Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A82-Recon 3038

by Geti - Jam Entry

A space-horror mystery game about finding a sneaky shapeshifter amongst your crew - get them before they assimilate everyone - including you!

Default Pico-8 controls apply:

Arrows + ZX or CV

Figuring out how to identify the shapeshifters is half the fun, so I wont spoil it!

Hard mode makes more shapeshifters at the start.

I'll look at getting this onto the Pico-8 BBS after the Jam has ended - it still needs a proper aftermath, so I might revisit it if I get some time this week.

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#40Theme(Jam)4.19
#79Mood(Jam)3.93
#80Fun(Jam)3.82
#95Overall(Jam)3.86
#108Audio(Jam)3.78
#110Innovation(Jam)3.76
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72
#455Humor(Jam)2.61

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

This had a really cool feel and the web port was off the chain. well done!!!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:28am

Really nice concept - Art and sound all complement each other well.

One of us.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Ok this is one of the more interesting ones I've seen this jam. I thiiink I know how to ID them by now but I won't spoil it either.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

I managed to get a runtime error. The trace given (if it helps):

Line 1692: attempt to index local 'v' (a number value)
in ? line 1371
in draw_state line 1258
in _draw line 1579

This was after finishing a round.

As for the actual game play, I really liked it. I had to play multiple times to figure out how to find the shapeshifters, and it was compelling enough to make me want to figure out the mystery. Graphics/sound were also excellent.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46am

I enjoyed it. On some level it reminded me of a game from my childhood called Alien Syndrome. Very nice!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50am

BTW, I also managed to get the runtime error that wg_phancock got. I often try to beat the games that are posted, but the crash possibly kept me from doing so.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50am

Very clever of you! There's no actual shape shifting in the game, but the plot nonetheless revolves around it. Splendid! I like how you take one of my favorite Futurama episodes as well.
Seriously tho. I played this like 8 times. I got other games I need to vote on, but you sucked me in! And the art is simple, but super effective. Great job!!!

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54am

I really liked the retro graphs and the sound FX. Im pretty not sure how to discover the shapeshifter. Good game concept. Congrats

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

Nice work. Its difficult to identify them

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19am

I did not understand, how to identify them. I'll try later

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:04am

Absolutely loved this. Not revealing how to identify the shape shifters is such a tease. :D

CMLSC says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07am

Cool everything. ^_^ I won on my first try after randomly shooting the shapeshifter.

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19am

Same runtime error. Macbook Pro Yosemite, if that matters. Happened right away- thought it was part of the game! Great game overall- love the chip tune screams! So cool.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39am

Will look into the runtime error in a while - sorry to everyone affected by it, it'll probably be something simple that slept past the ludum-dare grade code radar ;)

Glad to hear people are enjoying it!

OrangePop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55am

This was very interesting. The sound and music made the whole scenario really frantic and tense, impressive for little boops and bops.

the31 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

Very neat. I had an idea similar to this from the perspective of the shapeshifter near the beginning of the LD, but I ended up not going with that. It may have helped me figure it out somewhat quickly, though, since I'd thought some about what sort of mechanics the shapeshifter would work with to avoid detection.

I think the graphics and audio did their job well, and the theme inspiration is obviously there. Great entry! I think it really shows how trial and error puzzle solving can be really fun and work well for LD.

I think a way of expansion, if you're interested, might be more sizes of map, too, potentially with more people milling about. Not sure how that would balance with walking speed though!

retr0verse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:24am

Great game, really loved it! great environment

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Great entry! The shooting was really satisfying, so it was kind of hard to be patient and play it properly!

Geti says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:39am

Anyone getting the runtime error - can you clarify when it happens? I haven't been able to reproduce it on the latest version.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:08am

Nice game, but I'm not sure I understood how to detect shapeshifter? Only if you see he is killing someone?

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Fearing bias, I wanted to put some distance between playing this and reviewing it. I had been talking to Geti in IRC.

Looking back, this is still one of my favorite entries so far. Excellent scope and a lot of nuance. This game just "feel" right.

More importantly, the minimal exposition creates a context then allows the player to create their own narrative as they attempt to "figure out" what's going on.

For some reason I came back to this even after I knew the trick. There's some special, intangible quality here. Really feelin' it.

Really feelin' it.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:14am

Great game, I'm still not sure if I know how to identity the shapeshifters. Was realy fun to search for at least. Keep up the good work

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:00pm

I couldn't figure out how to identify the shapeshifter(s).

Impressive that you made such a great game within 72 hours on a restrictive platform. I didn't know about PICO-8, but now I've seen more LD35 games made with it, so I will check it out.

Thanks for having C and V as an alternative to Z and X, as Z and X are not next to each other on Hungarian keyboards.

Nice pixel art, catches the theme, thanks for letting us play it! :)

Am I supposed to hear audio? I don't hear any sound, but I didn't hear sound for other PICO-8 games either. I don't know what might be the problem, I'm on Ubuntu 15.10 and Mozilla Firefox.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:48am

Really nice polished entry, liked the way the simple pico-8 graphics worked with the audio. Also was interesting to play a few times and figure out how to detect the shapeshifters, nice take on the theme.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Geti says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:31am

Hey Freank - I'd be happy for you to feature it but I dont want to upload the game elsewhere. There's already an itch.io link if you want something to link it to. I'm not interested in having it on other services at this time.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:48am

Nice music and gameplay. The first round I just killed them all. Second round saved 9.

Bemmu says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:25am

I went to the computer terminal all the way to the right of the ship, pressed X next to it and then got http://imgur.com/IFi9IB5

Bemmu says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:28am

Never mind, now I got the error while just walking around.

adam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:46pm

I love the premise and the production is off the charts. Sadly I couldn't really figure out the mechanics - nothing much seemed to happen unless I got trigger-happy and started executing random crewmembers. And that airlock is begging to be used for something ...

May 6, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]