Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Attack

by end3r - Jam Entry

Shift to adjust to the incoming shapes and collect points. Get enough diamonds to unlock new themes.

Click/tap on the four buttons at the bottom of the screen to change the shape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#304Graphics(Jam)3.76
#492Overall(Jam)3.29
#544Fun(Jam)3.12
#2115Coolness17%

Comments

Kirstine says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14am

Can't run entry...

nesis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27am

Runs fine in Chrome on Windows 7 :)

Nice, smooth transitions for the shapes, and I liked the colour palette chosen. Definitely a game that could get challenging to keep up with. It'd be great to try out on a mobile device, and its UI seems to have been designed well around that :)

avinashd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I really love the art style!

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Cool looking game and smooth i could play for a whiled it was fun but after that it was almost imposible because at the start of the game the spawn rate of the shapes was to high that i died almost immediately!

swedishwb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:46pm

It's not a bad game, it's just that it is very similar to alot of the other games that also want you to match shapes. Now you couldn't have seen this comming, but it sadly makes your game and so many other games that are alike not as fun since there's not just one game to pick from but multiple.

You could also have worked on the spawning of the shapes. It seemed that sometimes 2 different shapes would come at almost the exact same time which made it impossible to collect both of them.

swedishwb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50pm

After playing some more it seems that it is pretty unplayable since you dont have any time to change shapes fast enough pretty much most of the time. Therefor I am lowering my rating a bit.

eptwalabha says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Nice, simple and clean.
Controls with the arrows is a good idea but the corresponding shapes should be displayed somewhere on screen once the player start using them (around the central shape with low alpha maybe?).
I liked it.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Really nice game! I like that it's simple but quite hard to master. Love the graphics and the smooth gameplay. Well done! After a few rounds the shapes really do come quick!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Really nice and polished! 60fps, and very playable! I like the way the shape smoothly morphs.

ployer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:16pm

awesome but wow is it hard though. cant get past the first 2 shapes lol

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:43am

Good game, Definitly mobile

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:42pm

solid game, but sometimes impossible to win (shapes coincidentally spawning at the same time)

David Cookie says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:20am

I think the spawn of enemies drastically rises after each restart, making the game almost unbeatable! It's a shame though, as it looks like a professional mobile game. Just lacks some audio and it needs some polish on the difficulty (more like a debug ^^), and you're good to go :) Well done!

graebor says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:45am

It seems like this is a bug, but each time you retry the shapes start spawning faster and faster to the point where after a couple of retries it's completely impossible to play. Barring that it's a cool simple game - first thing on my wishlist would be keyboard controls.

Larzan says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Beautiful, a bit of finetuning is needed for the frequency, it gets difficult very fast.
Well done.
(congratulations for your baby :) )

draq22 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Grało się przyjemnie, do czasu aż po kilku przegranych kształty zaczęły nadlatywać z ogromną częstotliwością i nachodziły na siebie wręcz. Może to ma związek z przeglądarką, grałem na firefoxie. Pozdrawiam rodaka :).

end3r says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:05pm

I've finally fixed the bug when you restarted the game and got way too many shapes coming at you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]