Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Colour Shift

by voxel - Compo Entry

Collect delicious MUTAGEN BLOBS from the exploded corpses of your robotic foes!
Use the mutagen to SHIFT COLOURS on the dangerous RAINBOW SPECTRUM OF DEATH. Pick the right colour for each situation - Red is the most deadly but is slow and vulnerable to fast robots. Indigo is agile but deals less damage to enemies. Violet doesn't even have a weapon, what's up with that?

Controls:

Movement: A, D
Colour shift: W, S
Jump: Space
Shoot: Mouse click

Bugs: Lots. No weapon balance. No good progression. But mostly the physics is pretty seriously busted. Try not to bump into the walls too much and you'll be just fine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics4.00
#198Audio3.30
#249Mood3.26
#266Humor2.78
#502Overall3.18
#529Fun3.03
#683Theme3.00
#731Innovation2.66
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Very Good Game :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46am

fun - but like you mentioned broken in several places - great job tho

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Less bugs that Gothic 5/5

(PS: Could be fun as a two-player game maybe?)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Love the background art !

Blobo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:37am

Pretty cool. The art was flawless! Reminded me of the arcade mario bros game.

Geti says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23am

The physics were pretty seriously bugged :P Kinda interesting though. Didn't RTM enough at the start and missed the colour-change for the first game. You're right about the lack of progression though, was the main thing stopping me from continuing playing for very long. Can only spam so many bullets.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:47am

I loved the pixel art! The gameplay is cool and the game is fun

Great game Voxel! :D

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:52am

Really cool game, reminded of the old mario games. And let me just say, I LOVED the Pixel Art, and the colors were just so delicious and juicy! Loved the style, 5 star graphics. Well done! :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:19am

Graphics and sound were brilliant, among the best ones I've seen so far, but unfortunately it was a bit frustrating to control.

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:20am

Really nice gameplay. I really liked the graphics and sound of this game. Simple but awesome. Like you mentioned the weapons are a little bit unbalanced, but its still rlly fun to play

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:45am

Wonderfull pixel artwork +1 for that. The gameplay should be more polished to avoid al the little glitches. But I enjoyed playing the game . Good JoB!

humble_ray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Looks great! I like it.

neontropics says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Fun but as you mentioned the physics are a bit weird. I'd probably streamline it and just had the gun shoot straight when pressing a button instead! Great graphics.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on www.indiexpo.net ? It's like itch or gjolt.
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Paulgami says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:25pm

The art especially is nice. Aside from the physics, my main complaing would be that I found the limited energy for shapeshifting pretty punishing.

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Fun to play, but didn't see much of the theme here. The interpretation could have been better. The music and art makes up for it though, really well done!

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Very good entry. Art is really superb. Light blue gun is soooo strange... ehehehhe. Congratulations

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:42pm

I managed to get myself stuck on violet a couple of times, without any mutagen blobs or any way of getting more of the things. But as long as I didn't do that, it's a fun game!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:08am

Yummy Pixels and Pew Pew Pew. Enjoyed playing it. Nice entry!

StMatn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Nice game. The graphics look great and the sound is quite fitting. I had a hard time to get started, but when I got how to play is was really fun. Well, it was fun for some time, because the game has one major flaw! The yellow color is way(!) overpowered. I stopped playing with 12500 points, because it was no longer fun to jump into the pit at the bottom with loads of the small crawlers and mow through them. First it was fun, but basically you can't get killed, because you get healed so fast, that the enemies can't hurt you at all.
Despite that, this is a very fun game! great work!

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:36am

I found an infinite pattern but otherwise the game is pretty darn hard to me. And yes the physics was a bit annoying. The graphics and music are nice. Kid inside me tells that I must like colorful games.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:59pm

I think this has a lot of promise! With some balance tweaks and bugfixing, it'd be a really cool arcade game - I could see it working similarly to something like Super Crate Box. The different weapons were fun and unique, and I imagine the changes to mobility would be very interesting in a more polished version.

Great job with the graphics and the sound, by the way. You really captured the arcade feel.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:31am

impressiv pixel art !

batmanasb says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:15am

Aside from all the bugs/issues (improper jumping, slightly too flashy coins, no progression/replayability, no self damage (Red shooting down is OP), and no fullscreen/resizing), the core concept is legit! The core mechanic of losing life to shift, and higher risk/reward at higher stages can make a pretty fun game. In fact, a few small tweaks to this game would have easily boosted it up to my top 10. For example: scaling the enemy health points over time, this would have fixed most of the progression and balance issues and made the game last longer and be replayable. Then, things like jumping only when a raycast going down hits the ground (to fix jumping), would have made this game a 5/5 for me at least. So close! I'm looking forward to your next entry.

Tijn says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Haha, that yellow laser thing is amazing. I just kept pointing it upward from the left side of the level and was raking in the points B-)

I ended at 3531 points, that's pretty good right?

It's a cool game, despite its flaws. It's got a bit of a Super Crate Box vibe going. I love that despite everything, you submitted a very complete game with pretty nice graphics, music, sfx, varied monsters, it's all there :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]