Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the RGBobots

by sol_hsa - Compo Entry

This is a less-than-one-day entry, made for ZX Spectrum 48k, an over 30 year old home computer. The web link opens in an online emulator, which is fairly good, the audio is a bit off though.

The .tap file can be used to play on actual hardware or on one of the various emulators out there.

In main menu, use keys 1, 2 or 3 to pick controls (QAOP being spectrum classic, WASD more modern, and interface-2 joystick is there too).

The goal of the game is to kill all the robots without being killed yourself. The robots come in R, G and B varieties, and red can kill blue, blue can kill green, and green can kill red. There's a cheat sheet for this on screen all the time. You can switch your own color by pressing fire (space).

It starts out rather easy but as more robots are introduced, it may get a bit hairier soon enough..

For development I used my speccy toolchain based on sdcc which can be found in my github, with my graphics conversion tool (also on github). For audio I used BeepFX player by Shiru which is free for everyone to use for whatever.

--

Due to request, I added a link to a package of a spectrum emulator for windows with the .tap file included. The emulator is not (well duh) made by me, but this may be convenient for some people. There are *A LOT* of zx spectrum emulators out there for just about every platform imaginable, so feel free to use whatever emulator you want. The package is there just for convenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#250Overall3.46
#333Innovation3.33
#345Graphics3.31
#363Mood3.06
#366Audio2.92
#385Fun3.26
#515Humor2.07
#641Theme3.08

Comments

Apr 16, 2016 @ 7:26pm

This is really interesting. I really like the progression, as when I first stared off I wasn't quite sure how the game worked, but just as I started to understand that this was a tactical game, the difficult ramped up to the point that I needed to strategize my every move to eliminate the combatants. Very well done, and although it is simple, it is very addicting. I would love for there to be a windows download at some point, as I want to keep it on hand whenever rather than going on the internet to play it.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 12:28am

I agree--addictive. Really cool aesthetic, and it works on a ZX Spectrum! Really fun! In my opinion, this is the kind of thing that could get very, very hardcore in terms of tactics/logic. Nice.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:04am

Very cool game!!! and done in just the first day-- incredible! It took me a minute to figure out what was going on but once I noticed the color Tri-Force in the bottom right, I was able to strategize! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:19am

Very fun! I really enjoy the sound effects and pixel look. Nice use of color as the main mechanic.

Xoko14 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:18am

It's simple, fun and addictive. Good job!!!!

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:08am

Just rated. Awesome. My favorite game so far for 35 :)

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02am

Man, you nailed the retro aesthetic! The visuals, sound, and theme match perfectly. Simple and easy to understand with great execution.

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02am

Really interesting enty. Forces you to think a bit more. And Retro graphics for a reason :D

I think I would've played the heck out of this game back in the olden days (though I had a C64). Nice sounds too!

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04am

You are just a hero :3
Best pixelArt is real pixel art.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04am

Nice tactical game. It would be nice if changing colour would cost you a move. The art and style of the grid is really nice.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15am

Creative mechanic, really fun to play! The art has a nice charm to it.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01am

Super impressive doing this on a ZX spectrum. It feels very authentic. Gameplay is simple but takes some thought, and it gets scary when lots of enemies are nearby.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16am

Help, how do I say this name. ARR-GEE-BOBOTS. Really though, solid game, I enjoyed it.

M2tias says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21am

I never had ZX Spectrum but I love this kind of aesthetic. Graphics and sounds fit perfectly. It just clicks with me so well. The game play seems fun at first. You have to balance going away and attacking, while switching colors... but I think the gameplay rules are a bit off. Is there any challenge? It felt to me like you can't die, if you are just a bit careful. The only challenge is to be attentive.

Tijn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18am

I'm super impressed by this entry. I can't believe it's the real thing (a real ZX Spectrum file I mean)!

The game itself is pretty good. It starts off very easy, but becomes challenging rather quickly. I always like turn-based strategy games, so a big +1 from me. And on top the graphics and audio are also very cool, so all in all I couldn't really ask for more from a LD entry.

Awesome job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40am

Nicely done for a 1-day entry. :)

mactinite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10am

I'm actually very impressed by this. It was very strategic for such a simple mechanic and the colors made it even more so. I liked it a lot. Also the platform you did this on is insane... Great job!

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:25am

Really simple concept yet incredibly interesting. Reminded me of those really old but simple and addictive games

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Great to see a ZX Spectrum entry :) ... and especially impressive that it has been made in less than one day! The graphics and audio both work really well given the limitations of the system. Good job!!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

The art (basic pixel art) and audio (lack of music and sounds that get repetitive soon) wouldn't be something to brag about. If it wasn't made for a machine that's older than me that is...
It's simply amazing how you achieved that, I guess it's only natural that it had such a retro look & feel to it. The neat little opening animation was a great addition.

The gameplay itself has a very interesting premise but I wish it was a bit more complicated. It's good to keep games as simple as needed, but this one was perhaps overdone, and I wished I could've controlled more figures like in chess/checkers kind of games.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Great game, everything fits the aesthetic perfectly. Ramps up nicely, good strategy elements.

garygreen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Great to see a Spectrum game in Ludum Dare. :-) Fun & tricky game too. Nice work.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03pm

It feels so authentic, really cool. It's like I've played that in 1982 (when I was born).

At first I was like "meh that's easy", but with level 4 or so it got an interesting tactical component. Admirable game design!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Nice entry. Very impressive for a LD game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Really cool game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

terop says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:52pm

the grid is kinda amazing, also the colours are nice..

g12345 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:10pm

This was fun, and strategic.

Very brave of you for entering LD with a working 8 bit game. That alone already means I should give a somewhat higher score than usual.

Also "8-bit retro aesthetic atmosphere".

Very little colour clash there. Oh, there's even a loading screen!

And after playing it I think I really should make a 8 bit game soon. Well done!

PS. If I would change one thing it would be the long beeping bits when a robot got killed. On higher level with many robots, waiting for all the sounds go away is a bit annoying.

euske says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:16pm

A little twist to the old robot game I used to play. It is very well made and fun. At some point it gets a bit repetitive though. It would be more challenging if changing the color costs a whole turn.

My score: 199 (at level 11)

virgate says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:38am

Nice retro style! I like the use of RGB for the shape shifting!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Love the fact you did a spectrum game, and whats more its fun to play. Great work

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Nice game for less than a day, and for an ancient computer.

madk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:04pm

You came to the wrong neighborhood, motherfuckers

http://puu.sh/oBpQJ/106a90f0ad.png

You've got a very clever gameplay mechanic, cool pixel art, and I love that it's for the ZX Spectrum.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]