Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Vikings

by timtipgames - Compo Entry

Vikings honor the order of war. Only one Viking will fight another Viking at any given time.
Norse rituals are used by at least 5 Vikings to shapeshift into even more dangerous warriors.
An evil rebellion viking tribe tries to overrun your village.
Manage your forces wisely to survive.
Odin knows, balancing is hard to do.

For the gods to hear your prayers you need Java 1.8.

Changelog
Fixed a bug where shapeshifting failed most of the time and shapeshifted warriors couldn't be attacked, making it impossible to win the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#93Overall3.78
#137Fun3.63
#161Humor3.09
#244Audio3.19
#265Mood3.23
#313Innovation3.37
#358Theme3.52
#400Graphics3.19

Comments

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29am

Seems to be a bug where my viking's don't attack the big enemies. Also, I ended up with too many of my own guys fairly quickly. Controls work well, and the perspective makes sense for planning battle.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Createt a huge viking half of the screen, nice cool idea some ranged enemys and vikings would be nice.

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

This was really fun, the idea is good. i would be good if you could see which transformation level you will get. I like the trees.

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

A pretty solid game, I found no bugs and i twas pretty entertaining! A few varied enemies would be nice, but otherwise great job!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Amazing game !!! read the instructions, don't skip them ;)

seizeTheDia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Can the little guys damage the giants? I had fun! Would love to see some sort of UI to know how long before my troops shift to giant mode. I liked discovering how many troops = giant's size. Fun concept, good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

nice to see an rts in ludum dare. It was a little easy but I still really enjoyed playing it. One minor adjustment - higher contrast on the health bars would make them easier to see.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:01pm

I really like the genre, very good idea.

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:15pm

really cool, played it for quite a while

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Fun little game :D

Faulkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Really nice! Played through a couple of times and quite enjoyed it.

Diman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:57pm

I love this strategy game!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:11pm

I saved my village! Barely. It was just a matter of time as two giants were fast approaching to my wall.

What I like:
Difficulty curve. It moves up gradually until it hits hard mode on Level 20 or so.
Graphics. The cute style matches well with the game and reminds me of Warcraft a bit.
Music. Sound effects were good but the music is better. It goes well with the forest background, too.
Fun. I had a great time with the game and I'd play it again if a post compo version with more stuff ever gets made.

What I dislike:
Not much. I haven't played it enough to test if there's imbalance between large and small vikings, but I'll try to go with a "small but plenty" tactic on my next play. Only after that I can judge if the "only one viking to fight with another" can be exploited.

Overall: This is a solid game. 5 stars imo. And this is not because you reviewed my game with care, this is because Vikings is really a good game. :)

uprightpath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27am

I was unable to run; please include the required version of Java (As in which it was coded for.)

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31am

Moved a little slow, but still a pretty decent entry. Good job

ogre says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:40am

Pretty cool ideas. Hard to tell what's going on though. Progress bars would be nice. Couldn't figure out how to use the whirlwind(?) though now that I'm saying that, it was probably the 1 key. It looks like a button and I wanted to just click on it.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:39am

Very enjoyable game that ran flawlessly.

The audio worked nicely eluding to little fights taking place all over the map. The ritual sign was a great thematic way to do the summoning without clogging up the screen with excessive UI.

The background music was very nice but I feel it was a bit too laid back for the intense action that was taking place on my screen.

Great job!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:20pm

I had an good time saving my village! Well done and fun mechanic on this one. Make a gigantic viking, one as large as the gods!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]