Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Changeling Infiltration Simulator

by ProjectX593 - Compo Entry

You are a Changeling. Infiltrate and steal valuable data by taking the form of anyone you find.

Move with WASD

Approach someone and click them to absorb their shape. They will not notice.
Press E to shapeshift into their form.
Click on green highlighted objects to distract people and disable sensors.

Remember:

Don't run into sensors. They can always see through your disguise.
Dont shapeshift in front of anyone.
Dont let someone see you in their form!
Don't be seen anywhere your form doesn't have access.

NOTE about the web version:
The buttons broke, and only the text displays. I had to change it from grey to white since it was otherwise unreadable. If you'd rather click on fancy buttons instead of boring old text, try the windows/mac/linux version!

Created by Project X-593
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ProjectX593
Blog: projectx593.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#13Theme4.36
#31Fun4.02
#37Overall3.98
#42Innovation4.02
#155Mood3.43
#201Graphics3.62
#222Humor2.90

Comments

szahn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:40am

Great idea. Really innovative. A few missing graphics with the web version.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Rebuilt the web version with no changes whatsovever. The mechanic is no longer a black square and the buttons are no longer missing. Programming is fun! ^_^

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:59am

Great idea and nice execution. Super solid take on the theme.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04am

Really fun! The controls felt a bit floaty for a stealth game, but I like the artwork and animations.

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04am

Solid entry! Really cool mechanics to this puzzler!

mactinite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04am

Awesome. It's like a stealth puzzle game. A little slow though and could use some music.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14am

Nice aesthetic, fun to play, and fun mechanics!

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04am

Superbly polished and great visual style. Love this entry.

Played to completion. :3

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:06am

Really good. Nice idea. Good implementation. Like it :)

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Fun puzzle game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04am

really well done - great idea for using the theme - top notch - controls could be tighter but that's being picky - great job

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11am

Fun, quite clever :) opposite perspective of my game ;)

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Really nice concept and well executed :D

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:13am

Really nice puzzle game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:17am

Cool concept. Some visible vision cones or radii would help with the dificulty

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Good job on the theme. Some more ingame indicators would be very helpful though :)

Klaas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Nice! It would be great to replay the current mission when you fail. I keep getting sent back to the first level.

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Really well done! Fun to play, good mood. Just missing some great music to finish the atmosphere :).

Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:15am

Liked the use of the theme and the way you turned the changing forms into a puzzle game. Made it interesting to learn about the different forms and how they can get you further in the levels.

luvShape says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:06pm

By far the best game I have played so far here, humor is top lvl

lumscum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:12am

Really liked the concept! Graphics were very nice and polished!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:32am

really cool concept for a game, the art was very fitting for it too. great job!!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:36am

Really loved this little puzzle game. Very on theme. Great escalation of puzzles. Only issue was distinguishing 2 of the colours (gold & green?) for a colour-blind person such as myself.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:40am

@mike.cullingham - Ah crap, I didn't think about that - I'll try to choose better colors next time!

stormouse says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:04am

very good game! interesting puzzles and great atmosphere!

avinashd says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:24am

Not many puzzle-like games related to the theme, surprisingly. As a fan of stealth, the game was a lot of fun, but I could use a bit more information, like enemy view-circles and stuff.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28am

Hahaha, fun game!!!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Very cool game, the gameplay was exactly the gameplay I sought when I tried to create my game for the Ludum Dare 35. Nice work!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Really compelling gameplay, I was hooked. Only problem is the NPCs have perfect, 180 degree long-range vision, which is both implausible and frustrating. Great game though, looks great and has a variety of increasingly difficult challenges.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Very nice work.

It took me a while to realise that you actually become people, not just take the same appearance.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Sweet compo entry. Aesthetics were pretty eye-candy, the clever "stealth-puzlle" mechanics are well put together so the game is pretty engaging. Enjoyed playing it and played until I finished it.

May 6, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Great stealth puzzle game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]