Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeless Dungeon

by caporaltito - Jam Entry

Controls:
Z, Q, S, D or keyboard arrows to move around. Left and right Shift to sprint

Description:
Welcome to the Shapeless Dungeon! Your goal is too reach the final gate and step deeper into this dreadful dungeon. Press Z, Q, S and D or use your keyboard arrows to move around.

You will have to pass through a number of checkpoints before going to the final door. Step on the different checkpoints, following their specific order and get to the final stairs.

You can sprint using the Shift key. You will run faster but your stamina will lower. Use it wisely!

This creepy dungeon is cursed. A mighty wizard put a powerful spell on it which makes the shape of the dungeon shift without stopping. Some part of the dungeon will disappear, some more will appear. Avoid the disappearing parts or your soul will be sent to the Dark Void!

This shapeless dungeon is haunted. It is inhabited by the souls of adventurers like you. These ghosts will try to devour your soul, avoid them at all cost!

Credits:
Graphic and sound design by
Thomas "Bahototh" Finholm (from GamePhase)
@Bahototh on Ludum Dare

Code and level design by
Thomas "caporaltito" Gainant (from twothirds.fr)
@caporaltito here on LD website

Game design by Thomas and Thomas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#542Innovation(Jam)3.06
#641Theme(Jam)3.22
#664Mood(Jam)2.94
#685Audio(Jam)2.11
#697Overall(Jam)3.06
#705Graphics(Jam)3.06
#768Fun(Jam)2.83
#780Humor(Jam)1.80
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:27am

Simplis game but well done!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:35am

Really cosy graphics and design :) And a good idea fitting the theme!

I wish there was some music though! Also, when I died on the last level, I was sent back to the first level, not sure if that was intended or not, but maybe something to think about!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36am

Hey Thomas and Thomas it's a nice little game ! I find myself having no others choices but to go near a ghost, and I must say the game over is harsh !

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:45am

Loved it, the dungeon shape shifting feature is very interesting, and I was able to reach the end :) Congrats !

Strike says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49am

Very good game. Just some very small complains ;) First of all, I just wanted to try what happen if I die, and I just went directly to the beginning of the game, including the tutorial. For this kind of game I'd just prefer to simply restart the current level on death. Also, it looks like you put many sprites on the same tiles and Unity is having issue with Z fighting and cannot decide which one to draw on top. At first I thought it was made on purpose as the dungeon is supposed to move according to the game title. So I thought it was a cool effect and I was expecting walls to be alive and move on their own haha

A_Cupcake says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24am

I really like the shapeshifting dungeon. I found that the slow ghosts tended to camp a bit too long which made some sections tedious. But otherwise a good balance of challenge and clear to play.

Titangea says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Interesting dungeons, at first was strange the keyboard controller, I suppused you had a different keyboard (here we use W,A,S,D not Z,Q,S,D) but we can use the arrows in your game, so it wasn't a problem, good job.

knason says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Simple game with a nice learning curve, well done!

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Well, the audiovisuals aren't exceptional (though I liked the design of later levels; it's just that sometimes things looked weird for some reason), and mechanics aren't perfectly polished, either, but the game still is somewhat enjoyable. The shapeshifting maze mechanic sounds rather interesting (not unique; there has been similar concept, but still not overdone), perhaps it could work as a sort of puzzle...?

Pretty solid game, overall (even if the game is a bit slow when not running).

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:46pm

simple, I like it ! keep up ! good graphics
try our game plz :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]