Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ADAPT

by cabezotta - Jam Entry

[IMPORTANT]> If you can, play the Windows version or Unity Web Player version (only with firefox or ie). WebGL is weird and sometimes it breaks, don't know why <[IMPORTANT]

[IMPORTANT #2]> The game is buggy, of course, so if you get stuck somehow, please remember that you can press [R] (or [BACK] in the joystick for player 2) to go back to the nearest checkpoint so you can continue your run! Sorry for that! <[IMPORTANT #2]

ADAPT is a game where you have to use a simple shape-shifting mechanic to overcome little obstacles that are presented in each different procedural generated level.

But hurry up! Spikes are coming!

You can play solo or you can race a friend! (aditional joystick is required! I just tested with xbox 360 gamepad, i don't know how well it works with others)

Features:

> minimalist aesthetic
> awesome theme and sfxs by Tomás Batista
> fun and simple gameplay
> procedural generated levels
> four shapes with advantages and disadvantages
> two player mode! (joystick required)
> a lot of cute little bugs

This game was made for LUDUM DARE 35 JAM, by Nicolás Recabarren.

Let's talk about this game or game dev in general! -> @cabezotta

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#40Theme(Jam)4.19
#88Overall(Jam)3.88
#128Fun(Jam)3.68
#153Mood(Jam)3.69
#175Audio(Jam)3.60
#208Graphics(Jam)3.96
#235Innovation(Jam)3.48
#542Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

greymouth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

WOW! Awesome Feel!

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41am

nice look - the long-shadow-design is a little outdated but i like it
colors are a matter of taste...

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42am

Amazing! The game controls very well and has a nice pace.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Visuals are simple but very well done, good use of the theme too.

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great game, with simple graphics, this should work on mobile platforms!

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:59pm

This was one of my most Anticipated games while looking at the LD Feed, and I am impressed :D !!!
Totally great :D
(Game crashed on me once, and the figure kinda lags ... :P)

mar3k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Cool concept. Good job

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

great look and nice sound!

ignacioq says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Awesome Game! I like the way you have to play it! Well Done!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Very neat and polished game. Gameplay is nice too. Minimal sounds and graphics work very well

Donni11 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:40pm

I love the game!! I have been really excited to play this game! Amazing game! I love the concept, music, graphics and the easy controls! Also do you think you could make a text-version of instructions ?

ultravioleta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:32am

tremending game!

kev9318 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38am

nice game ! loved how the procedural and puzzles are well implemented

FerraWare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:20am

Great game, extremely nice graphics and great level design (didn't noticed it was procedurally generated). It seems really polished graphically!

The controls were a bit too heavy for me, and it was kind of slow.

Naca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Well done :)

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Adapt? As in adapting online generic tutorial mechanics to the game?

Other than that, good graphics music, etc. :D

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Amazing game!

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

The game looks good, plays well, and having procedural levels is a nice bonus (though it didn't feel like there was a lot of variety in the level blocks). Controller support is a cool thing too, too bad I couldn't play solo with it - except for the tutorial.

The music and choice of sounds creates a nice atmosphere that fit the art style well.

On the downside I found that it plays a bit too slowly for me, as even the first shape is a bit slow. The levels also don't take that much advantage of the core mechanic: there's a few good ideas but after the neat tutorial I expected a bit more contents, more difficulty and more surprises.

Overally it's a well polished entry that was still quite fun to play, nice job!

chrras says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Very minimalistic, very nice concept. Looks really good!

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:45pm

I like the level layouts, you did a great job with the procedural generation! Very clean and polished, I had a lot of fun playing it and getting good with shape swapping :)

Eshford says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Very well done! It feels so good, controls are great too. Really enjoyed this entry! Good job!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

This was amazing! The mechanics were a real joy to play with, and the graphics and audio were superb. The variety of things to do with your forms and their different play styles (especially the fast square and the circle's wall climb and shrinking) was ingenious. Great job overall!

snowyowl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Loved the music. I'm only sad that it ended so soon.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Wow, great game! Really!

Hope you expand on this game. Would love to play more levels.

Linver says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Nice idea, great artstyle - thx for Unity2d light asset ;)
Tutorial is good, but real game is very-very hard. And you cann't beat level after your death :\

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55pm

very challenging game, but it is not unfair.
The generation of random levels is very well done. And it has a very creative use of the theme.
The only thing is that not quite understand why one "dies" when it falls to the ground.
But I liked this game =D

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Oh! I didn't get that it was procedurally generated. That's awesome!

Gonna find a friend to play with later.

Thanks for making a great game. I had fun playing it!

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Sweet. Love the sound design and controls - feels like I'm performing gymnastics with four shapes. Flat lighting is great too. I feel like I fudged some of the puzzles though.

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

I love the minimalistic style and the colors are nice. Sometimes it's not so easy to make the shape fit the right place and that slows things a bit. But overall very good entry :)

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Very simple, but really well executed. The concept is very cool and the graphics and sound are great.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

I really quite enjoyed this one. The art was very simple, but had a charm to it, mostly due to the lighting. The gameplay was shape shifting in its purest form, really, but it was polished and well done. I do think the button mapping is a bit akward, but it didn't feel horrible. Overall, I really liked it!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Really nice looking game with excellent audio. I played the WebGL version and the movement was a little glitchy.

10/10 Will play again

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Love the minimalist design! Did encounter a bug where if you transform while inbetween platforms you can get stuck, unable to transform, but other than that the level designs were great and there was a nice feel to it.

martymon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Best game I played so far. I love the minimalistic style. Great sound effects too.

alhvi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Awesome game :D. Great art style. Excellent work with the procedurally generated levels.

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:41pm

the atmosphere of this game is great!

ermrk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Really really really polished game. I love it!

Nate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15pm

I saw your "Ch ch changes" post and this game instantly became my most anticipated game. I love the art style and the concept is simple, but intuitive!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Very nice artstyle and Gameplay!

PabloLeChuck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08am

Very well done!! congratulations for you and Tomás

Reiv says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12am

Love the simple sounds and graphics. Nice work with the procedural levels!

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11am

Nice game. Well done!

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:28am

Really cool look, not sure what I was doing on most of the levels, I would clip through things or die from 'falling' in midair, or just not seem to find a way through certain gaps etc. Presentation was great, though!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Just WOW, amazing sound, great grafics and mechanics. Very well done!!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02am

Loved the music, great game!

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39am

Very nice graphics and a nice take on the platformer. I had some trouble figuring out some of the stuff and I had some lag on the figure but it might come from my laptop, so there's that.
The feel is good, overall a job well done!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:39pm

A few bugs where I got stuck, but otherwise, great stuff. Sound and music are a notch or two above most that I've played so far. Well done on getting a procedural level generator to work so well in this limited time!

suurin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Great mechanics, graphics and sound.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Dude great game loved the minimalist style and it's challenging as well!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Thomas was a shape. Nice!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:49pm

I wish i had your graphics in my game :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:05pm

I like the minimalist look and the idea is cool. Maybe a little too slow for my taste. The procedural generation adds replayability. Nice!

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Nice aesthetics. Movement was a bit too slow for my liking. It really reminded me of Thomas Was Alone.

GaryS says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:36pm

This was a delight to play. The mechanic worked beautifully... the game felt fluid all the way through, great pacing and the fact that the levels are procedurally generated? That's just genius.
Excellent entry.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Beautiful graphics, nice song, nice level design!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:47pm

The simple visuals worked well. It was fun, although a couple times I teleported through a wall when transforming between 1 and 4.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:13am

This is the game i could have done if i've more experience on planning and creating games. Fan of the look and feel, that game could be perfect on mobile

Idorrac says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:55am

Very nice idea! Transformations can be a bit glitchy and make you stuck in walls, but the game is quite fun in general.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Fun! But a little slow (might just be my computer). Love the concept though

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:41pm

This is a great gmae indeed! The simplicity behind makes it even better! Noticed some bugs on changing the shape and i'd sugest that the deadline came in a straight way. That zigzag did not give me a precise idea of that time a had before dieing.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Really well polished. Great work.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:42am

VERY COOL TAKE on the minimalist art style! the simplicity and the intricacy is well balanced esp in the level design...
great entry... theme is well implemented

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:17am

Good graphics! Gameplay is really interesting.
Kinda like the "Thomas was alone".

CluelessGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:18am

Cool game. Well executed. Great level of challenge. The ambient sound in the tutorial made me feel sick but the music afterwards was great! I like that you allowed couch co-op nice bit of polish :)

Zyow says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:36am

Nice game! Art, procedural level and sound are really cool! Good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Nicely presented, has a Thomas Was Alone kind of vibe with the shadows. I like the way the colours change when the edge of the screen gets close. I found the controls a little bit on the slow side and it was pretty easy for the 5 levels I completed. A solid effort on the whole! Nice work.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Very nice game, it's very polished. It's really fun with two players. I especially liked the clean, nice aesthetics and sound.

We noticed a few minor bugs though:
- In the tutorial one player completely disappeared after using the sphere shape for too long.
- Sometimes you randomly get stuck where you cannot change your shape anymore and also cannot move.
- When activating two player mode you cannot go back to one player mode without restarting the game.

I'm interested in how you did the level generation, care to share your source code?

avocadojoe says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:41pm

nice game

cabezotta says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:15pm

@BubuIIC -> Thanks! sorry for those bugs :S i'd love to upload the source.. but i think i should comment it a little before because i sort of do my programing in spanish haha Anyway, in this post i explained a little how did i do it, it's not complex at all! http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/18/my-entry-for-ld35-is-available-right-now/

LinealGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Love the minimalist and flat design!

StrayCat says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Very good concept! it feels like a well polished game, and you used the theme in an interesting way. Good job!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Very nice feel and a wonderful modern look to it. Shape shifting itself could do with a bit of polish to feel more natural and fun and the physics can cause a kinda jittery friction when moving along the ground, but otherwise a very enjoyable and well-polished jam effort.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Cool game! Nice gameplay mechanic

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Wow! This was great! I really liked the graphical style. At first I didn't realize the levels were procedural generated, and I was amazed when I realized! I have a few things to say. When you aren't the square, you move frustratingly slowly. I feel like it could be improved if you just slightly bumped up the speed of all the shapes. Also, the shapes had a strange friction-y feel while moving around. I'm not sure what caused that, but it hurt the feel of the game for me. Good Job!

linseyray says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Awesome concept! I like the gameplay & aesthetics, & the level generation is quite sweet. Good job!

ragnta says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Nice game :), but sometimes I didn't move, if I shift in small area. :(

adsilcott says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:27pm

It's great, but I made it through the tutorial and now I keep dying at random moments as I make my way though the level. I tired WebGL and Web Player both. It's not the spikes. Am I missing something?

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Probably the best looking game I've played. So simple and clean. Great work

cabezotta says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:32pm

@adsilcott -> i don't know actually.. :S when you are in ball-shape you have a limited life (you are getting smaller and smaller until you die).. if that's not the case, maybe you are falling a "long" distance.. that make you die too (and there are not many clues about that also :S)..

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Great game. After the tutorial it gets hard!

neontropics says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Great music and fun mechanics! The parts where you have to shape shift mid air were the most fun

Beavl says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:12am

Solid entry, lots of fun. Procedural level generation is a plus. Great work, man! Also the music...

Disclaimer: Dev is one of our favourite devs around (he's working on a game called Ethereal, amazing stuff).

TeamPoops says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:39am

Cool idea and execution! Particularly love the graphic style and "shadows."

kabel says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:31pm

This seems to be an exact copy of Thomas Was Alone's beautiful aesthetic. I am not sure I like this much copying from an other game...Nice gameplay though.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Nice game. There is something really similar - another entry for this 35th LD. I like the mechanics and simple aesthetic. Great gameplay. Maybe it could be better on mobile device. Well done ++

rjhelms says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Nice! The procgen levels were really cool.

Movement was a bit glitchy at times, and it wasn't clear at first why I was dying in a few situations (falling for too long, and it seemed like the circle timed out...) so getting the hang of things was a bit frustrating - but I enjoyed myself a lot once I did.

puppetmaster says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Great mood! Like the simple art! The moment to shapeshift is tricky. I really like this puzzle game.
Keep up the good work!

flummox3d says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:18am

Reminds me of Thomas was alone :) Really cool style and sound effects. Have all the 5s. Awesome work! :)

Allorius says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:21pm

This game is to hard and fast for me, but overall is kinda a good idea. And i really liked your style.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]