Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Facade

by euske - Compo Entry

How to play: Arrow keys...Move, Space...Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#32Fun4.00
#42Overall3.95
#51Theme4.13
#61Audio3.74
#155Innovation3.68
#164Mood3.42
#186Humor3.00
#294Graphics3.43

Comments

Jigosystems says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17am

Pretty good game, I have nothing bad to say :P

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:13pm

I really liked that, it was extremely well put together. The ending seemed a bit weak since you had a very basic platforming puzzle and then a piss-easy boss, but the previosu levels were interesting. Baiting people to fight eachother is an underutilized game mechanic that can lead to tons of entertainment and it was well executed here. Also racism is bad hooray.

Well done!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49am

Good game, I like how you employed the shape change concept.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Awesome game.. :) although sometimes it can be difficult to distinguish oneself from the allies..

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:47am

Solid entry. Audio helps the mood really well, too. I'll have to come back and play more levels for sure.

ReactorScram says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:09am

I couldn't get past the "Their battles are fierce" and I have to go to bed now.

Overall I liked it. The AI infighting is really cool, and the shapes are easy to read.

It is hard to tell sometimes which shape I am, when I'm in a formation. Also the pathfinding was iffy in some places.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:35am

Solid little title, boss was actually pretty fun, you explained the mechanics well and I had a pretty good time. Good work.

danbolt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43am

The gameplay progression was really sharp. Well-done! I appreciated that the polygons could look past their differences and save the day.

I'm happy you have the source on GitHub too. I'll be sure to check out the pathfinding code!

danbolt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:50am

よくやった!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Nice entry, I liked how everyone joined forces in the end to beat the boss :)

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:47pm

That was a fun game.

I like the little touches like "Yo!", how they attract each other, or how they can fight for themselves.

A LOT of stars from me for this one. I was a bit (positively) surprised since I first thought it was just another platformer.

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:33am

Very cool game, euske! Not just the main mechanic of setting up the different guys against each other is a lot of fun, but also the fact they greet you ("Yo!") gives it loads of character.

It's too bad the pathfinding is a bit glitchy from time to time, but otherwise it's working pretty good :)

It feels like a very complete thing, with music as well as sfx, multiple levels with a pretty good learning curve and a big boss in the end. Well done!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:18am

Nice work, I like how you make a puzzle by making characters fight each another.

Zormon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:25am

Very good concept. Level design and jump control is a little bit harsy, but for a 48hours game, its fine.

arzi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:26pm

I really like the concept, and the story was pretty nice even though it was quite simple.

It was sometimes difficult to tell apart the player and other same shapes.

madk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:58pm

My favorite entry so far. The graphics are delightful and the gameplay is perfect.

Gtron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:14am

Incredibly poignant for a 5 minute game! I like the variety of puzzles you were able to get out of a couple very simple mechanics, and once I actually figured out how the boss fight works, it was incredibly fun and incredibly meaningful.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:25am

I really liked this game :D Feels like an old MS DOS game, in a good way ;) It's very well made, didn't have any bugs or glitches at all so you did a great job!

Toonhawk says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:08am

Teaching a mechanic with gameplay instead of with text, I like that. Also adding the simple story made it more compelling to finish the game.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Cute story, but is missing some kind of epic finale. The boss was just... confusing. I never got to know why the shapes fight. Feels a bit incomplete.

The level design was nice, but I think there is space for more interesting ideas.

MikeDX says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Very cool game. really nicely done.

the31 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:22pm

A nice take on the "get along" story. The boss was strangely easy, but the game was quite fun. I liked the music too, minimalist and nice.

cppchriscpp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:23pm

I didn't participate in this one so I can't vote - just wanted to say that was really fun. The mechanic of making other things fight for you was pretty unique and I liked it.

I also wanted to say I didn't find the gameplay of the final boss hard at all - it just extended what you had been doing all along. Great compo entry!

Wan says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:19am

Excellent compo entry, the story is cool and the original mechanic is intuitive and interesting to discover. We both made similar choices for our respective entries (platformer with simple art but cool mechanic, short game with a story to fit everything together, etc.) so I can only agree with yours :)

In particular I found the art style minimal in its own way (let's call it..."16 color MSPaint art"?), and it was really well executed.

No real downsides to this entry, the only nitpick I'd have is that maybe it could have used a couple more lines in its ending to make the story more complete. Good job!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:04am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:02pm

It's sad that the starman's true form is unlike everyone else :(

I really like the isometric tiles, the background music and sound effects are low key and smooth
The final battle was a little..easy? But the rest of the puzzles were just right in my opinion.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:35pm

It has the old style. Very well designed and the story inside the game adds points to it.

Really liked how you solved the final boss platform.

dollarone says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Very nice. I like the tilted angle of the tiles. It's the perfect take on the theme, with added morality lesson. I liked changing into a different shape and running away - those are some fierce gangs!

Nice music and cool surprise with the boss and the way you beat him. Excellent.

59 Byte says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Nice. I had a good time.

methylenblub says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:28pm

really cool game! I feel like the mix of the graphics and music it's perfect

voxel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:03am

https://youtu.be/pdaANe6yHkY I liked this game but did quite poorly at it.

ashdnazg says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Finally got to give this game a good play!
As a person who's not very fond of platformers, I was happily surprised by this game. The challenge was based on thinking (how can I get these NPCs to hurt each other instead of me?) rather than execution (I didn't jump from the right pixel).
I really enjoyed the music (gj on making a special one for the boss!).
Greetings were also amusing.
Anyway, great job :)

euske says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Thank you for playing and giving nice comments, guys.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]