Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tremor

by Troyan - Jam Entry

Hi! I'm Mindy Morales, medical intern.
You won't believe what I saw at last incident!
Some girl was hit by a car. She was hurry to somewhere and listen music in earphones, so... She didn't hear car horn and just increased accident count.
AFAIK from her ID, her name is Maru Challenge.
When she died, her body trembling, like she was between two worlds before dead end.
This trembling has a medical term... Yes! I remember:

A tremor /ˈtrɛmər/ - is an involuntary, somewhat rhythmic, muscle contraction and relaxation involving oscillations or twitching movements of one or more body parts.
We learned it at medical colledge!



19.04.2016 bug with camera and reload fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#411Audio(Jam)3.12
#415Graphics(Jam)3.56
#760Humor(Jam)1.91
#791Mood(Jam)2.76
#933Theme(Jam)2.69
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#1002Fun(Jam)2.47
#1086Innovation(Jam)2.10

Comments

OrangePop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

When I die I have to reload the game because I will die every time I restart.

Troyan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

@OrangePop its a bug((

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05pm

I also had the reload problem, but the visual of the girl is nice.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:14am

really nice art style, and i liked the shapeshifting mechanic with the obstacles.

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:48am

just a little

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51am

Nice. Good idea sincronicing music with shapeshift

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:54am

It's an alright endless runner. The art-style is really good though! It could do with some more polish, tightening up of controls + a bit more interaction if that was possible? But definitely has potential with some tweaks

gnerkus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59am

Great music and art style. The obstacles were a bit confusing at first.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:03am

It's an ok runner with some good music, having some more interaction like a jump button would have made it a bit more engaging.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:05am

Fun game. Really liked the art!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:07am

Interesting game. I couldn't decide when an obstacle was good or bad. The changing is a bit grating after a while, hurts my eyes. But other than that, nice entry :)

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:29am

Endless runner. You've seen this type of thing before. Shapeshifting is not usefully implemented.

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30am

The effects on the music was a nice touch.

Upwily says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:34am

The art style is really cool.

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35am

The graphics and audio were really good.
The changing dimensions and phasing in and out of obstacles was fairly confusing, in the end I mostly just avoided everything.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:44am

Good art but the change was a bit disturbing.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:53am

It's a bit confusing at first try, but good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:54am

The theme of shapeshift could be implemented much better way. Overall I like the concept specially the obstacles

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:01am

Awesome graphics / mood, nice little game! could be improved with adding power ups!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:13am

The graphics are very impressive; give me a bit of a courage the cowardly dog feel. The gameplay's simple enough, a bit generic, and not a whole lot going on. I'm not really sure what the decrepit/standard transition was supposed to be doing, and it mostly made it hard to see/dodge the obstacles, but it was definitely pretty.

No clue what's going on with that description, though.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:40am

I love music, art is not bad too, but it realy chalenging to me(

SamH says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:47am

Maybe a bit too simple? I didn’t really understand whether there was a difference between obstacles or if the shape shifting was part of the gameplay or just an art decision.

Apart from that, the mood is nice and the main character has style!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:51am

I really liked the music, and the transformations of the background was pretty cool, though this is a simple infinite runner, I enjoyed playing it, good job!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40pm

It was really hard to see most of the things on the screen! I ended up dying because of that most of the time. I like how the obstacles become transparent and let you pass them, adds some depth to a rather simple gameplay. It should be flashed out a bit though.

der_wisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:03pm

I really like art style and music. The shifting obstacles are a nice touch.

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:13pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

sndr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44pm

I like the visual effect that the obstacles have! It would be nice though that the theme was not only a visual effect, but had also some kind of effect on the game. :P

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:46pm

It was a good game but a health bar or something would be nice

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:18am

That was cool. The game went slightly out of the screen but it wasn't game-breaking. Clearly some work and personality was put into the graphics and audio, so well done there. The gameplay got old quick though and I'm not sure if I understand how the story in your game's description is supposed to integrate with the game. Regardless, well done!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:44am

pretty good graphics and sound. Would be nice if the shape shifted objects acted differently :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:37am

Great job with the music and cohesive art style; they go together quite well. I especially enjoyed how the shifting synced with the beat of the music, which upped the fun factor. Would be curious to see how this could be iterated upon with more features! Keep at it!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:53am

theme seemed a little off for this one, collision detection was kinda weird a bit more of instruction could help us a lot :D
All in all cool entry keep improving that why w all r here :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:36am

Neat! I liked the music quite a bit, and the visuals were nice! While the game mechanics are plain, it's still well executed!

Nice job!

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

The shapeshifting mechanic is pretty cool but somewhat pointless as it doesn't affect the game as far as I can tell. I found some of the obstacles to be pretty hard to see as they were both small and transparent. Other than that I found it to be pretty enjoyable and rather fun to play.

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:12pm

The game is cool with really great artwork. I just think that theme spirit could be implemented a bit better. You also need to put a warning screen for epileptics, because of the flashy screen.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Very simple game but the graphics are really nice. Very good twist on theme too.

Krammetje says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Fun game, just don't know why I'm running. A clear goal or score would be nice. Besides that it looks and plays really nice.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Great graphics - I love the buildings in the background. Wasn't too sure what was happening with the controls at first. Also, the music and beat seem great.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Very cool!!! I like the idea ^^

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:16pm

An explanation of the controls would be helpful. other than that it is a cool game :)

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Nice game! :D played smoothly, without bugs. :) Like the artstyle :D

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:44am

Impressive graphic, but the game seems incomplete

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Fun idea for a runner. Color coding what is good or bad would have helped a lot!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:25pm

The backstory is really weird.. Is this based on a real story(if so, why publish her name)? I didn't really understand what was happening in the game, some sort of description or tutorial would've been nice.

muraisama says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Nice artstyle and a bit creepy story :)
I liked how the obstacles changed with the music, but after some time my eyes started to feel weir becuase of the whole switching.
Somehow I missed a jump button, also some power ups to slow down time or sth. like this could be nice.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Love the art, but the image shifting really strain the eyes after a while. Great take on theme though.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:50am

Nice graphics, amazing audio, pretty nice gameplay. At the beginning is confusing because of the visuals, but the learning curve is like 3 o 4 attemps (that's pretty nice); The visual effects when you get use to them are great, lots of amazing details like the music getting slower when dying, maybe the animation is too fast or may have more frames (but very decent for an LD), the biggest issue, and the one that makes me stop playing is that the game don't feels rewarding, need some kind of score system, if you add that to the post jam version will be a potencially addictive game (even for mobile), good job!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Really cool graphics and music! It would be nice if there was some kind of score/distance counter ;)

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35pm

The difficulty is high very soon but the game is pretty nice!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Very nice graphics. I almost died waiting for your game to load thanks unity ^_^

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:32am

Mind Blown, reading the description really sets the mood for the game. Do i eventually reach an end and she comes back to life? =(

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Interesting little game.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Great music! Love the art style. Nice entry you have made!

IvanFon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:24am

I absolutely loved the art, and the obstacles shapeshifting was a cool mechanic. Great job!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:31am

Loved the description!
Nice use of the theme and beautiful art.
Nice job!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:05pm

It's a fairly simple endless runner but I like the art style and I love the transitions that are happening.

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:28am

The art style is cool, really good job on that. The sprites are crisp. The music is great too. The idea that objects exist in the real world and the world of the dead is a neat take on the theme, but it would be a little cooler if it fit into the mechanic somehow too!

For example, it almost felt like the objects were changing forms in time with the music. If some objects were dangerous in the real world, but safe in the dead world, and vice versa, that could be a cool mechanic, and it would turn it into a bit of a rhythm game too which would enhance the endless running aspect.

Overall, good job!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Cool graphics but I didn't heard any sound, so I won't rate the audio (and yes my speakers are on).

Hectigo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Liked the effects and the music, good mood, though the flashing was a bit too much. The style of the drawings is cool too, especially the use of colors. In terms of gameplay it's not very interesting, just another endless runner with not a lot of variation, it could have been better if it was slower paced and the level would change when the flash happens.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:18am

I loved the presentation. The beat matched up to the shifting perfectly, and the art was really appealing.
Wished that when I collided with different obstacles I could see different animations, like her falling into the manhole or something.

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:13am

Obstacles are barely visible. Other than that small, simple game that gets the job done

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:51am

Some kind of feedback for time spent running or obstacles avoided would add to the replayability. Excellent audio.

neondx says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:45am

Shapes were changing, but it had no effect on the gameplay

marvalgames says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:43am

Very much liked the art style. Kinda fun too. Good theme use and nice sounds. I find this type of game kinda boring so I'm not the best judge :)

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Love your Art

fin_nolimit says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Fantastic art!!!! My only suggestion would be to add a point or highscore system. Nice entry!!

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Cool game! Liked a lot how music was synced to gameplay!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Very stylish, but it's really hard to make out the obstacles most of the time; i don't know if that was the intention, but it's more frustrating rather than difficult. A score counter would've been nice.

TheCain says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:02am

I liked the art, but I had no reason to keep playing.
For endless runners like this, you need a scoreboard, or some other incentive for the player to keep playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]