Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

From Near to Far

by Joror - Jam Entry

You are 'BLB Mostly Harmless' - a blob away from home for his first adventure!

In only one month you got to earn $$ to impress your parents & siblings.

-Controls-

Ship parts & cargo:
Left mouse btn: Drag to move
Left mouse btn: Click & drag to buy
Right mouse btn: Drag to rotate

Add / remove gas:
Left mouse btn: Drag gas to add
Right mouse btn: Drag gas to remove

-Tips-

- Max body size is determined by your "Nuculus" score
- Earn credits by shipping cargo
- Each jump costs 'Jump time' days
- You can only jump if you have Speed
- More valuable cargo = more enemies
- 'Threat' scares away some enemies

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#171Innovation(Jam)3.61
#257Humor(Jam)3.07
#392Audio(Jam)3.16
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#469Mood(Jam)3.19
#512Graphics(Jam)3.39
#693Fun(Jam)2.94
#838Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

OrangePop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08am

I couldn't jump after getting to the rad station. Game looks nice though.

Joror says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Ack, had a buggy version uploaded. Fixed so you can actually go back & forth.

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:58am

The tutorial said to jump. So I thought I was supposed to without adding anything to my cloud.

The pirates stole my nuculus at Jump Point 1. I wasn't sure how to defend myself. Then nothing happened so I restarted.

Music is good

I like being able to add to my cloud. I wasn't sure why I couldn't add some add-ons. Later I assume it's the price. The game should pop up something to let me know why I can't do what I wish.

I guess I got a bit frustrated because I wanted to add a turret and I couldn't afford it. So I get attacked by the pirates every time and then nothing happens. I don't know why.

The game looks very well made and even polished but I have no idea how to play.

rburema says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:04am

Heyhey,

(I already scored your game last week, but I at least owe you a comment as well.)

First, thanks for the support & fun during the gChat we set up last week. It helped keeping the spirit alive :-)

@PickeledBrain: I got the first pirate to bug-off when I kept blocking their access to my cargo with my eye. That didn't work when two pirates showed up the next jump, but still.

On the one hand, I know what hard work implementing these kind of physics are, but on the other; I spend about ten minutes picking up my first cargo, since at first I couldn't figure out how to control the little jello-monster. Still good on you for even trying this sort of thing & still have some time left over to make some pretty nice art. [ And humorous ... although how much anyone who isn't Dutch will understand of that isn't clear ;-) ]

grt,
Remco.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:25am

Brilliant. The ship is so cute and little thinks like the blinking when you click just make it feel alive. I also really liked the combat. Great work

Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:46am

What a cute little ship! I really like how subtly you weaved the shapeshift theme into this game, and I also think it's a pretty creative piece of gameplay. The difficulty really ramps up quickly if you go for lots of quick jumps, though, and I found the later missions were just me getting torn apart by drones. Still, I managed to get the 5 stars on my second attempt, so I guess it worked out fine.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:03am

Why is the ship cute? It's a green blob with yes. WHY IS IT SO CUTE?! :D Good job!

Marc F. says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Very fun game. The wording of "Jump" is a bit unfortunate, but made sense once a little time was invested. Cute BG music, neat graphics, fun game play, solid entry!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Very fun an complex game! Looks nice as well :)

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Very nice concept! although it takes more than a while to understand how it works, I mean apart from the merchant mechanic and the space to carry the items. The information on top that says "threat" "mass" "thurst" "jump time" or even the "jump" itself, we know the meaning thanks to sci-fi, but takes trial and error to understand how and when does that information matter and what it affects.
Hope that helps, I'm sure that if you give a strong tutorial after the LD it would make for a great browser game.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Great concept and take on the theme. Audio, art and gameplay really mesh well together.

Spiria says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:31am

Love the originality of this game and yes the blob is very cute. The gameplay is less cute apart from the physics which is awesome. Almost everything in the game is not self-explanatory even though I can see there are many interesting concepts. The help is cryptic. I did make it back to the station with one crate but got no credits for it which ended my privateer career. Btw, I managed to lose the eyeball on the first outing when I inadvertently flung it out of bounds.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Great mechanics, a little rough and not self explanatory, but fun. I could not get the removal of clouds working, so I had to stick with the ones I added. Great minimalistic audio!

tomlum says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Very very cool. Adding the sort of jiggly physics to a space/ship building game was very cool. Also the music and visuals are top notch.

in3orn says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Nice game. It was hard to me to get all the rules at first, but when I realized I can smash my opponents by moving own the fun has started. It's sometimes hard to put the boxes in the right place. But maybe it's only my little nicety :) Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]