Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sluggy's Tiny Adventure

by FrankieSmileShow - Compo Entry

Escape your glass prison and kill the Wizard.
Find potion flasks to unlock your shapeshifting abilities.

Arrow Keys to move, X to jump, C to attack, number keys to shapeshift.

I have been working on this more since the competition, and I have put the project on Steam Greenlight! Please vote for Sluggy...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Graphics4.60
#21Theme4.28
#22Overall4.07
#24Mood4.00
#41Fun3.95
#87Humor3.45
#134Audio3.47
#338Innovation3.32
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:53am

Nice graphics and animations. I liked the sounds too.
The way you shapeshift and use the diffrent forms were very cool. The game felt a bit unforgiving at times, but it didn't hurt the game much. Great job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:03am

Nice game. The controls feels a liiittle bit sluggish at times, but I like art and the mood in the game. :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:09am

This game is delightful! The art and animation is superb, the audio is charming (I love hearing the bottles rattle on landings) and the enemies varied (disappearing ghosts?)

Excellent use of the various shapes versus their abilities. Great game!

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10am

Really great graphics and animations! I agree that it's a bit unforgiving - but this is a lot of playtime for an adventure game!

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

Nice game. Love the graphics.

caelanrp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20am

Really cool, nice to see a relatively ambitious metroidvania type thing here. Movement in general could use a lot of work.

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Wow, there is so much amazing pixel art :D
I found it a little clunky to switch forms using the numbers keys, a bit far from the x and c.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Controls were a bit frustrating at times, but overall an amazing entry! Very impressed at how much you got done and loved the stream!

wheerd says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Great game, really impressive what you managed to do in 48h!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I just realized I had left a transformation flask for debugging purposes in the first room. I just removed it. If you wondered why you got that overpowered Bad shape from the start, that was why! whoooops....

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

(I mean, overpowered BAT shape. not bad.)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43am

Fantastic job all around!!! I've saved your game because I want to come back to it in order to try and beat it. The creepy sound effects were awesome too! Nice job!!

mikeware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58am

Gorgeous looking game. Got a little lost at first figuring out which path I should take. I think my biggest frustration was having to reach for the number keys to transform. Maybe 'space' to jump and 'up/down' to change transform?

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Awesome game

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Looks awesome, too bad I don't have any windows right now :(

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Wonderful! Amazing graphics and very solid gameplay. The theme song is absolutely fantastic and the game has a good sense of nonlinearity. I had some bugs appear + the ghosts are really tough enemies, but all in all really really good.

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Amazing game. I could give you a 10/10 just for the song in the end (I AM THE WIZAAARD) but the game offers so much more than that. Amazing graphics, interesting gameplay and game mechanics, somewhat large world that you can explore, and even more. Great job and I had a ton of fun watching you make it as the jam went on. Look forward to seeing more from you!

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Awesome art, you are really talented! I enjoyed playing this. Didn't know how to continue at the point where the ghost come from the bottom.

falloneus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:56pm

I jumped off the screen and broke the game on the outdoor area... lol fun game tho

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Really cool, but the controls feel really awful. Some of the platforming is frustrating as a result. Just a little less pause while jumping would help a lot.

IntegerMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

Great game with a fantastic concept. This is a phenomenal effort for 48 hours of work and is a huge achievement. Unfortunately, so much of the effort was spent developing when a bit more time playtesting would have made the controls a lot smoother and the overall experience better - particularly things like mid-air attacks. Still: this is the best thing I've seen in LD35 quite easily. Good job.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:04am

Really impressive for 48 hours. It's so expansive!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:56am

Nice metroidvania game, the intro where you have to break the glass is perfect. I found jumping too frustrating and I had to stop playing, but I'll try again when I have more time. I love the setting and art style, works great, I wish the controls were a bit better, especially the jump. Otherwise, great job !

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Very polished low-res metroidvania game. Very well done pixel art.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Everything about this game is great :D Love the retro style graphics and the vocal sound effects :D You should be very proud of this!

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:52am

Good entry, and so many details in the beautiful graphics!

rnlf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:34pm

The animation and graphics style is super cute! I reign supreme now :D

The theme was used very well.

Sometimes I thought a bit of a hint about the direction would have been very helpful, I ran (hopped) around pointlessly for a long time.

All in all a cool game.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Very complete game, cool graphics and animations, cool evolution, and awesome music.
I can see a really hard work in just a couple of days, congratulations!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:08am

I've always been a fan of your pixel art! Audio and mood is also on point. Controls could use a little bit more work though. Overall an amazing entry! :)

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:12am

Wonderful stuff! Well rounded entry. :-)

derr says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:34pm

You nailed the graphics, but what really impressed me was the level design. The sense of exploration you get is amazing. I also love how you start the game by having you free yourself from a flask. You feel like this tiny fragile creature in a huge world. Well done!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Graphics and game play are definitely on point, hope you continue with this. great job.

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Looks like alot of work!
Was fun!
Well done!

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Good game, the level design was great, it was really fun exploring. Also nice art style

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Managed to jump off the left side of the screen in the area where you get the gold key (after getting the high jump shape)...oops. Seems fun though! I also made a Metroidvania-style game for my entry; you might enjoy it too :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:36pm

This was a great entry. THe animations and art were really solid. I absolutely loved that you start in the bottle and have to break out! That is very cool. The atmosphere in this was so eerie! Not what I expected after seeing the trailer for the steam version. Best of luck on that by the way!!! It looks very cool. :)

lkr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:08am

Love what you've created in 48 hours here. Beautiful pixel art, and an interesting world to explore.
Looking forward to seeing more of this game :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:48am

Best graphics I've seen, I love that art style! Awesome game! I'm surprised on how much you got done in the 48 hours, well done Overall! One of my favorite entries. And you definitely got my vote on Steam! :)

Cerno_b says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Awesome entry, I wonder why I didn't find it sooner.

The amount of content you put together in 48 hours is mind-blowing. I wish there would have been music, but I guess you can't have everything if the rest is so good.

The difficulty was spot-on for me and I totally got that Metroidvania vibe I am sure you were going for. Awesome atmosphere and even a boss fight.

One of my favorite entries.

I voted for your Greenlight project, all the best of luck for that. A recommendation for the upcoming work: I think the controls need a little bit of polish and they lack a certain visceral quality which can probably be achieved by working on sound effects some more, especially when jumping, landing and hitting. Let the player feel the impact. Also it should be visually clearer which platforms you drop down from and which have a wall to one side.

DrPetter says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Cool! Often graphics-type developers end up making lots of pretty pictures but no real game in the end. You delivered this time.

I chime in on the occasional jump/collision bugs. Managed to cheat over the first door to the left, and going over it from the other way dropped me below the level. That happened at a point where I was running out of ideas for how to proceed though, so I'd need to make another attempt some day. Maybe with company to share the burden ;)

Spent a fair number of minutes and retries jumping across the treetops in the right overworld screen trying to get that rusty key... Finally grabbed it, but the super-precise jumps are pretty tedious with these blatantly unprecise controls. There's some welcome "Coyote time" leaping off a ledge, but you simultaneously lose altitude and it generally feels a bit hit-and-miss. I'd prefer slightly more generous margins in favor of some other elements to add challenge, like timing a jump between swooping enemies or whatever.

Did succeed in getting the "secret flask" in the starting room and it was quite rewarding due specifically to the tricky jump, so it's not all bad! Generally feels like one of those filed-away Amiga disks that you could rediscover and dust off from time to time, playing just long enough to really remember how frustratingly hard it was and why you kept it stashed in the back.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]