Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Janpu

by mamoniem - Jam Entry

Janpu is about that "strange" creature named "Janpu". A janpu changes its shape and color every time it jumps, but its quite a problem, as a janpu character need to match the platform color in order to pass through it,...and you haven't that much of time to wait for the correct color!

A & D for moving left and right, and Space for jump.

-m

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20
#558Theme(Jam)3.33
#637Overall(Jam)3.13
#704Fun(Jam)2.93
#2155Coolness14%

Comments

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:47am

Very nice looking game. I really like the crayon/chalk style.
It gets repetitive quite fast though and you can basically go on indefinitely unless you slip.
Maybe ramp up the difficulty the farther up you get?

zillix says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:15am

the aesthetic is very charming! I enjoyed the simple gameplay :)

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:28am

Pretty cool game. I got to about 50 and didn't see any increase in difficulty. Maybe if it speeds up, or another color is added, it might help with a gradual increase in difficulty. Nice job.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:07am

Love the kiddie look of the game. Audio matches well.

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:09am

Really innovative and loved the unique graphics. But due to bad mechanics, it was only enjoyable for small amount of time for me. I hope there is a way to fix the controls for the post-jam version!

Reiv says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:16am

Nice game, the characters are charming. Maybe you could add levels and increase the difficulty by adding new colors or some kind of object that could attack or block the player (projectiles, push then off the platform, etc )

LeftRight92 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Charming aesthetic but the controls were badly implemented making it frustrating to play. Given that this is your fourth LD, I feel like you could've pulled off more than a game as mechanically simple as this.

LeReveur says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I like the mood of this one ! Character tends to slide a lot when diagonal jumping, but that understanded, it plays well. Good job. :)

Tatos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:29am

Nice style! Maybe the game mechanic it's too simple and controls need more accuracy.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:32am

This game is lovely! The music fits the character art very well and I really like the look of it.
I had some problems with the gameplay though. Sometimes I could not get to the platform I was supposed to (while having the correct color applied!), because the character didnt jump as high as he should be and I had to use another one. And otherwise I found myself spamming space until I could break through the ceiling, which was not very difficult of cause. Its a nice concept though...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]