Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shape Show

by ChrisMingay - Compo Entry

Triangle is an integral quarter of the most happening kids TV entertainers, The Shapes.

Live recording of their Super Shape Show usually happens at 2pm, but this week it had to be rescheduled to 9am with HILARIOUS consequences! *canned laughter*

I've tested it with Edge, Firefox and Chrome. I would recommend using Chrome or Firefox as they both perform better than the Edge browser.

I really feel I should be writing more here, but I am very very tired. Yay Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Humor4.14
#77Audio3.68
#85Fun3.80
#102Mood3.63
#213Overall3.52
#257Graphics3.51
#459Innovation3.12
#683Theme3.00

Comments

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

Fun cartoonish style, great humor. The eating mini-game is way too hard!

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Nice game :D

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Great fun! Good humour and presentation.

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Awesome

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Fun game but it's really easy to die !

Mantlair says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Musics and art are cute B). Billy <3. Had fun thank you! (Yay Ludum Dare! Indeed.)

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Usage of theme was really forced, but other than that this is a great game!

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

the game is simple but it workd great, think with better graphics willb e awesome

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Very nice and humorous entry, great job!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Very funny game! It reminds me of Wario Ware. Nice work :)

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:12pm

5 stars for humor!

ThaRemo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Very nice! Most fun game I've played so far this LD.

akirassasin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39pm

...and that is why I have receding gums

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Cool game! it was fun to play :)

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Interesting take on the theme. Very funny! I enjoyed playing it. I let little Billy down unfortunately :(.

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Thank you all for the feedback, has anyone managed to get the good ending yet?

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Great game! Humorous and fun!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34pm

laughed pretty hard when i first filed to brush my teeth :D nice one

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Haha. This made me laugh a few times. Nice presentation, appreciated the eyes following the items on the kitchen level. Great audio as well!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Very WarioWareesque!

nk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:06pm

I turned up late for work like 10 times and it was awesome!

Slowian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Fun game with good humor, took me a few tries to make it to the good ending (with only 2.28 seconds to spare).

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Hahaha~ nice one <3
I'm loving the art style.

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Nice game in the style of Wario Ware, even if it was not really in the them in terms of gameplay. It's very punishing but that's OK, until I went to the mail box where I did not understand how to sort the letters. Animation is cool too!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:19pm

I LOVED THIS ONE! Super cute, I loved the narrative behind the concept. It made me smile and chuckle a bit. The art style, music and minigames all were great. I liked the touch about the ending happening on the set of a children's show. Thank you for making this!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I don't think this game fits the theme, but I really liked it any way! Graphic, music and humor: 5/5! Congrats!

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Yay Ludum Dare! pretty funny!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Really fun gameplay, reminded me of wario ware. Loved the graphics style

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Nice humor, very nice music, graphics are also nice and its great when games tell little stories :)
You did a very good job there!

Faulkin says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Hilarious indeed! A bit silly, but good fun. :)

quadtree says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:58am

Nice music! Really set the mood.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:38pm

very unique and fun~ the rhythm may a little bit high,if there are more challenge event or have more narrative ,i think it may be more cool~ haha , but i love it as it is, humor/fun game with nice audio effect ~ well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]