Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Squirm

by zenmumbler - Jam Entry

Squirm

SOUND is an integral part of this game, so turn it on. HEADPHONES recommended.
That said I will WARN here that some sounds may not be for the squeamish.

Inspired by old-school dungeon crawlers, Legend of Grimrock and more recently by the "I can't escape" NG game, here's my horror-experience walk-about.

I did not complete what I wanted but I hope you can feel the mood I was aiming for.


Tools: my own Stardazed Engine, WebGL, TypeScript.
I will put an acknowledgements page of all the assets used soon. There are a lot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#11Mood(Jam)4.32
#326Theme(Jam)3.62
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#472Innovation(Jam)3.14

Comments

Fartenko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Atmospheric and spooky, well done!

ninja00283 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49pm

my god.
just wow.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Terrifying take on not being actually able to see what's happening to yourself! I'm stuck, but I thought the concept was very clever.

PS Why isn't there a rating available for innovation?

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01pm

updated for innovation :) cheers!

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Very creepy. However, I felt like I wasn't getting quite enough direction and got lost too easily. Got stuck in a room, not sure if that was an intended end of game or not. Good entry

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:33am

Nice use of the theme. Good job!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

The game definitely sets an atmosphere, very creepy, but I kept getting eaten (I think) and nothing really happened, but the first time it scared the crabapples out of me, so good job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Cool implementation of the oldschool dungeoncrawler perspective. But I was somehow lost and didn't know what the purpose of my jorney is. I got to the room with the laughter and was not able to proceed. Is this the end?
Would be a real game with more guidance, but it is also a good impressive experience this way..

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Also for others: Yep, the room where you are trapped is the end. There would have been treasure and skeletons to indicate this but… out of time.

@nextreality: you're not getting eaten, you're shifting shape, you can move afterwards. NEED MOAR TIEM 4 dev!

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Oh god the screams every time you shapeshift, horrifying everytime. Having played quite a few of those types of NG games, I think you totally nailed the feel, especially given the time frame.

And the engine is definitely more perfomant that Unity's bloated excuse for WebGL :P

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:16pm

You do a great job at delivering the tone you wanted, and the sound effects for transformation (and movement) are very effective!

But as you keep transforming (and getting lost) the effect wears off some. A lot of walk-abouts keep things quite directed so you can keep up the pace/tension, I think.

Per says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Clever and scary :)
Awesome sound work that contributed to the atmosphere

Darenn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22pm

This cry when shapeshifting is just horible ! :p

Crosstales says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Nice and oldschool rpg-style. :-)
Well done!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:27am

very moody and atmospheric. was just waiting for something to jump out from around a corner. Liked the take on the theme. Well Done!

whitephoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Pretty awesome. The only real issue I saw was when you are a bug and look down, there's a weird patch of light to the right of the screen on the floor.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:07pm

I got sucked in by the atmosphere, but when I entered a particular room one of those silver fake walls appeared and trapped me inside; shame! Great job overall

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:32pm

LOL i left the game because I thought a jumpscare was coming GG tho.

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:47pm

took me a while to find out what the rune does (thought the movement was a bug :D).

after that i enjoyed exploring the area.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:44pm

So damn scary. You really feel the shape shifting, it actually made me squirm. Great mood!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:07pm

5 stars for mood!

muffty says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:05pm

simple but atmospheric!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Very nice game! Cool atmosphere!

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Cool grapics and atmo!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]