Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Shapes

by dylanwolf - Compo Entry

A Match-3 game which is focused on... shifting shapes.

Click a shape to select it. Then, click an arrow to shift the selected shape. (Shapes will continue sliding until they hit another shape or the edge of the board.)

Match at least 3 shapes in any configuration to clear them.

Some shapes will drop Board Clears and Time Stops. Click the icons at the left to use them.

Tools used: Unity, Audacity, GIMP, Krita, Bfxr, Manaspace & Return of Ganon fonts from codeman38 (http://www.zone38.net/font/)

EDIT: Added a post-compo build that allows shifting blocks with mouse/touch gestures and arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#118Overall3.73
#141Audio3.45
#172Fun3.57
#205Mood3.32
#269Graphics3.47
#420Innovation3.17
#423Theme3.43

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Great game!!

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04am

Nice game. Very complete.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:52am

Nice unique puzzle game! I made it to level 39 (46,500 points) then it just got too fast for me. As always, I think the art style is great. I didn't realize I had to manually use my stopwatch until half way through the game.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:18am

I'm not generally a fan of these kinds of games, but this is really well put together. It pulled me in enough that I made it to level 32 after a few tries :-). Very polished and well-designed.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13am

Really fun and relaxing, up until the point where it isn't. ;) I could see this doing well as a mobile game. Good work!

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:49pm

I played this for far longer than I should have.
While it is a simple idea it is fantastically fun to play. I do wish that you had a way to pick a direction with the keyboard rather than having to click on the yellow arrows (which gets really hard after level 50)

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Cool puzzle game!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Quite a solid entry overall, it adds a nice twist to familiar mechanics :)

I'm missing the ability to swipe/drag 'n' drop for shifting the shapes, clicking on the arrows might break immersion a bit if you play long enough.

srakowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:44pm

This is a pretty fantastic game. Would love to see a leader board :-) Hit level 40 before I died out. One thing I was really craving was to use the arrow keys on the keyboard to move the block. Solid entry all around. Well done!

vini60 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

Nice music and concept (love that guitar play :)).
Great submit.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14am

Complete and polished!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58am

@MrDave @Ithildin @srakowski I added a post-compo version that adds arrow keys and mouse/touch gestures for sliding.

ElliotFiske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00am

Great game! Really smart mechanic that comes together well.

It gets super engaging/stressful really fast!

The sound design and mechanic make it super engaging; my only complaint would be the controls which I see you fixed in the post-comp version.

Cheers!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Really fun puzzle game, plays really well!

What I liked less were the sound effects, they sounded kind of harsh compared to the chill background music. Some percussion or other acoustic instrument sounds might have worked better.

Aside from that it's a really enjoyable game, well done! :D

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Wow! Not only was this really polished, but this game has great vibe. Really relaxing visually and aurally, which is refreshing. Your core mechanic of having the new 'gems' come in as you play like that was really novel.
My only minor complaint would be that I wished the sound effects were turned down just a bit so I could kind of chill out and enjoy the relaxing music more? But awesome job, really!

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18am

I was about to say, make a post-compo and then I saw your comment here. Probably a great mobile game candidate to publish. Great puzzle game.

recursor says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:35am

I played this one earlier and began began to really want keyboard control for shifting the shapes. I just came back to the page and see that you now have a post-compo build that add it. Maybe now I can beat that 46,500.

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:28am

Solid and polished puzzle, good job!

tanjent says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:56am

Awesome puzzler, my main feedback was about the mouse gestures but then I saw you had already released a fix :P (+ I played that one and the UI experience was muuuch better). One bug I found is that sometimes you can spawn 3 in a row and not clear them automatically. Keep on polishing this and it's in the app store making hot IAP money...

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Clever take on the theme, it's a lot of fun :)

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:37pm

@tanjent That's actually intentional--if spawning blocks triggered a clear, I figured it could take off too much pressure.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:41pm

and interesting take on a 'match X' type game-- taking away the ability to choose how far the block moves not only when moving down but in any direction is something I don't think I've seen yet. While initially the convenience of playing things like candy crush on tablets had spoiled me into thinking 'oh wow this is gonna be a pain in the ass", I got used to the mechanic pretty quick and it was really fun and challenging to race against the clock as more shapes began to fill in.

The only thing I could ask for was different 'hooray you're awesome' type sound effects to really get the dopamine pumping when I nail a 8 or 9 string combo.

Nice work, solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]