Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Core

by Syldarion - Compo Entry

Made With:
Unity w/ C#
Paint.NET
BFXR

[IMPORTANT: If you provide any feedback that isn't related to bug, I will definitely still take note of it. I'm going to be building a Post-LD version to post on this page (please don't vote on that one though)]

[ALSO IMPORTANT: Sometimes Chrome won't like handling the memory of this game. If you can't run it because of an error that says something along the lines of "Invalid Typed Array Length", just use the Windows build on the Itch.IO page]

[SO MANY IMPORTANT EDITS: After watching some people play, it seems like not everyone knows you can scroll on the workshop build menu. Yes, there are more than 5 attachments to build in there, so sorry for not making that obvious]

[I see a lot of comments about it being a bit too hard. If you want to progress further, and actually be able to get parts and build stuff, I left key press activation in the game for the powerups; Shift-T for attack, Shift-Y for defense, Shift-U for utility. Hopefully that helps you guys get further, I did make the enemies a bit too good.]

CHANGELOG
---------
v0.1
- Initial LD submission
v0.1.1
- Fixed bug where enemies and workshops from previous level weren't being cleaned up
v0.1.2
- Fixed bug where you could build attachments that didn't actually exist
- Fixed bug where you couldn't go to level 4 because the game thought there weren't any free platforms available
v0.1.3 (CURRENT)
- Reduced the cost of attachments so people can actually get them in a reasonable amount of time
- WebGL fullscreen will capture the escape key instead of my game, so I added X's to the UI so you can close them when playing fullscreen

As Ludum Dare 35 approached, developers were presented with the final 20 themes. One among them spoke to me: Companion. Despite the fact that it was not the theme that was selected, I could not get it out of my head, and so I went against the theme, sacrificing points in the hopes of having more fun developing for the last 48 hours.

And so The Core was born. The vision I had for The Core was an isometric dungeon crawler, in which you would fight against hordes of enemies, collecting parts to improve your robot companion that bestows many benefits upon you. The goal was to protect The Core, the birthplace of all robots.

Given the 48 hours I had, I was not able to really implement the story side of the game, but I plan to in the future. Also, very obviously, these screenshots do not show an isometric game. As another time-saving measure, this initial build is using a procedural platformer generator that I made in the first hour.

The features currently available in the game are as follows:

ATTACHMENTS

Attachments are how you modify the composition of your robot companion. Attachments can be equipped from the attachment manager by dragging them from the inventory to an available slot. Attachments can also be unequipped by dragging them off of the slot and back into the player's inventory. The following attachments are available in the game:

Gun, Sword, AOE Damage, Heal, Shield, Thorns, Jump Jet, Booster, Gatherer

The effects of these attachments can be seen from the attachment manager menu in-game.

WORKSHOP

Workshops can be found in the game on random platforms. When at a workshop, you can press the interact key to open the workshop. In the workshop, you can select an attachment from the left side, and use the Build button to create a new one, if you have the parts needed. You can also select one of your own attachments from the right side, and either disassemble it, granting the player a permanent stat boost, or level it up, granting your robot bonuses while the attachment is equipped. Leveling up an attachment costs the same as creating a new one.

PARTS

All enemies drop parts. Parts are used to build and level up attachments. Keep your eyes open for the green part drops as your kill your enemies.

POWERUPS

If you equip your robot companion with three attachments of the same type, you will activate a temporary powerup based on the class. Once the powerup has finished, the attachments on your robot will be destroyed.

Attack Powerup - Increased fire rate and damge

Defense Powerup - Increased armor

Utility Powerup - Increased speed and jumping power

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#565Humor1.90
#596Audio2.07
#673Overall2.96
#675Fun2.82
#723Mood2.44
#767Innovation2.59
#866Graphics2.04

Comments

Daws says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30am

Fun little game! Pretty difficult, and could have better graphics, but good ideas. Lots of depth in the customization

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

A lot of content for a compo game!

On the downside, the controls seem a bit sluggish, but pretty good nonetheless

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:51am

It was pretty fun, didn't follow theme that well but didn't matter much. Nice little shoot em up game, And I had more fun throwing them over the cliff over shooting them sometimes.

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Rather difficult little game! I had trouble advancing because I got killed really fast, didn't get to experience the game in its full length...

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31am

Admire that you chose to stuck to a cool idea you had! :) I have thought about doing that too many times !:)

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31am

Really like the added content.
Could had put more effort on main character and enemies tho.
Lacks a soundtrack.
Overall it's good.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Pretty good game, i loved just pushing the red blocks off the platforms. :D

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:55am

I didn't like the controls, and the graphics were a little boring. But nice work!

iendsl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:56am

I felt a little confused about my objective. I wandered, looking for parts for a while and slowly got killed. I love the big open area and the moving platforms but I like to have my hand held a little bit more. Really impressive tho! I would play more versions.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:57am

I got an "out of memory" error on the version on this page. D:

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17am

Oddly enough trying to play this in Chrome gave me a JAVA error... So I went to firefox and it worked. Fun little game. hard but fun. Floaty controls but it adds to the overall feel I find. Well done :D

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44am

As Seen on Twitch!

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01am

Nice platformer, but I didn't get very far because I got an "out of memory" error, some WebGL thing, and the game froze.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:10am

Little funny game, maybe it would be better if the enemys don't shoot trough the platforms.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:11am

Had a fun time with this one. REALLY big, impressive level design. Multilayered, different paths... very ambitious!
Great job!

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12am

The controls feel a bit floaty for me but maybe that was intended. Also if the enemies would move around instead of being stationary that would make hitting them a bit more rewarding. overall fun game

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:34am

This has potential. The keys are a bit clunky. I also think you need to expand on the art a bit in order to give your game a ethos. Maybe dumb down the difficult for the beginning. Would also be awesome to see visuals when attachments are built. Also try introduce features gradually so players are not overwhelmed with features at once. e.g. demonstrate jumping, then shooting, then enemies, then attachments, etc.

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Quite difficult. What came as a surprise was that enemies kept shooting me while I was interfacing with the computer thingy :D ouch.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:52pm

the controls needed to be a little tighter than they were, i felt really floaty all the time which made the platforming not as enjoyable

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13pm

This game was really fun to play. I liked the robot system. Although Heal Two was a bit overpowered (didn't take any damage) after getting sword, heal stopped working. Then when I tried to remove Heal, it stuck to the UI and then it stopped working even though it was equipped. Overall, it was quite innovative and fun, I liked it. Good job.

TimBeaudet says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Neat. The power up build system is pretty neat but I had to go back to read how to equip after buying! The falling was a bit annoying, it would have been nice maybe to have a floor to land on always, or something. It was also hard to understand at first that I could shoot through the platforms, and was a bit upset the AI bots could, until I realized I could also!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

I didn't find the enemies so bad, but I did get an out of memory error when I clicked on the gun attatchment I had just built while using a workbench. I wish the jump wasn't so floaty, but it works well enough and because you get so much air control avoiding enemy attacks isn't too bad. I do wish that the floor blocked bullets. It seems like with some more time this could become a cool metroidvania style thing.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06am

Difficult but good, enjoyed the leveling up mechanic. Good amount of options available.

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07am

Really impressive systems in place given the time constraints of the ld. :3

Unfortunately, game balance crowds out most interesting choices. Self-directed play reveals a lot of interesting potential, though. Power up stacks creating a temporary boost is cool. Deconstruction perks need to be buffed to make this worthwhile, but it's an interesting choice.

Keeping an eye on this. :3

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39am

I got to floor 4, but I never managed to get an attachment to do something even when dragged to the robot as far as I know. I tried making a gun attachment, and even had 2 of them attached in the circle at one point, but it never seemed to fire at enemies and I could only fire at enemies myself.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42am

I should clarify that I was playing the WebGL version (which was also super laggy on Firefox).

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:49am

One more note, the workbenches seemed very random. One run, I got to floor 3 before even seeing a workbench. I think having workbench stuff be a free, pause-the-game action you can always do could actually improve things.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38pm

GAFBlizzard, thanks for playing! I just want to point out that I never got around to putting visuals on the gun and sword attachments. If you equip them and walk near an enemy, you will see that they are being damaged. Also, the workbenches don't just seem random, they are random haha. I place three randomly on each level. I will take your suggestion down.

M2tias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Good gameplay, solid idea and pretty great inventory/shop system for 48 hours. I liked the robot companion, even if it didn't do much most of the time :D
Shield seemed to work constantly, but healing stopped working at some point. I'm sure you can do a lot with this if you keep working on it!
The random levels felt a bit too random to be honest. I think that generally, it's easier to create good levels instead of generating them in a short time like this. Because then you just have to figure out how to make a couple, instead of figuring out what makes a level good in general.
Great job as your first LD entry!

zwrawr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Fun and difficult , could use some nice graphics :)

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Nice little platformer, with a lot of stuff to do for such a short time!

Thought the controls felt a little off, the jump was a little too floaty, maybe reducing the time to the apex would help and I had a few issues sliding off the platforms after I had stopped pressing the a or d keys.

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:02am

There's a lot of content here, really deep customization! I understand you chose simple graphics and audio in order to achieve this. Controls feel a bit floaty and it's a difficult game. Neat entry.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17am

I like the shooting gameplay, and beside the floaty jump, the overall platforming felt pretty good! Enemies were tough, but using the controls you put in the description I ended up dying due to the pit of death! Overall nice amply and simple graphics to help carry it along. Good Job!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:40am

As of the current implementation, the "robot buddy" seems less like a pet-caring simulator, and more like a simple RPG equipment management simulator. While I find the upgrading concept compelling (I like upgrades), there doesn't seem to be a specific mechanic that encourages different ways of playing on-the-fly. I think there's a huge potential there, given the plans you've revealed during my stream.

Anyway, keep it up! It's a great start!

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:15pm

It would be much more interesting game if there is some graphics other than rectangles, but still appreciate the effort of building an inventory system. I wish there was more of a variety of costs across the purchase items. I also think it would help if there was a way to know how far down we can go when venturing, before we fall to game over.

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:23am

I would suggest adding 'w' to jump, and a short tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]