Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeDriller Company

by psychomonster - Compo Entry

Hi there!

Hope you had a good weekend with LudumDare. Here we go!

edit: html5 version is a little bit glitch... no idea... You should take a look at the windows version... thx!

The Idea:
It is very simple. You are the boss of a drilling company drilling for colored blocks wich are super rare on earth... But you only can mine them by using the right colored drill. So you have to change your tools if needed. Avoid spider pits cause the are slowing you down and lower your income cause they are on the list of dying out animals.
There are diamonds too... get them cause the are very valuable. If your drill hits a colored block with the wrong tool mounted, your drill will be destroyed.. game over... Also missed colored blocks will damage the crane... everything else you missed will be no problem :)

Gamepad controls:
digital cross left or right for moving the drill left and right
A-Button (xbox) = green drill
B-Button (xbox) = red drill
Y-Button (xbox) = yellow drill
X-Button (xbox) = blue drill
start for pause/unpause
RB-Button = fasten the mining speed
LB-Button = slow the mining speed

Keyboard controlls
A and D for left and right movement
W and S for speedup or slowdown
up arrow = yellow drill
right arrow = red drill
down = green drill
left = blue drill
space for pause / unpause

esc for leaving the game (windows only)

Have fun playing and rating the LudumDare games. Greetings
Ben!(@technokrat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#323Humor2.60
#390Audio2.87
#404Graphics3.18
#487Innovation3.08
#601Mood2.72
#618Overall3.04
#632Theme3.10
#694Fun2.79

Comments

CodeCast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00am

Great job

Saiodin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Good graphics, neat sound. Definetly pretty hard, at 4 multipliers it got way too fast for me. I also overread that I have to clear all color blocks in a row at first. Not sure how you avoid the spider if it blocks the way between 2 color blocks since I think you can't go upwards again.

danbolt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11am

Neat idea! I liked how you were finding the right tool for the right objective. I feel like you could expand on this with Dig-Dug mechanics and it would play great. CRAb is a funny company name.

Part of me wanted to go faster to speed up the game, but when I went too fast I died quite quickly. I was a bit conflicted there. But overall, super cool!

zillix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51am

great game! it was quite fun. the trickiest rows were the one that had three different colors in them. I was able to get 655 points :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:55am

Nice work, I like the art style quite a bit. It was pretty tough. Good work!

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:47am

Was.. was that a dick drill?

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49am

Good game, I liked the style of graphics. I found it got too hard for me quite quickly though.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

oh oh i can see a dick ! but it's a dick ! lol
love pixel art ! congratulations and thanks for your comment on my profil !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:59am

Real nice, I enjoyed it :) could make a nice mobile game

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06am

Very nice concept and application. Kudos, good fun and got everything it needs for a compo job.

It's bloody hard at times though, geeesh :)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

Thx @all so far... yes the green drill is a dick :) I was so terrible tired at the last hours of dare, that it saw the first concepts of the green dill and thought, it looks like a dick... so I changed the art to a more dick looking sprite :) Thanx for rating :)

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Great concept, good graphics and music too. Good job!

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

well done

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

mommy, what's a penis? :P

Pedro120 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice game. Found it very hard when the multiplier was up but couldn't help raising it to get a higher score!

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Although I didn't really understand the game, I had fun with it! Plus, the green one looks like a penis, just saying.

Well done and good luck!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Good job. I like the graphics especially the spiders. The dong drill was a fun surprise.

Have I understood correctly that I can just dig up the spiders with no negative effect?

From a presentation standpoint I think the game would gain a lot if you wouldn't progress in a checkerboard manner. If you could instead progress the screen pixel line by pixel line and also only dig up the ground for the width of the drill, that would look terrific.

tjxx says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:31am

Simple and addicing. The pixel art was nice too!

mooncalf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02am

Has a core that I believe could be tweaked to be fun, but I didn't enjoy it as is.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:28am

Nice art, good job

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38am

@cerno_b There is a bug with the spiders... you can drill them without negative fx if you are in the same line as the spider... you only will gain a negative score!

Spud says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52am

I don't get it, I keep loosing and I don't know why

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:41am

@spud same problem as my wifes gameplay experiences ... If you missed a colored block you're game over too... also you'll die, if you hit a colored block with the wrong tool equiped :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Your DRILL A cracks me up!!! Nice work! It took me a few minutes to get the hang of it but once I did, I started to enjoy myself. I like that you had controller support! I CAN'T get the controller to work on HTML5 (on my games).

Xanjos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Pretty fun and interesting entry. Would have loved to see some rock breaking animations. Also, death conditions could be a bit more lenient (You die as soon as you miss a block which makes going at the highest speed for the big score multipliers pretty unviable for a twitchy arcade style game such as this).

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:29pm

A really solid entry; it definitely has that 'one more go' feel to it, especially once you've had a bit of practice. The controls felt very natural (I played with a controller), and I like the risk vs. reward element that comes with being able to go faster or slower. I noticed that sometimes you have to go through a spider pit to get all the coloured blocks - which isn't a big deal, but I just thought I'd point it out in case you wanted to change it in post-compo development.

Overall, very well done!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:05pm

It's a nice idea, there was a bug I found where if you hold down a and d at the same time, the digging noise went louder, good ideas though

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Quite interesting. Most of the times I've lost was regarding a bug that prevents from moving left sometimes - maybe right too, need to press the button twice to move.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Hey @endel :D You are one of thoses people where the spider did its job to stun you for a second :D

@Sir Magic: Wow the Sound bug is definitve true... Don't know where it is localted :) Thx for the advice :)

@Rulrite: Thank you so much sir!

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Really interesting and fun puzzle game! And my highscore is 165...

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:32pm

The concept is nice and good for a few relaxing minutes. The graphics do their job and are pleasant to the eye, maybe except for the tiling of the ground that on a big screen looks a bit to sqar-ish, easily adjustable with more time to make it.
Overall a good game, maybe with a secondary game loop it can get quite interesting.
P.S.: I gave an extra Mood star just for the green penis-drill. u.u

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Pleasant but a bit slow, must wait too much time

psychomonster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:17pm

yword: pretty good score :D
@Paskal007r: Thank you Sir!

TheCams says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Nice concept, the game is a bit hard but that was fun :)

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Damn hard game ! but good concept

derr says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Fun and addictive gameplay idea! Took me a while to find a multiplier I was comfortable with but then I had a ton of fun. :)

Audio and graphics are on-point, too. Great entry!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Wow, that's really nice and challenging game! I like mechanics. At start changing form by arrows seems to be bad idea, but hints on objects (animation showing correct arrow for this object) makes this a lot easier and funny.

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Found it a little tough figuring out what was going on at first - took a few refreshes to get the gist. Graphics and sound were authenticly old school! :)

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Neat concept here! It looked like the blocks were fairly randomly generated including the spiders that sorta hurt the gameplay. Some spiders were fully block a square i needed.

I think you have a good start here for a fun action puzzle game. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]