Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Doppleganger

by unpronounceable - Compo Entry

A single player game using a normal deck of playing cards including the joker.

While playing you work your way through a stronghold, replacing people and spying to open up new options available to you. The goal is to find and replace the joker hidden in with the rest cards.

There is also a two player variation included in the rules if you want to play with someone else.

This is partially an experiment to see how well a more traditional game will work in this contest, and to see if I could make a game using something most people would have just lying around. If time permits I may make an electronic version people can play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Innovation4.33
#42Overall3.95
#71Fun3.85
#237Theme3.71
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

rikoitza says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Woah! Way to think outside the box, I would have never considered this.

Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:41pm

The fact one can play this solitaire makes it attractive, I've seen a few table-top entries on LD and this is a big plus. Also I enjoyed your post-mortem on this. I will be sure to try this one out :)

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16am

I like it

chobrah says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:02am

Oh dang, I am at the office and have no deck of cards, devastated! I love the idea, will have to try it when I get home.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35am

This was super fun and original. This stands up favorably to original solitaire

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Waaah, what an innovative game! It's awesome. I discovered an all new technology!

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43pm

The game seemed super hard to play. I was out of options, thinking all hope was lost. Then I remembered I could Panic! And then I won in two turns. Easy!

Amazing work on the rules. Very clearly worded. Good use of capitalization to point out key words. Examples were succinct and displayed rule outliers well. My only suggestion would be to make a cheat sheet somewhere for quick reference.

Didn't try the variations, but it was cool to see you added those.

And nice job incorporating the theme!

ezombort says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Looks like a very interesting game. I like that you provided intstructions on how to make the game easier or harder. Thumbs up!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Yup this is a very good game, I played a couple of rounds, and the rules are clear and easy. I think this will be a game I will keep playing for a while!

One thing I came across: The joker popped up as one of the first cards you flip over after initial setup (#6 in the Rules). So what I did was I collected the bottom four cards from each column, shuffled, and re-dealt those.

A solid game, two thumbs up!

Also, I made a quick reference while I was learning the game, if it helps anyone else - http://keyboardmonkey.co.za/ld35/doppelganger-cheatsheet.odt

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:44pm

@keyboardmonkey Quick rules clarification: The joker shouldn't be mixed into the deck until you're placing the top four rows in step 5. The extra cards placed during step 5 should be placed above the cards placed in step 3. So the joker should never be in the bottom four rows and shouldn't be able to be gotten in the initial reveal.

The split in the dealing is my least favorite part of the rules but I wasn't able to come up with a good way to avoid immediately turning over the joker without it. It creates the most confusion, have watched a few other people play that had issues with it.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:09am

(facepalm) I see my mistake, you highlighted it well in the diagram. Whoops. I thought the games played too easy.

To put it another way, you split the deck into three piles of 5, 24, 24 (including joker), and layout the stronghold starting with the joker pile?

Perhaps change the wording in the Setup phase, step 5 from "on top" to "above", for people like me who don't pay attention to diagrams :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:29pm

@keyboardmonkey If you're building the Stronghold from farther away from to closer that would work. The idea is to have the closest 4 cards in the columns not be the joker, you should have to go through a minimum of 4 cards to get it. The wording for that was something I struggled with. Both "above" and "on top" can be interpreted as the card laying on top of another card or as further away in relation to another card (using OpenGL coordinates it would be the difference between moving along the y-axis and the z-axis). Since the columns should be laid out so it's easiest to flip over the bottom of the column, each card in the column is both above (on the y-axis) and below (on the z-axis) the next card that is closer than it to the top of column. This is a possible source of confusion.

Probably should have used the words "closer" and "further". So you start out close to you, and as you lay the second group in the Stronghold you place them farther away. The row then flipped over in the beginning is the row of cards closest to you.

Something could be done using piles like you mentioned. Could also have a different goal that would be more likely to distribute the cards around the entire board, like you have to get all the kings and aces, but to keep the same board size would then reduces the size of the Reserve by one.

Thanks for the feedback, it's quite helpful.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Fun and Interesting. I hope your experiment works out well, I'd love to see more variety of game types in Ludum Dare!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:35pm

I always loved solitaire PnP games and card games, and it is amazing that I found a good on here at Ludum Dare! Well done!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Wow! Great idea! I tried this out and it was really fun. One way you could improve this would be to add a way to make sure Joker doesn't start in the bottom row. I would suggest before putting in the joker, set aside 6 cards (or however many columns you are playing with) which at the end of setup would be placed down face up as the bottom row.

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 1:49pm

I really like the idea to make a new gameplay with standard cards. And you made it. You made it well ! :)

May 7, 2016 @ 6:17am

@unpronounceable I have implemented your card game into a web-canvas game, the working prototype plays and is winnable. I will post a link after the LD voting ends :)

May 17, 2016 @ 7:02pm

fyi I implemented your game in my browser based engine - http://wesleywerner.github.io/penny-farthing/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]