Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Vehicle shifter

by Titan - Compo Entry

Welcome to my first compo entry!

Demo:
https://youtu.be/n9jAfT_nA84

Controls:
- W-S (or Z-S, or up-down) axis control the power output
- Q-D (or A-D, or left-right) axis control the balance
- press shift to shift between rocket and car shape!
* Some people prefer the car to move forward with right key and control the balance with up and down, check the bottom right checkbox to achieve that, but be aware that shifting to rocket become harder.
* You get a vertical impulse when you shift to rocket and an horizontal impulse when you shift to car, use them to beat your best score!

Leaderbord:
Setup a username to upload your best score and compare with other players!

Tools used:
- Level design and modeling with Unity and ProBuild plugin
- Online leaderboard with dreamlo (try it! http://dreamlo.com/)
- Sound with sfxr
- Texture with paint.net

Article about this ludum dare and the game on my blog:
http://florian-noirbent.com/blog/en/vehicle-shifter/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#341Humor2.55
#428Graphics3.11
#562Mood2.77
#589Theme3.18
#603Innovation2.89
#614Audio1.92
#627Fun2.89
#636Overall3.00

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58am

Nice. Took a while to figure out the controls, the swap between car and rocket wasn't obvious =).

davidB says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08pm

not obvious to control => not fun to play :-(

Titan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:03pm

I should have also displayed the controls in game. Thanks for the feedback. If you liked mine, tryout this one: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=30930

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

What a great game! And to implement a leader board the time is amazing.

This is one of my favourite games I have played so far. I played it for far too long and couldn’t get better than 28 seconds.

I should talk about some of the cool things like the good map design, the subtle lighting and the great 3 models. But I won’t. 11/10 would rocket again.

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:28pm

nice game, good graphics :)

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

Quite difficult, good game.

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Really great idea and fun, once you get the hang of the controls (which are quite difficult!)

suppi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30pm

pretty nice once you get the hang of it! the car's rotation was a bit too sensitive i think. i got 37 seconds.

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43pm

cool game mate!
i had difficulty understanding the controls but other than that it was a nice experience!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Quite difficult! I took a while to learn how to play.
It's a nice game, and good work with the leaderboard.

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17am

Took a bit to learn to use the controls but once I got the hang of it it was pretty good fun. Better audio cold have created a really good mood to improve overall score I think. Good work.

rnlf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Ha, another Car/Flying-machine game :-)

This may just be the heaviest rocket I've ever seen in a game or anywhere.

I like your visual style, the lighting works really well. The game itself seems to be even more difficult than my own!

Titan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Yes, this rocket is full of fuel :)
Check-out my blog if you want to know why everything finished like that: http://florian-noirbent.com/blog/en/vehicle-shifter/
basicly the rocket is slow to balance it with the car.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:07am

I like the graphics and I think the controls were good. For improvement, I would make a tutorial in game showing how shape shifting works, the controls, etc.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Nice concept, but levels could be more elaborated. However, it's a good entry with an enjoyable physics. Well done ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]