Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The ShapeShifter

by S0rax - Compo Entry

The ShapeShifter is a super hero inpired by The Punisher.

You need :

Java 8

I used :

- Java
- GIMP and Inkscape (for the title)
- Boscaceoil (it's a very nice music editor)
- My brain (and my hands)

Introduction :

You are the ShapeShifter, and you can transform yourself into anvil. It's important to know that because it's the only way to kill your ennemies or to stop your run. Oh yeah, this game is a runner.

Commands :

SPACE : Jump
CTRL : Transformation

You can follow me at : @S0orax

PS : An Applet will be created soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Humor2.93
#354Mood3.07
#358Graphics3.29
#407Audio2.82
#452Theme3.38
#732Innovation2.65
#742Fun2.71
#769Overall2.82
#2061Coolness20%

Comments

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Good game, though the anvil animation doesnt kick in until you jump, allowing some people to cheat and run while anviling,good game though

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

S0rax says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:13am

It's now on your web site :)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:43am

Nice idea! The collision detection wasn't quite as precise as I would've hoped which made climbing the stairs in the second level quite frustrating, and it would be nice if I could stop being an anvil by pressing space again instead of waiting. Still, very neat!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:48pm

It seems the itch.io download link is broken

S0rax says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:04am

I tried this morning, and it work for me :/

lanestp says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:45am

I don't know it was just me but the game seemed to go impossibly fast. I liked the idea and it was nice looking. Good job!

Pilly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:07am

Great idea, definitely has potential :)

I liked the graphics and felt that the music did a good job of setting the mood. Gameplay was interesting (in a good way), but I felt like the walls were a bit too hard to avoid. Nice work.

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice idea for a runner, though the wonky hit detection on edges made it difficult to play.

rjhelms says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Interesting idea, but the shifting and collision detection seemed a bit glitchy which made the game harder than it needed to be. This could really shine with a bit more polish.

Knowledge says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Besides awful controls and really bad collision detection game is OK.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]