this

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:40am

Completely missed the point of the storymode. Overall too artsy for me. The action mode was fine.

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Super sweet I dig the look.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Wow, I wasn't expecting such a poignant experience. Thank you for making this

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:35pm

I love everything about this game! Cool visuals with constant movement make you really feel like you're inside a world. I like abstract gameplay that doesn't tell you explicitly what to do a la Hohokum or Flower. Totally original concept, I love it!

Nolocality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:11am

Welp, best graphics I've seen so far in the jam!

All around awesome presentation, sound is perfect for the game and it's satisfying to play on through from catapillar to death.

Great work guys!

aeveis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:13am

very cool visual style! I liked the slight abstraction, made me think about the metaphor a bit more. Perhaps with less flickering haha.

I think I would have liked some more feedback - I am a bit confused if touching the black shapes decreases my life or if it is a timed thing (I was riding on one of them for a bit and didn't to notice if it did anything negative).

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:18am

You created a very cool atmosphere. The music, the graphics and the overall idea makes plaing it a cool experience.

toastedgames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Cool concept, but when playing the controls felt slow and sluggish. I could never really know what's going on. It's a cool idea, though, and I hope you expand upon and improve it!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:53pm

GG

maartene says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Nice looking and good sounding.
But... pretty difficult. If it was a little easier, I would probably play this a bit more.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10am

This was such a strange game, but as an artist I really appreciated how weird it was visually. I had a hard time understanding what was actually happening, but as a gamer since childhood I followed my natural instinct to collect the dots.

I completed it on stream @ 1:51:51: http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:05am

Always love seeing something different on Ludum Dare

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:38pm

The combination of pixel art (which seems to be based off of vector art) and vector art made it hard to distinguish what you're controlling, and how to play. There were places that flashed a lot, and I wasn't sure were safe for general public.

For a game meant to be experienced, I think the current abstract graphics actually hurt the game than helped. It was hard to distinguish what was what and where, making it difficult to discern what anything represented. I feel the beginning stages could have controlled faster but slowed as your character grew larger, similar to the final stage. The faster controls would have made the game more inviting, so I would be sold on the experience more quickly. My opinion, though.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:59am

That was interesting.. I will say I had a hard time figuring out what was background and what was interactable.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:50am

This is very artistic. Amazing.

TheCams says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:21pm

I love the music but I couldnt figure out how to play :(
More explanations would be welcome

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:06pm

I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO BECOME A BUTTERFLY AND FLY THANK YOU FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Very arty. Excellent take on the theme.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:02pm

I like the big pixels graphism and smooth animation. the background paralax is nice too

AngerFork says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Trippy, but fun. The title screen actually gave me a bit of trouble. I had to hit up & down multiple times each time I wanted to play a various game mode.

nyaki says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Very artistic and strange game. Sometimes I had no idea what's happening.

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Couldn't figure out what I was doing on the caterpillar level, but the butterfly level was fun, and the unique graphical style and music were ace.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:23am

​Really wonderful Design! you keep a great flow and a great communication! btw it seems like we both love and choose some similar themes,and we shape/explore it from different angles( and i must to say that got this discover in LD is really cool thing ,also take me a magical miraculous feeling! love it! cheers~! Дo( ̄o ̄o) )
Then,to return,Love the movement controll feeling of scene1 so much, a little bit hard but double arrow key 's holding with the slow movement all let me more easy to into [it] for aware the feeling more deeply and vivid, meanwhile, the change with time elapsing in scene2 is nice! I feel they both have good design with the method for how the scene-end(for the scene1,more and more to deep underground also really conform )
oh,only the grass is more hard,not smooth enough....but i am not sure is this nice or great for your design..because,at first,i almost think that is projections which can not to touch! until i pluck up courage try to touch,but this fear let/help me more fly upward, and feel more experience in sky,so i think this mistaken have some good effect?
finally,audio and music really great(it also tech me that how important about a clear and plenty audio effect,i decide to improve this for my game later on! :D)
they are all emotional enough/also buld a great progressive and contrast in the Rhythm curve . really impressive ​and Good communication! ​

ermrk says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:18pm

It felt really like a dream. Really good job!

BluShine says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Love the style. Music really helped set the mood, too. I switched it to fullscreen but the colors were almost too intense, I had to lean back a bit in my seat! The story mode was quite short, I might have liked to have a little more stuff to explore. But the overall experience was very enjoyable.

If I were to offer one bit of feedback on the controls, I think you should add some kind of visual or audio effect for when you press the "up" button. As a caterpillar, I had to spam the up key to be able to climb up slopes. At first, I was confused and thought I had gotten stuck. Not sure if this was intentional, or if I was missing some aspect of the controls. And, of course, when you start to age as a butterfly, I really wanted to mash that button to try and get just a few more circles. I wasn't quite sure if this mashing was how the game is supposed to be played, or if I was exploiting something, or if I was just doing it wrong. So, some kind particles or sound effect might have helped signal to the player "yes, you're doing this right".

As for the story mode, I really wished it could have ended with finding another butterfly to mate with, and lay eggs to hatch a new caterpillar. But obviously that would be extra work that's tough to do within the time constraints.

May 8, 2016 @ 12:25am

Interesting game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/tTBSC0cP_38

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:57am

Wow, the art style was really weird in a great way!
Simple but efficient game, good work to you guys!

ChuiGum says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:11am

Not sure what was going on at first but then realized what was happening. Awesome visuals, very innovative, and great sound! Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]