Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Amyounition

by HacksawUnit - Compo Entry

Shapeshift into your own ammo!
----
Use the arrow keys or WASD to move.
Use the mouse to aim, and shoot using the left mouse button.
---
If you get stuck, or something doesn't seem right...
it's a glitch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Innovation4.02
#46Audio3.83
#64Graphics4.09
#93Overall3.78
#101Fun3.74
#150Mood3.46
#169Humor3.06
#666Theme3.05
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

alfie275 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:35am

Good game :P

Eggplant says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:35am

This is awesome! I was following your progress on your blog posts. I love it!

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Somehow I ended up in eggplant room from 6.5 room :D
Nice visuals! good simple sounds. I love the gun mechanic, though you have to go back and pick it up. This could be used in one of the puzzles too! sadly it ended up too early. But it looks like though you got your hands full making this game so I'll give you nice score!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15am

Nice one!

Josh Riley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51am

Really cool game. Sounds are art are on point! Think I had a bug where I shot myself out of the room in "Long".

bvisness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51am

Interesting concept, but the fact that you have to walk back and pick up the gun kind of kills it?

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52am

Good game, graphics and palette for the environment

lekiy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Great game! Very well polished. Although it is buggy, kept getting stuck and had to restart the entire game (my reccomendation would be to add check points and a reset button to at least offset the frustration of the bugginess.)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Wow! I'm extremely impressed! This is an awesome idea, and it's really well executed with a lot of polish! I found that the puzzles ramped up a little too quickly in difficulty for me, with the eggplant zone being a particularly confusing part of the game. I wasn't sure at all what the Eggplant does or how I could use it, and it didn't respawn after being destroyed.
Maybe you could leave some hints in the comments or the game description? I'd really love to come back to this a bit later and see where it all goes.

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57am

Great game. It'd be nice if the buttons had some more colors so you can see which blocks you're turning on and off.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02am

It's games like this that jams are made for. I thoroughly enjoyed the gun mechanic. I thought I was stuck at one point, but I realized I could shoot diagonal. Love the graphics. Love the gameplay. I actually super enjoy having to go back to fetch the gun again. And I really LOVE the smash attack. That's very juicy! Great job!!!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08am

Ohhh! It's so short! I really wanted to keep playing!

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

The eggplant was supposed to be an easter egg... it does nothing.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48am

A bit buggy, but otherwise fun game. Puzzles seemed a bit easy at times, and I only really had difficulty in figuring out that the purple blocks were timed. Also, the second-to-third room transition where you end up smashing a bunch of blocks on the way is really satisfying.

Also, the eggplant room was really hard, and though I eventually solved it, I do think it could do with being toned down in difficulty.

stormouse says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:18am

Good game. Transport and leave the gun is a good idea :D
Get into a bug in room 6.5
After my first shot to the green button my character disappeared..

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35am

nice game..
got stuck a lot on corners, but I guess this was intentional design

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Lovely graphics! I like the concept, but didn't get why my gun didnt fire some of the time. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/V5g1IHvqQQk

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:08pm

I liked the idea of using your body as a bullet for the gun, I wish there was more to do with that ability :) Also the music and sound design were excellent.

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Awesome!
Wish there was more to it, but overall you did an amazing job in such a short time! Love the art, wish the idea of the gun was expanded a bit more.
Ran into bugs the first two times in the 2-3rd room transition, where the last block in 2nd room wasn't destroyed so I couldn't go back to get my gun.

Wertle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Really great work on putting a game together that feels coherent in the time allotment. The sound effects were especially punchy so it made flying across the room when shot out of the gun feel really impactful. There was something about the aesthetics that kept telling my brain I was viewing things from the side instead of overhead, possibly accentuating the corners of the "walls" would have helped? not sure what exactly was causing that for me. I managed to get stuck -_- but I would be curious for you to explore this mechanic to see what interesting unique possibilities it has (i'm guessing a lot of time-based interactions?) Good job!

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36am

Sadly, I bugged into a wall. But the game is great and a loot of fun. Only thing is, when activating a button, I cannot move for a short period of time, that was annoying.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Really fun and quick game.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:41am

Really impressive for 48 hours, nice level design. Unfortunately I got stuck in the roundabout. :|
Super nice polish on this one, lots of stars, awesome work!! :D

plko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Shoot himself is really cool, and SE is so powerful. I like such this crazy style

DevDad says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:12pm

One of the best entry I've seen so far. Really polished and the way you introduce the mechanic is also well done.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:21pm

I liked the puzzles you have to go through but whenever you shoot something you drop the gun and have to go back to pick it up and on room 6.5 I turned invisible and didn't know what to do until i spawned in an eggplant room. I thought it was fun and liked the sounds and graphics!

demogorgon says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Ended up firing into a green block at the exit of room 5, and it sent me through it without my gun and no way to get back into room 6. I really liked the art and the general concept though, as well as the level design.

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:07pm

In room 6 I shot myself and was tp'ed in another romm so I got stuck :(. Otherwise cool idea, the game feel is quite nice! Except that you get stuck when you press a button, that was a bit frustrating.

paquinn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:06pm

The art was really good, especially the connected textures and lighting

barkergames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Nice use of the theme I suggested "You are your own Bullet" great work!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Lovely artwork! I love the pixel graphics. The gameplay was pretty decent, and your idea was very original!
The only problem I could find was that I managed to get stuck somewhere, and then I had to restart the game.

I also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiM2d7KlNpQ

Brightstar says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:39am

Nice!

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:39am

Good game. Didn't like the delay when pressing a button and being able to move.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]