Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ship Shape

by paquinn - Compo Entry

Aboard your drifting space ship you must build to defend the core from the onslaught of the stars. Try and keep it in shape as best you can.

---INSTRUCTIONS---
* Scroll up and down to switch between wall and floor tiles
* WASD to maove
* Touch the core to regain energy
* Your power will go down if you are in space or have more than 100%
* Building walls costs 15 power, floors are 10
* Destroying walls or floors gives some power back
* If a star hits the core your ship bill explode

Hopefully the sound isn't too loud.
Feel free to post your final scores

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#204Graphics3.61
#337Mood3.09
#372Innovation3.25
#397Humor2.39
#432Audio2.78
#618Overall3.04
#783Fun2.61
#869Theme2.46

Comments

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46am

I quite enjoyed this one. I liked the minimalistic graphics and I think the concept was lovely. THe lack of music is usually a problem but here it felt like a positive because it added to the cold loneliness of space. Overall, very good but simple entry!

thiagowaw says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47pm

I like it! The art is simple and very good!

but in the beginning I was quite lost xD

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:01pm

The Power and Score text doesn't show for me in the Web version on Chrome and Windows 8. Probably look into this and update it if it is an easy fix?

I downloaded the game and it makes a lot more sense when you can see the score and power. The gameplay mechanics are very inspired and have great potential! It is a bit hard to tell if you're doing good or bad when building though which i

Also I'm on a laptop (i.e. touchpad) and all of us laptoppers would be way happier if you added a keyboard button to switch between wall and floor tiles - scrolling on a touchpad is akward at best.

Great sound effects! Some music would be cool as well

amras0000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38am

My main gripe is the method of generating energy. Having to mash w and s is tiring and unsatisfying.
The actual wall-building wasn't particularly compelling either, mostly just grinding out enough energy, ploping down the bits the stars ripped out, rinse and repeat.
Just not a lot to the gameplay to keep me interested.
Also, the audio was very unpleasant and grating, especially the extremely loud end-of-game effects.

The graphics are super pretty, I'll admit, but the gameplay just doesn't seem that well designed. I feel like this sort of gameplay would lend itself well to a tower defense variant of some description, or maybe something where the core will provide you energy while you control it, but you must build out with floors to move to other cores before your original one depletes.

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:44pm

So-so. Had fun playing it.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:49pm

I played it the first time not even realising I could move the guy... oops! Nice graphics, and I think the audio is decent, but I think some music would definitely go well. The gameplay is a nice idea, but it kinda breaks down because you can just spam the movement keys near the energy core and keep placing up a new shield as the stars destroy the existing one. You end up dying only when the number of stars is practically impossible to deal with. Still, I thought it was pretty neat. Nice work.

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Cool game. I pretty much made a ship out of walls. Not sure why I had two options but spamming walls seemed to work. I dug the graphics and feel.

teamross says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:03pm

yay! Love the idea! Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Loved the art style! :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I really like how odd it felt being in the world building my fortress bit by bit. It was kind of relaxing and satisfying :) great job!

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:19am

Good Game :)

guoboism says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:20am

Nice game! Pixel art looks good! Nice to see a building-defense game in LD

Javabot says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:15pm

cool lil entry.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Nice defense game, seems kind of easy to regenerate energy though (Holding W). Not sure if that was intended.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:03am

While it was a good idea, it was poorly very executed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]