Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Two Jobs

by Alexandre Szybiak - Compo Entry

This game is a mix between classic Breakout game and Space Invaders. Shapeshift between the breakout pad and the Space Invaders ship.

GOAL
Destroy every alien and break every brick to move on to the next level.

CONTROLS
Move : mouse
Change shape : mouse wheel
Shoot : mouse left button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#7Theme4.42
#16Overall4.11
#19Innovation4.23
#38Mood3.92
#48Audio3.82
#58Fun3.89
#112Graphics3.89
#199Humor2.98

Comments

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:18am

Haha brilliant. Could definitely see this getting a few more features and getting really fun.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

think the same, if u add a couple more features the game could be better, good work!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Great concept. I loved the tradeoffs of the in-between shapes. Smart design, clean presentation, A+.

A333 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Great game actually. Transition is very well done, mouse wheel control is especially good idea. I like the graphics and music as well. Nice job =)

Little nitpicking just because I loved your game so much: balance wise, ship form feels less worthy. Slower bullets of the pad form has more chance to meet enemies, and the only advantage is the leaner profile. Perhaps in a more feature rich game it would be easier to balance (enemy health, etc). So maybe it's worth to explore this design.

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:14pm

:-) Great! two of my favourite games combined, I liked the presentation of the instructions in the game aswell, good work!

DifferentName says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:28pm

I love the idea and execution of this game! I love how the two games you're playing are both really easy on their own, but the challenge comes from having to do both at the same time, and that moment where an enemies attack is headed towards the same place as the ball and you have to shoot the enemy bullet to survive. Perfect game for a game jam!

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35pm

I didn't understand why I die all the time. But when they understood - it was great! Elegant graphics.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Works really well, controls are perfect and loved the colours

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Great concept in general, worked well, I sometimes felt that death was a little unfair, but I enjoyed it a lot regardless.

chocobyte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

I like it, great retro-feel!

bodsey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Ha, amazing work, perfect idea, solid execution. Excellent compo entry

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Very great game 10\10

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Coll idea! It took several times of my day and I didn't even noticed!
Really well done!!

nopogo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

nice mashup of 2 clasics. love the artstyle with the vibrant colors and black background. well done

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Coll idea! It took several times of my day and I didn't even noticed!
Really well done!!

Ryan Kline says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:54pm

I BEAT IT! Super fun an interesting. Mechanics were solid. I was going to say that I didn't like how you could get stuck between a bullet and the ball, but then I found out you could shoot the bullets and that you had made a mechanic to solve that issue. Well done!

Tatos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Great game! Very solid concept.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:06pm

first plus for quick tutorial on start! I like the music. Good idea and implementation of theme. I don't like using mouse,wheel, mine's isn't one of those that you can just scroll fast, which might be ideal for this game. When I realized, you can stay in between shapes to do both I didn't really bother changing back.(you could add enemies, which need bigger bullets to kill them. Or a boss. or enemies don't die from single small bullet, but from many) Really fitting art style for retro-game inspired game. Overall fantastic! I hope you develop this further towards where there is story, few bosses(aliens, battleships, etc) Also: you only had one- I mean two jobs... :D

ultravioleta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:57am

really cool combination!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Really fun!

Feng says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Awesome game with complete tutorial and perfectly combined gameplay. The graphic and music are also with great retro feeling.

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Good Game :D

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Cool, 2 games in 1. Very creative use of the theme, nice retro visuals, smooth gameplay

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Definitely a great take on the theme! Funny! I was expecting to do lower damage when I was firing a little bubble, but every bubble has the same damage. I finally end up using only the purple bar, firing the smallest bubble. Bug? Otherwise, excellent theme interpretation and idea, which made the game really good!

LeoM says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Very well executed !
Great use of the theme.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Very creative idea! Cool gameplay mechanic, congratulations!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Really nice and also innovative. A bit difficult though...

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Great job!!! This was one of my favorite Ludum Dare games that I've played! The concept was so unique, the graphics were so charming, and the audio, while simplistic, fit perfectly! The game was incredibly fun, and fit the theme perfectly! Amazing job!!!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Very nice idea! The graphics and music are really pretty, also!

Knowledge says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Cool game but nothing special.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:31pm

I love game maker games!!! This gets 5 stars for innovation!!! Excellent idea and take on the whole theme!!! Nice work

themadknights says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Awesome entry! It is more, I think it is a game every beginner in gamedev should do after seeing it for understanding the process and take the basics :)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:27pm

This is an amazing fit to the theme, worked quite well!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Hard to master but really cool to play, and looking so good

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Wow, this is amazing. Great take on the theme, great presentation. A clean and polished game!

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:01am

Genius idea. I love how you balanced things to avoid frustration with the lower ball auto aiming at bricks, that made the whole experience pretty smooth i think. In terms of balancing: found that that the in between shapes are actually best all around as its better to catch the ball than the ship and the very slow pellets actually make it easier to kill invaders because they stay longer on screen.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:27am

Hehe, really clever! And really frustrating! xP
Nice work and awesome interpretation of the theme!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Great concept, very challenging! I like how you pretty much learn the pros and cons to each ship on the go.
Only niggle was that the only time I died was because the ball would approach a laser, and I had no time to get in between and kill the laser.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:21am

Clever use of the theme and nice combination of games. Liked how hard it becomes having to focus on two different playing styles and choosing between which shape to play with. Fun entry.

paquinn says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Really innovative while keeping a strong retro theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]