Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

0-/-0

by swinestudios - Jam Entry

0-/-0, read as "Zero Does Not Equal Zero" or "Portal-no-Portal", is a game where you must navigate through levels while confined to a shape-shifting region that you control.

Controls:
Movement - WASD
Resize region - click & drag corners

Credits:
TheBlueGamer55 - Programming, Design, Sound
pigrocket - Art, Sound
jr1501 - Design
GenTel - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#63Innovation(Jam)3.92
#320Overall(Jam)3.48
#483Theme(Jam)3.42
#544Fun(Jam)3.12
#578Audio(Jam)2.70
#810Mood(Jam)2.73
#901Graphics(Jam)2.65

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

Great game! I've seen a bunch already and this is the first one that looks like a winner!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:13am

Awesome game! I think it has a greate potential so I'd like to see a full version)

B0pt1K says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42am

I really really enjoyed playing this game. The concept here is brilliant, and I would love to see a full development of this game. Playing this game is very soothing.

Efmi_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:05am

I loved that idea!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Sad that there are no music or sound. That was how it was for me at least. But that is ok.
This game was actually a nice, quicky small puzzles.

Paulgami says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:17pm

This is a neat idea that I've never seen before. Loved the "ohhhh" moment in level 2 when I grokked the point of the mechanic.

JALgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:41pm

I really like the conecpt and while I am usually not a big fan of puzzle games, I enjoyed playing this one. I noticed that sometimes, the corners did not really react well (they did not follow the cursor), but it was only mildly annoying :)

Hyve says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Very interesting, however I feel that the Mouse & Keyboard controls are a little disjointed and create gameplay still feels a little clunky, but I absolutely see why you've done with that design.

Best of luck!

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47pm

I love the game play idea, but no audio ;/. Well u got sound. And the game itself is cool.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Nice concept! Controls might get a bit frustrating but the overall sensation is good!!

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Nice to see a new and interesting mechanic! If you continue on this project I would suggest to add controls for moving a shape with the mouse, without resizing it step by step which got a bit tedious :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

This is a really cool game! I like the idea, and it definitely makes me wonder what happens if three portals are in range? anyway, great work!

GenTel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

@Blobo If three portals are in range, priority goes to the two that were first in range, and the third one remains active for pairing but not connected to anything.

-GenTel

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Very nice entry. I like the puzzles in this game. Well done!

DeltaNegative says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:56am

Really cool idea! ;)

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:37am

I love this game, the mechanic is really interesting. I wish there was more levels to chew on but it's a jam after all. The resizing of the shapeshifting region sometimes felt a little clunky but overall the game feels pretty nice. There's potential for an amazing postjam game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]