Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Box Connector

by Thepattybeast - Compo Entry

DOES NOT WORK ON OSX.
Requires java 8. If it doesn't work and no error message is shown update your java.

The goal of the game it to eliminate all of your opponents squares. There are 3 actions you can do:
* Attack - Remove an opponent's square and any squares depending on it to be attached to the back of the board. You cannot remove more than the square level+2 squares. The range a which attacks work are determined by the attacking square's level.

*Place - Place a square next to the selected tile. Can only be done every other turn.

*Upgrade - Increase the level of the selected square.

Use mouse wheel to change modes if you can't do anything try switching modes.

Here is exactly how a turn should be played:
1. Select one your squares (The blue ones). This is the square that will do the action.
2. Use the scroll wheel to select the action you want to do as described above.
3. Select one of the tiles with a green box to perform the selected action on that tile or right click to cancel and repeat these steps.

You win by placing a block at the opponents end of the board or eliminating all of their squares.
I hope this clears up some of the confusion. If you're still stuck there is a tutorial https://youtu.be/_WjNvk1PMhk.
*The above may not work as described.

Does the game work for anyone on osx?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#651Innovation2.82
#883Graphics1.86
#917Fun2.05
#928Theme1.82
#947Overall2.14
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15am

I can't extract the .zip on OSX. Using the GUI I get a .cpgz, using the command line I get told "need PK compat. v6.3 (can do v2.1)".

Titan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:40pm

I could not figure out how to play.

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Not working:

➜ java -version
java version "1.8.0_60"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_60-b27)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.60-b23, mixed mode)
christoph at ultron in ~/Downloads
➜ java -XstartOnFirstThread -jar Box\ Connector.jar
Core Engine: 0.14
GLFW Version: 3.1.2 Cocoa NSGL chdir menubar retina wm 2
java.lang.IllegalStateException: Please run the JVM with -XstartOnFirstThread.
at org.lwjgl.system.macosx.EventLoop.checkFirstThread(EventLoop.java:20)
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwInit(GLFW.java:428)
at com.thepattybeastlabs.core.system.LWJGLSystem.createDisplay(LWJGLSystem.java:78)

ottohak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

I have no Idea hot play this game. Nice Option Screen.

spiffl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Can you explain a bit more how to play the game? Every time I play I make one move (putting a square and getting rid of a square by clicking), but then after that one move I can't do anything! I'd like to play the game and give a rating but I don't get it :cc

testzero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:30am

I think I get the concept, but it's way too buggy to play. I'm constantly destroying my own blocks, which should NOT be an option.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Sorry - Java Exception occurred. :(

djfariel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:29am

Confusion Simulator 2016 :P

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:11am

Interesting idea, but it needs some polish to properly shine. I kept thinking I was getting the hang of it, but then I lost even though I still had squares left - what's the lose condition?

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:16pm

This definitely has potential, but without a proper GUI and a tutorial (some advices on tactic) it's very hard do play.

RNanoware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:05pm

I really appreciate the effort put into this idea (I myself did a grid puzzle, and I think your idea is quite interesting), but the behavior of the game felt too inconsistent to really become mentally engrossed. That being said, I'm afraid that my entry is suffering the same fate, so we're in similar boats!

In any case, great effort!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Couldnt open it

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:38pm

I figured out the controls after reading the description without problem (I don't understand the confusion about it - maybe you added it after the comments?). I think that the core mechanic has a potential. Sadly the game is very buggy (as seen even in the tutorial video! :/). But I feel that this could be a great board game.

gelisam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I had the same problem as @thunderklaus. I'm on OS X.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Seems like a lot of the times, the actions don't work. Interesting concept though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]