Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Flesh Mess

by radmars - Jam Entry

Flesh Mess!
You start as a wimpy skeleton, collect flesh to SHAPE SHIFT! Defeat 6 levels of horrific crimes against nature, to defeat the evil flesh lord.

Controls:
WASD/Arrows: movement
SPACE: shoot
SHIFT: dash in direction


Credits:
- Adhesion: noises
- Brendo: pictures
- spacemars: more pictures & text!
- tokken: further pictures
- steakzzz: subsequent pictures
- emarcotte: text files
- heckbringer: more text files

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#33Graphics(Jam)4.51
#54Fun(Jam)3.92
#55Overall(Jam)3.98
#150Mood(Jam)3.70
#158Audio(Jam)3.65
#332Humor(Jam)2.86
#355Theme(Jam)3.59
#492Innovation(Jam)3.12

Comments

Otixa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45am

Really fun. Liked it a lot!

trulyvile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26am

FANTASTIC interpretation of the theme. It's so gross!

Chase_of_Bass says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29am

Love it! aweeeeesome! music feels like early sega genesis -art is really good -love the hud in the upper left corner -so much good art and animation here. More carnage than total carnage!

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Really great pixel art in this one!

Definitely would've benefited from some balancing though. The initial form felt really underpowered, but as soon as you got an upgrade you could pretty much just breeze through the rest of the game up to the boss, at which point it became really challenging again.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

awesome game. cool gross art and a tun of fun. great interpretation of the theme

Saladon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Great game. The progression is very satsfying

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Love the pixel art, great take on the theme.

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Very cool, reminds me of Pocky and Rocky co-op game on SNES. A bit too hard at the beginning, hitboxes could've been a bit more forgiving.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Awesome. Such fun to play. Love the transformations of the player and the combat was just enough toughness + absolute chaos :P great game!!!

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Fantastic game. Very well done. Music, graphics, atmosphere, concept is great.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Amazing work... great graphics and music! The boss was much more challenging from the fights before, however.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Amazing, really reminds me of something you'd play on the super nintendo. Gameplay was pretty great too.

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Holy shmolly, art, monster design and animations are so freaking amazing. Make this a full game please.
So good how the music changes based on the transformation, very empowering. 5/5
Also reminded me a bit of pocky and rocky, one of my fave snes games, but with a grim twist. :)

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:32am

Great art and really fun gameplay (i suck at it though!)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Beautiful graphics and music. And gameplay. And pretty much everything.

FBJazz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Super fun. The graphics were fantastic. I had a great time. Excellent work.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:17am

nice art! but I think only being able to shoot in straight directions made the game a little harder than neccessary.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9t0et_GLOeA

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:19pm

I love the graphics style and PC classic gaming midi soundtrack. Awesome entry with lots of personality. Difficulty is quite brutal, so I couldn't finish the boss. A health bar would have been nice.

Personally I would have preferred a different control scheme for keyboard (arrows and x/z for instance), other than that it's awesome!

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:06am

Great game!

Audio and graphics are pretty rad! ;)
Also, the song kinda reminded me of the Sega Genesis' synthesizer... don't know, just felt like songs from that console.

I think that this game could have used automatic shooting, instead of having to mash the button. Shooting doesn't make you slower/stops you, so there's no real reason to stop shooting (though you are forced to stop when dashing). So, why not allow the player to just hold shoot all the time?

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:37am

Badassssss!!! So great how the music amps up as you reach each new form, I found my self concentrating really hard not to lose the badass guitar riff haha. I kinda liked that it didn't have checkpoints, although I lost on the final boss and couldn't be bothered going all the way back in order to defeat him. The blood splats were awesome :D

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Ah, that's a good game ! Design is great, gameplay is fun, and... Oh, all that blood... :D

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:49pm

The initial form was a bit difficult to use at first.

I wish the power-ups were like organs: get a heart to increase your health or get skin to increase armor.

Is this game copyrighted? No? I'll be right back!

paquinn says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Really good art, satisfying explosions.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:40pm

This was a neat little game. The graphics were very well made and so was the music - really reminded me of a SEGA Genesis/Megadrive game, which tickled my fancy. The gameplay was also quite reminisent of those types of games as well. I enjoyed it, as difficult as it was. I do have some slight issues with it, however. Mostly the controls could have been better. Either making it a mouse shooter/WASD shooter or maybe mapping the layouts a bit differently(both letting the player use the analog on the controller as well as using something else than space to shoot) would have made it more responsive and fun. Other than that, very solid entry!

medidog says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:05am

Nice take on the theme. I wish there was no permadeath though...

Rock Eaters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:30am

really awesome pixels art and responsive,music is dope too , it's surprising we had many similar ideas :) great work !

Louspirit says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:16am

Very enjoyable game to play! The dash feature is a good point :)

pixelpotions says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Awesome! Great fun and fantastic graphics! :D

MatMortatti says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Wow! Really good game.

I loved the art style and the overall power-up mechanics. Made me feel like a badass after some time, but the enemies lived up for the challenge.

The only grip I have is with the automatic aim. It would be really appreciated if the aim and movement were independent, like in the Binding of Isaac (or any other twin-stick shooter).

Very well-made entry, congratulations!

fin_nolimit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:27am

Okay, wow, how has it taken me nearly three weeks to find this gem!!! Fantastic game!!! I love the shapeshift concept where you get more powers and only lose those powers when you get hit (kind of like Mario lol) Again, EXCELLENT JOB!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:17am

Normalize your audio next time -- had to turn my speakers wayyyy up! =P

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:44am

Really great entry. You really captured the feel of the old arcade run and gun.
The only thing I didn't like was that after dying, you had to restart from the beginning, and then it was a toss up if you would find lumps or not.

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:26pm

super cool! I loved the graphics, the colors felt especially squishy :D

Awesome job as usual!

Yann says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Heh, I tried it when I saw it on facebook but forgot to vote :D
Nice one though I couldn't finish it =)

axoona says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:20pm

great music and graphics!
the shoot and move controls make it quite challenging though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]