Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blockfall

by xandy - Compo Entry

Try to stay alive for as long as you can. Jump from platform to platform and match their shape to stand on them. Avoid the upper and lower border and on later levels the flying death blocks.
Controls:
a/d: left/right
w: (double) jump
space: switch shape

If you have performance issues with the html5 version give the native versions a try.
This is my first game with the defold engine so the source is not effective or idiomatic.

the web version might be a bit blury as it is down scaled to fit in the widget on this page.

last but not least, post your high scores with your feedback and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#268Theme3.67
#381Innovation3.23
#385Fun3.26
#387Overall3.30
#767Graphics2.44
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05am

Brutally hard, and no sound! Besides that, it's a really promising game.

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:38am

@VividRedemption sorry, development switch to jump to the hardest level immediately was set, should be fixed now and have a gradually increasing difficulty level

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:25am

really hard, especially for AZERTY keyboards ! but really into the theme !

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:29am

@EpiFouloux oh, i will add arrow key controls later today!

crucknuk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:34am

Cool concept but you need to make the platform coming from under you to drag you up even if you are already on a platform, right there is some collisions glitch that can lock you inside a platform and thats pretty frustrating in middle of action ^^

Overall fun and challenging game :)

tanis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Simple but polished and rock-solid in its gameplay. It's really fun and challenging to play. Nice one!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:35pm

The game has some nice graphics and weight to it, i like the way the block sinks when it hits the bottom. The control scheme I feel could use s few more options. I felt that the A and D were a little awkward for me in comparison to the arrow keys, maybe make that an available option? other than that, I like the concept of it and it fits well to the theme!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Brutally difficult, but a fun concept. The web version worked perfectly for me. Good work! :)

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Cute idea. Sort of like the eternal climbers/fallers with phase shifting. Nice.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:32pm

This baby fries my brain, in a good way. Sound of some sort would enhance the experience by a lot. cheers!

dj_pale says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Little bit floaty controls, original idea

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Really quite frustrating. Getting stuck in platforms, warping throuhg (I know about the mechanic, this was seperate from that), and not being able to switch forms in both directions really took away from the experience. Only two forms may have been better, and platforms moving faster, at the same speed relative to each other could have made the game much more fluid and enjoyable. Solid idea.

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:15am

Very good game.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:21am

Cool idea, the controls felt a little slippery for my taste, and at least once a new platform didn't appear until I was almost touching the top, but it was an enjoyable mechanic. Wish there was some sound! Good work overall!

BitDare says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

I love the simplicity but the challenge. It was a fun play.

purrpurr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:54am

Being actually good at this should be on one's cv.. I really like how this changes the idea of an otherwise boring type of game upon this point.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:13am

Fun game. I honestly kept messing up and switching early causing me to fall to my death. Learning what the shape order is would probably of helped me.

Geti says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:28am

Actually pretty fun! Would have preferred slightly different controls (arrows + zx/xc/cv or something as an option would have been nice - something about jumping with W and changing with space rubbed me the wrong way a bit) but the difficulty was nice, i liked the mounting pressure to jump as you got higher and higher.

Could have used particles, sound, and maybe more stuff to dodge (killer stuff from the sides maybe?) but it was pretty sweet.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:49am

The controls could use some tightening up. Whenever I had to step off the edge of my platform I felt really out of control. It wasn't too bad when I could change and fall through, though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37am

WOW hard! I believe adding some good music it could be much better

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:55am

Neat game idea! nice job there! Feels like a vertical version of other games i've played. Well executed.

docteurSid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:30am

Amazing game ! But I'm sad that there is no music !

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:49am

I liked the concept and the challenge. Had to read the description to understand the double jump feature - which is essential to make it pretty fun.

Maybe some background animation would help to know which direction the player and the bars are moving.

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Fun little game! But I miss some music.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Pretty fun, good concept but it might be a bit too hard.

joekinley says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Well arrow keys would have been great.
But it was a nice little, but totally tough game. Especially as i kept changing shape before jumping, and promptly landing to my deathly demise. Had fun, good job.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:06pm

update your description to say that right is the "d" key... i spent a dumb amount of time thinking "I can't move right"

Pretty difficult with the player speed, and audio would be a great thing to add.

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Nice challenging game.

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:40pm

A bit too random with the platforms. I got into situations where it's all generic platforms by the dozen until you can fit to fall anymore. I like the idea, but would need some tuning.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:51pm

No performance issues with the html5 version. I like the core mechanic and I'd love to see this expanded upon. Maybe I'd have changed the shape of the main character, not just the texture. As it is I found it slightly hard to immediately determine which shape I was; maybe it's because I'm slightly colorblind.

AuthorX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Felt a bit odd when a regular platform rose up through the one I was sitting on and didn't take me with it, not sure if that's always the case or because I was sitting on a shape platform.

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

It's a little bit hard for me, but I like this idea. Good job!

syst3m_ERROR says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Super challenging! And tons of fun, the shapeshifting mechanic was super innovative

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Very fun gameplay, with some music, improved graphics and levels/difficulty, this would be a perfect game!

btrotter101 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Neat game, but very hard. Fun enough to keep trying, though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I miss the music but the idea of the game is great! Nice job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:13pm

There seems to be a bug where I could stand on any shape. And there are glitches when you're standing on one platform and another platform catches up with it.

webadev says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Hard, not really beautiful, no sound, but original ! Like it !

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:38pm

GG

nyaki says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Fun and addictive.
Would be a good mobile title with a bit of smoother control.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Well done. Nice idea well implemented. Some sound and graphical effects would have made it a really fantastic game. But it already very good. I liked to play it.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Really nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]