Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Wormwall

by Pixelsalt - Compo Entry

Get your snake trough the walls by changing shape.

Gets faster after each fifth wall until #30.
After that you're going for high score.

Controls:
Movement: ASWD or Arrow keys.
Reset: R or Backspace.

Microsoft.NET framework is required.
If the game does not run, try installing it from the provided link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#117Innovation3.78
#237Theme3.71
#321Graphics3.36
#366Fun3.28
#436Overall3.25
#512Audio2.55

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

I played it, but the lacking audio and slow move speed got me bored quickly. Try and add some upbeat music next time to keep me on my toes and caring about winning and maybe have the scroll speed increase gradually.

Willsr71 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

After a bit much getting used to it I managed to get to #16. I found that using the arrow keys was easier than using the wasd keys, but overall nice job.

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Really nice concept! Could be a bit more clear, since sometimes I didn't really see what the target shape is, but other than that, nice work. :)

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Really cool idea and good execution. This game got me hooked for a while. It's really unforgiving.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42pm

A bit too slow, but nice entry.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57pm

the look in perspective fits perfect with this game

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Very cool idea and a neat take on a very classic theme! I had a lot of fun playing and especially enjoyed the visual look of the game. Maybe the snake could get longer every time you beat a level?

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Hey this game is really good, one of my favorite so far. It's simple too play, smart and addictive. I really wish it was a bit slower though as it was very frustrating at first. I managed to score 11 points, I don't know if it's a lot. Contrary to what I've read in the comments, I did noticed an increase of speed, that works well. Great great job !

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Super idea, a bit difficult.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:21am

I actually liked this. I felt like there wasn't enough time on the first few to get you used to it though. You basically just have to fail 15 times before you get the hang of it.

Like others have said, music would have really helped to.
Overall, nice entry. Good job

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:44am

Cool concept, but man is this hard. I had a tough time.

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:27am

Really good concept, and it needs some music, then this would be really nice game! But I did not like the color choices in this one.

the31 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:40am

Really cool concept! I wish that you could make it move faster though... maybe the wall could come faster if you're in a position where you will pass it? (Like that first wall--it's slow enough to be a really annoying punishment for dying, and I don't know if it should be!) It's also hard to see the shape when the wall just passes, which feels kind of unfair for what seems like a puzzle game rather than a perception game. A way to undo moves would be fantastic, too--rather than certain death if you press a wrong key, if you could press the key back to where you came and the tail would reverse back to the previous position, I think that would make the game more enjoyable if you don't find it easy to press the directions that accurately. Neat idea.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:51am

HOLY COW!!!! Addicting and crazy hard!!! lol Excellent job!!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:13am

Great job, I used to try in this way but no don't know how to express. I think this is a very good way to fulfill this gameplay!

lumscum says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:21am

Really enjoyed the concept. Felt very polished! Would've loved to have some music in the game though.

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:59am

I wish there was more speed, sound effects, and maybe a changed perspective. But definitely impressive for a one-man team!

egos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:30am

really idea but a bit too hard too experiment the concept as a player
I like the color choice

cmayhem says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:48am

Very cool concept! Very difficult and could use some music but otherwise very well done!

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:55am

As said before, nice little game, but its a bit to slow. The idea is well implemented and has got a good level of difficulty

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:51pm

As others said it started kinda slow. I was only able to get to #18. Hard game, but it's a really awesome creative idea.

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:59pm

I got 20! :) very fun game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]