Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Vogue Ninja

by TijmenTio - Compo Entry

Game about a ninja that does transformations by vogueing really badly whil trying fend off hordes of land-squids...

controls:
ASWD + MOUSE (left button+right button)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Graphics4.60
#27Mood3.98
#28Audio4.00
#47Overall3.94
#51Humor3.65
#102Theme3.94
#112Fun3.69
#226Innovation3.52
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36am

nice game

Membrane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:44am

Charming and clever! What a great little game

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50am

Very fun boss battle! Good game.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:51am

Can't vote because I haven't submitted the jam game yet but WOW! I just wanted to say that this is lovely on so many awesome levels. Watching you improve over the years has been inspiring to say the least.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07am

An excellent little game. I love the aesthetic and everything fits together very nicely. The shapeshifting into other forms and getting their abilities was very cool too. Very juicy as well, lots of nice little touches like the trees and static objects being slightly animated. I ran it several times, and it seems like it is randomly generated, but at times I get blocked off from further progress, but this is fairly minor. Awesome job!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:33am

Really like the character movements, and just how the environment feels. Very nicely done.

01101101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48am

Really cool visual style, nice animations, makes for a good general mood. Didn't get how to play at first (wasn't grabbing the powers for some reason) but once you get it it runs pretty smoothly.
Nicely done! :)

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

c u t e ninja

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:09pm

First off, the graphics.. AMAZING!
And the characters legs.. AMAZING!
The little dance when he gets a new ability.. AMAZING!
Overall.. AMAZING!

No but really, fun game =)

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Ohhhhh, kawaii TANUKI!

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50pm

O:

This is so cool! Very stunning artwork!

ALobker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Awesome!

Been says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Really amazing looking game, the graphics and animations flow so nicely. I love how the squid creatures bounce around and dodge attacks forcing you to aim and time your attacks carefully rather than just spamming them (which I was doing at first). The audio was nice too, I liked how the music changed tone and tempo when a squid spotted you and the sound effects of pretty much everything fit well too.

I didn't get to experience the boss fight unfortunately, I got lost behind the tress and in dead ends in the forest, and didn't have a clue how to progress. Really liked what I experienced though.

EstherBouma says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Subarashī gēmu

EstherBouma says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Subarashī gēmu!

EstherBouma says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Subarashi gemu!!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

This is some GML magic right here. Especially for a compo entry. Love the visuals, nice sound effects too.

bodsey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Lovely art. I had a art time understing everything, but amazing job nonetheless!

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48am

Absolutely amazing. The animations and physics of the ninja are amazing. The art style is really great. The controls are great, and how responsive everything is. I feel like Adventure Time deserves to have a game this good with it's IP. 5-Stars!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:40am

This game leaves an impression right away just cause of how cool it looks. Love all the particles, and the way the music matches the action, there's a lot of cool attention to detail. The progression felt a little weird, I almost wish it was an arena game, and you earned the transformations by clearing waves. Either way, really neat game, with a really charming aesthetic.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

My favorite game so far. I love the look as well as the music - the music blending so well when it goes into battle is a very nice touch. The animations are amazing. I loved being a cat ninja.

Overall awesomeness.

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50am

Good Game ^^

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Really cute game! The art was cool and I especially liked how the background music transitioned into the fight music.

I was a bit disappointed that there weren't any enemies which required you to switch between forms or some simple puzzle mechanics (I mostly just spammed the turtle-stomp), but that might be asking for too much from a game jam title!

P.S. A minor bug I noticed was that sometimes trees around the edges of the screen would pop in and out when I was walking around. My guess was that this was because their visibility is based on the player's position instead of the camera, which has some delay to it.

Overall this was a great little game!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Super! Love the physics animations !

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Sweet! The combat was very hard because of how fast the enemies are and I ended up cheesing a lot of the encounters with the turtle power, but the graphics were wonderful and I loved the sounds as well. Really nifty!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:09am

I love the art in this game!

Yetikatt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Wonderful art style, the tree kept vanishing/flickering for me though? But other than that very fun

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Haha, this is excellent. Although I seem to be stuck in an infinite loop where octopuses chase me down and hunt me to my death... and there doesn't seem to be any escape. Totally can't find the giant blue one!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Looked rad as fuck. I was really confused in the beginning, I think it could've been slightly better explained. I came back to look for a control description on this page and found nothing. I mean, I worked it out after a couple of minutes but still, my start to the game was pretty clumsy, it wasn't until I got to the second orb thing that I knew I could even transform. Found a gamebreaking bug where the trees disappear too :P.

Physics/controls are really nice, looks amazing (technically very impressive too, is this fake 3d?! looks low poly!), pretty funny. Good entry all round.

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Very nice! The goofy animations and cute graphics are great!
This is a lovely thing you've got there :D

nuuup says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36pm

the squids...

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:58am

Great aesthetic (visual and audio), but I couldn't find the objective

josemorval says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Nice game! Good job guys!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Interesting game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:02pm

F'ing amazing and f'ing hilarious. However, it'd be way better if all 3 forms were useful for something. I ended up using only the turtle form and it made the final boss too easy.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:15am

extremly cool graph and ambiance, great game

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Loved the graphics. Didn't even now you could do this kind of things with GM. Simply amazing compo game!

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:42am

The animations and sounds were very nice! Gave a lot of charm to it. Nice work. :)

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:05pm

The turtle transformation is OP, I just jumped without stopping and killed everybody
The player animations are flawless *o*
did you use 3D for them? (cuz its gamer maker etc...)

pixelpotions says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:39pm

This is a pretty entry!
I had a lot of fun playing it! I love this lowpoly style, plus the freaking cool and funny animations.
Pretty neat, good job!

May 7, 2016 @ 5:20am

Such great style, loved the simple character design. The different character transformations were also a nice touch and throwing those ninja stars was too much fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]