Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Species

by JaviCepa - Jam Entry

Life is easy when you are a fish in tropical waters.

Relax and enjoy swimming around and avoiding predators while you pointlessly shapeshift by swallowing weird pink pellets because... theme!!!

-------------

CONTROLS: drag your mouse around, your fish will follow the cursor.

GOAL: try to stay alive as long as possible, enjoy the beauty of the bottom of the ocean, avoid collision bugs.

Tips: eat the pink dots by passing through them to shapeshift.

-------------

Credits:
@JaviCepa
@ParejoMusic
@RobrtMoore
@supertowers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Mood(Jam)4.04
#104Graphics(Jam)4.25
#262Audio(Jam)3.40
#415Overall(Jam)3.37
#558Theme(Jam)3.33
#585Humor(Jam)2.36
#650Innovation(Jam)2.93
#980Fun(Jam)2.52
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

Wonderfull @JaviCepa!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:41am

Relaxing and beautiful game! Good job guys!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Nice game! Look great, love the shapeshifting effect. And 360 degree camera is a neat idea - the game effectively plays in 2D but feels like a 3D environment.

Feels like it was missing some mechanics behind the shapeshifting though.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Really beautiful, didn't run too well for me but man the graphics were great!

jofra says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56pm

5 star mood! Very relaxing and interesting experience

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33pm

The collision is a bit off and the theme was not well explored. But you did created an ambiance and a mood, for that good job.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Nice, good ambience and music

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Like this game, love the fish shapeshift

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Wow, such a zen experience. Nice!

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Very nice, quiet, peaceful ... I like this

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Good 3D graphics, i'm not sure why the fish transforms (or for what), i saw some fish in the background having a physics seizure but was cool xD

Once the big fish starts chasing you, it's matter of time you let him eat you (you go at the same speed!)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:43am

Nice work. Nice animation and mesh. Looks really peacefull. Good job

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:32pm

This has a nice relaxing atmosphere

EvanEGibbs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:19am

The game was very relaxing! I really liked the mood to the game. The art style was really cool. Great work. :)

clementd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37am

Nice work, with a great aquatic atmosphere and wonderfull fish animations!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:06am

Nice experience. Relaxing... until you are hunted down by the bigger fishes :D Seeing the shadows on the bottom of the sea is cool. Maybe the distortion effect for the water is a bit excessive sometimes.

macronoid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Wow, those graphics are amazing!. Low poly worked very well in this game.

Really relaxing but a bit frustrating because, for some reason, my fish buddy didn't want to eat most of the pink dots :S

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:35am

Very different this idea! I liked!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:33am

Great work guys!

At first, I missed the difficulty and a abstract goal (survive). But I must admit I have been playing for several minutes because of the music and animations and feeling.

Naca says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Wonderful low-poly graphics. The fish movement animation is impressive. Nice relaxing atmosphere, sound fits perfectly, enjoyed it a lot!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Neat game. I like it! Great one :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]