Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshift Racer

by 02fc.exe - Jam Entry

Shapeshift Racer is infinite runner game where obstacles are changing their forms.

CONTROLS:
[←][→] or [A][D] — movement
[Esc] — exit

P.S. Thanks for feedback via comments previously. It helps to improve my game and fix some bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Graphics(Jam)4.46
#54Audio(Jam)3.99
#137Mood(Jam)3.73
#216Overall(Jam)3.62
#544Fun(Jam)3.12
#855Theme(Jam)2.87
#937Innovation(Jam)2.51

Comments

Blister says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Really great graphics and sound ! Nice job !

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Wow! I love it! Incredible graphics and audio! It's like an interactive demo scene video! I'd play more of this.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Really nice - love it.

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:20pm

The sound is really great in this one, and the gameplay is simple and addictive, especially with the "your best score" feature. The graphics are amazing, but can be quite taxing as someone who doesn't have the best of eyes. Otherwise it's overall a really solid and fun experience.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04am

The graphic seems very nice!

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07am

Cool game, really enjoyed the graphics.

mitkus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

Love it! Amazing graphics style and audio. Can totally see it being a success on mobile devices.

Seth_senpai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11am

Not a very innovative concept but it looks, feels and sounds awesome! Great job on the aesthetic!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19am

Looks really great!

egos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:27am

nice graphics and audio

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Very nice game, I imagine this, with other kinds of street shapes, like the ones in Speed Racer or Hot Wheels. Also that "cave" looking things is crazy, in a good way. Great entry!

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Very well done visuals, I am envious. :)

Wish the gameplay would be a bit deeper, but other than that, no complaints!

curtamyth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Absolutely love the graphics and music. Nice game!

SengiG says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24am

Nice shaders work , I would even say impressive, yeah impressive is a better word)
Love materials and flow of gameplay, did have some nice time with it.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Graphics are fantastic, especially love the ribbons in the opening scene and the tunnel walls. Would be cool to see more exploration of the theme, but really nice entry!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:07pm

looks and sounds amazing, no doubt about that
the controls felt just a little off, i think a little tweaking on the de/accelleration would be nice

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Very beautifull graphics and music ! Good work ! :)

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Great graphics style. The music was really good too. Solid submission here.

davalcordub says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:51pm

It is a very brutal game, congratulations for creating such a work of art. Sometimes I feel that the car moves a bit slow movement based on the level.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:38pm

awesome graphics and music!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:13pm

I AM IN LOVE WITH THE GRAPHICS LIKE I LOVE CHOPPING BODY PARTS

tomlum says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:38am

Super cool and beatiful atmosphere and really satisfying feel to the game.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:25am

Gorgeous graphics. Good control responsiveness for the vehicle. Nice job.

Strike says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:59am

Awesome work on the procedural graphics.

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:56am

Really amazing entry, has a great aesthetic and had a lot of fun ^^

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Great great game and awesome graphics!

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Nice graphics and audio and a cool innovative idea. The only problem is that it is pretty slow, and keyboard clicks take a while to register, even on low settings. I probably just need a better computer. Other than that, it is great!

May 2, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Looks good.

bjorn says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:39am

Great graphics!

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:23am

Great visuals and audio.

PowerSpark says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Very good music and polish, I like how you made your effects sync with the music.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Really great aesthetic for an usual game. Well done ++

May 4, 2016 @ 6:58pm

great soundtrack, the shapeshifting was a little contrived but its beautiful

Aaranos says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Audio and visuals are amazing for this. The gameplay could use some more variety, maybe curving track just to mix it up.

jofra says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Very polished game! awesome entry.
The graphics and sounds are very well done.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:30am

Very nice visuals, especially on the title screen! It would be great to see some other environments in this style.

I think the movement might be more satisfying if the car actually turned a little instead of just sliding left-to-right.

Cool entry - would love to see more.

Insality says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:02am

absolutlety great graphics, style and OST
your style is rly impressing, got fun from your game!
But there is a little problem, the game is laggy, hard to play on large resolution ;(

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:43am

Graphics were amazing, and I think if you guys incorporated stage transitions, it'd look amazing.

avinashd says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:07am

Really beautiful looking game! Initially, I felt the car moved a bit too quickly, but as the level sped up, the speed and stiffness of the movement were just right. The post-jam version is absolutely fantastic!

Bonus points for a 3D game that isn't 200MB :P

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Awesome work!I was totally fascinated with the color and the atmosphere's flow! and really hope to know how these beauty coloured ribbon be built!~
totally have great and smooth rhythem, also i found that the music also shifting each match? i am not sure ,and if the channal could be get out that i think the experience of this game must will have more new shifting!

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:13am

Wow, absolutely gorgeous. I got 52 on my first run.
The car controlled weird. I think because of acceleration.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]