Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Snakoban - 倉庫蛇

by Fonserbc - Compo Entry

The snake wanted to be a warehouse keeper

Get to the green exit box

WASD or Arrows to move
Z to undo
R to reset


Made with a resolution of 64x64 pixels because of the #LowRezJam https://itch.io/jam/lowrezjam2016

Made on a pretty nice sunday afternoon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Innovation4.42
#71Overall3.86
#172Fun3.57
#309Humor2.66
#369Theme3.51
#491Graphics2.97
#504Mood2.88
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:17am

Well, tried but the strict 64x64 view made it hard. Not sure what's the goal either, I mean past the snake part.

++

lonewookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07am

​This game is great! I love the concept and the fusion of different mechanics. Simple but challenging! One suggestions, maybe use different colors? I am colorblind and it's very difficult to tell the difference between the goal block and the others unless the are right next to eachother.

subpixel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:11pm

That was super interesting to play. It's weird how intuitive the solutions were, even thought I can't quite explain what the full rules are?
Great job!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:04pm

quite interesting mechanics! the game requires some thinking to be mastered :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Interesting idea, sometimes i feel like playing randomly, but sometimes i fully understand my movements.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Brilliant idea, and the graphics go perfectly. It's one of those things you see and think "why hasn't anyone don'e that before". Great work

AnaGF says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:26am

Nice game, very original and innovative idea. I love how you made good puzzles with such simplicity!

davalcordub says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:00am

It is a very good game, challenges you to make the right decisions

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Very innovative, I love it <3
In my opinion nothing more has to be added (except some sounds maybe and the more levels the better).

torcado says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:43am

really really interesting concept! very hard to get my head around, but still managed to beat it. really cool, good job!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:38am

super neat! I made it quite a few levels!

danbolt says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:42am

This is an awesome idea! I love the two game ideas combined, plus the simple humour that comes out of it.

The up/down arrow keys seem to make me scroll on itch.io. If there's anyway to disable that on Chrome that you know of, that would be great.

Otherwise, great upload! Thanks for submitting this!

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:50am

Really innovative!

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:07am

Spectacular game! I quite enjoy puzzle games, and played this one all the way through. The mechanics were interesting and innovative, and the gameplay was challenging with meaningful strategy. 5 stars from me!

Mase says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:13am

It's innovative, but the level designs are basic; except for the final level I didn't need to move very thoughtfully.

I dig the "in engine" title & end screens.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:48am

The concept is really cool.However it is hard to foresee a solution and most of the time I finished a level without understanding truly how I did it.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Brilliant idea, very challenging sort of puzzle game. I gave up at the maze level, have no way how to solve that one.

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Very nice idea. I like those puzzle games. The mechanics are well implemented!

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This game is so good! I love how the old mechanics work with a new type of gameplay!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:39am

Really interesting idea. I got stuck a few levels in, but had fun along the way. Nice work! :)

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:11am

I find this truly one of the most creative ideas on this jam! :D

Fonserbc says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Ups, prevented the arrow keys from scrolling now!

WASD was intended as first choice to move :)

Naca says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Great mix between snake and sokoban :) It would be nice if you explicit somewhere the exact constraints for snake and box movement. I'm not sure I fully understand them, even though I solved all the puzzles.

Larzan says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Wow, this is a genius idea, difficult to wrap your head around, seems simple at first, but works well.
Well done sir :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]