Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morph Ranger

by mrnannings - Compo Entry

You are a newly born morph ranger. Get DNA samples to upgrade yourself and your movability.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#45Theme4.16
#54Fun3.90
#69Audio3.71
#71Overall3.86
#102Mood3.63
#161Humor3.09
#221Innovation3.53
#285Graphics3.45

Comments

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:24am

Though short, this was a pretty fun experience, i love upgrade type of games. visuals look good too! well done.

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:12am

I liked the DND upgrades! It was a clever game. Occasionally, when punching at the side of a platform, I'd get stuck. It was short, but memorable. Thanks for submitting it, I really enjoyed playing :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:15am

Top marks from me! The basic gameplay is solid, the art is simplistic but functional, and the music is complicated enough it would be enjoyable to listen to even in a much longer game. I particularly liked the idea of having to take damage to return to a lower form to get by some obstacles, and that failsafes have been put in place for unintended damage. It's just a shame you didn't have the time to make more!

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:15am

Awesome game

Alphius says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Good job! That game was great!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Nice game! But oh... that green and pink colors hurt my eyes ;)

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:24pm

I love how this game looks, a great jump animation, cool music, a good art style. The level design is really smart how you not only give upgrades but take them away. I love the ending as well. A really enjoyable entry.

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Awesome game! Really nice interpretation of the theme. Loved the choice of colors =). Good job!

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Great game. Nicely done with teaching the player as you progress.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:41pm

This is great. Some very good level design and tutorialising for a 48hr game. A well-implemented metroid-vania-esque-thing. Not sure I'd have gone with green and pink though...

Wirdo91 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Nice game, liked the audio

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

It was pretty fun, but the spikes shouldn't be able to hurt you more than once before you get out.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20pm

awesome, the number of transformations, the level design, the graphics, the gameplay, sound, everything is great!

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21pm

The level design was not that good, it was pretty linear and straightforward. I really liked that you had to get back to previous form once, I would like to see this idea implemented more. But it seems that everything else took a lot of time, so I guess you didn't have much time for proper level design.

Great job on the music!

Also, were you inspired by Robot wants _ series? It is very similar to your concept. If you don't know it, I recommend it.

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Love it! The gameplay is unique, and I the art & animation style is awesome!

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Pretty good!

jessiexjquine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:34pm

By far the best LD game I've played so far! The music and sound effects are perfect, the graphics are adorable, the ending reveals a bit of story that adds a nice touch, the controls handle perfectly, the evolution of abilities is satisfying and at times unpredictable...just wonderful.

My only issue: while super jumping over the spike, if you hit the spike twice, it was possible to get stuck with the DNA strand on the other side of the wall after you were damaged, and I had to restart the level? This may be intentional, but I'm not sure. Arcing that jump was tough in general!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Terrific game, can't fault the gameplay, graphics or sound. Lovely mood and music, and fit the theme perfectly. I really would have liked to see more done with the level design. It was promising at first when you had to spike yourself to get out of the room with the small entryways but that was the last time I remember that I had to go down a level to progress - the rest of it was avoiding being hit while using various jumps. I think this game could be amazing given time to design more puzzling levels. Truly enjoyed it.

true-chaotic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Fun little game!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52pm

a really solid entry, the music set a great tone for what was going on

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:16pm

funny game.
little short for this type of game but cool.
And I like the animations!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Great music. :D If you do a post LD version, separating the shooting/melee parts out so the animations can run separately - like running/shooting jumping/stabbing.

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01pm

@JohnnySix thanks for the suggestion, i'm now going to check out your game!

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Cool job!

Attack animations are kinda slow for me.

sndr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19pm

This is a really nice game! It felt so short! I wanted more! :)
I loved the mechanic were you have to get hurt in order to go back to a previous form. If you ever do a longer post-LD version of this game, please make sure to add this mechanic more often. It feels really elegant!

One tiny thing, though. This part where there were loads of spikes under some blocks and you had to shoot in order to turn on a switch, if you fall just once, there is no way you can go back and retry, but you don't immediately die either. So it creates a weird situation where you basically have to hurt yourself several times on purpose in order to respawn in the last checkpoint. I think it feels strange, but maybe that's what you wanted.

Anyway, loved it! :)

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15am

Beautiful little game. I love the upgrade mechanics and the art.

It's short but sweet and doesn't outlive its welcome. Great job.

Minor nitpick is that some keyboards have the z and y keys switched so allowing z and y for jumping would really help.

Holtenice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15am

Great!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Solig work! Losing abilites on damage is a nice idea, but most often than not it can lead to situation where you cant continue. But it's nice that you have conditional visibility on the upgrades, so clever design can mask this. :) Also, could have been longer.

edve98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27pm

The audio doesn't play for me (Web version) :(

thephantom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

really cool game..
I liked the main mechanic a lot.. end even though the levels were easy they were very enjoyable

great job :D

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Awesome game, lovely upgrading mechanics. It was fun :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Really fits the theme, just an all round good game.

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:46am

Very nice. :-)

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:53am

I really loved this. Dunno why but the upgrades reminded me of Robot Wants. Art style was simple but very consistent. Sound was great too.

Found a small bug I think, when you are a tank standing next to destructible tiles and you shoot, it doesn't hurt the tiles for some reason.

Great entry! Good luck :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Really neat game! I love the concept!

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Great game! Very well scoped and executed, no stupid filler. The gameplay is satisfying.

It does feel a bit like an introduction level and thus leaves you wanting a bit more - I guess this is the intent though, and the game could nicely be expanded to a cool 40 min platformer.

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I wish there was more to it, like a level design more adapted to the game, but this was a fun thing!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Nice concept and graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:07am

Great experience, the colors killed my eyes but i still had fun

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Great game and great idea nice job!

AsixJin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:38am

Nice, short, and too the point. I loved this game a lot. Grabbing the dna things to evolve until it was time to be let go. Dopeness!

virgate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:39am

Nice job tying in upgrades with shape shifting!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:28am

This was definitely quite fun, although it hurt my eyes a little too much to play for too long.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Nothing very innovative but the variety of shapes made the game very entertaining. I like the bright colors and the fact that it was short and not too hard, good job !

superfreak says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Brilliant idea in a nice, polished package. Excellent work!

I did some reviews of your great game here: https://youtu.be/YOWaLVZao-I and here: http://ld35reviews.taracopplestone.co.uk/2016/04/24/mr/

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Great visuals, clever concept, entertaining. Music was nice too, but had an annoying bug on the Web version were it was only coming out of my right ear. Nice entry!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:35pm

There are a few bugs now and then but overall a pretty fun game. Short and gets to the point!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:52pm

The game has a lot of good mechanics and makes use of the theme well.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Great entry, but it seems to me that the controls are not always good enough. I struggled hard sometimes to jump. However, mood is good. Well done ++

General says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Video: https://youtu.be/cfSQhiXUWqg
It seems to me you voted for "mutation" in the theme selection poll :)

broknecho says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:15am

The ability upgrades were really fun! It was neat that you lost an ability when hit but after getting to the last level, that just made some parts un-beatable. I did get one spot where I lost an upgrade and the DNA's that showed up were out of my reach. So I had to reset.

Really great idea! The character changing art was great! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]