Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Boxey

by ShadowBrain - Jam Entry

Boxey!
Boxey is a VR-ONLY HTC Vive game, you need an HTC Vive to be able to play it.

It's pretty self explanatory, go in there and ship some boxes! :D
(You throw things into the truck, then close the truck when it's full so you get some sweet casheesh.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Innovation(Jam)3.84
#122Humor(Jam)3.50
#175Fun(Jam)3.58
#265Mood(Jam)3.47
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#315Graphics(Jam)3.74
#592Theme(Jam)3.29
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Awesome little game! Good to see VR is a thing even in Ludum Dare. Keep up the good work!

fuzzywobs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Very impressive, polished and fun mini-game.

Firstly the whole aspect of shipping VR headsets, within a VR headset, while there is a real world shortage and delay of VR headsets is a perfect fitting and fits the themed fantastically. Great humor.

Even the little things like the 3rd person camera for spectating on a PC or just watching yourself (and checking out the cool modelling and 3D heart!) in VR are neat touches. As is the box deformation if thrown too hard, which affects the money made on each delivery.

Music fits with the robotic nature of the protagonist.

Controls and game-play are simple, intuitive and most importantly fun.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16pm

htc vive might be tad bit of a niche as of yet.. =) I hope you'll get your ratings.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Unfortunely I cant play it without HTC :C

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:00pm

My mailman fantasies are becoming a reality.
I like how the boxes crumple.

kvanderlaag says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Surprisingly polished for a one-man LD entry. So meta. Much VR. Wow.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51pm

What was the actual shapeshift in this? Good Vive demo tho

ShadowBrain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32pm

@Arvydas A box is a shape right?
And you shift boxes into the trucks.
:D
(Far fetched I know.)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:01am

I cant play it without HTC Vive, but good work!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:46am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Fun little game. Nice to see some VR in LD35.

I like the idea of shipping headsets. It wasn't quite as self explanitory as you would have liked as the game gave no feedback as put boxes in the truck regardless of whether they were good or not.

Once I realised you could pull the shutter on the truck (which felt great!) I got the hang of it.

The one word of caution is to not assume the type of room height a player has got. I actually pressed my controller in the ceiling for the really tall truck shutter.

It really picked up there towards the end though. Fun!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:58pm

I'd like to reiterate above comments about the humor and "metaness" of this game. Good work and very well polished. I found the game simple enough to figure out without more instructions, thought the in-game desktop preview screen to be nice. The music was fun, but while the game didn't really give me an issue orienting myself, a hum on the conveyor belt could help anchor my position a bit better.

I played this twice and still have no idea how the score is tallied, I'd guess it's by count and damage to boxes. Maybe if the truck left behind a manifest (or something) you could pickup and read breaking down the score it would help teach the player (they could then ignore future breakdowns or read them all to see how they compare).

All in all, great game and good work. I particularly liked being buried in boxes while I had trouble keeping up.

PS. I guess I could see the boxes "translated" onto a truck, and bent when smashed... but it's not a great use of the them. :(

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:12pm

I love the feeling of it! Very pleasing to toss boxes around. I had troubles because of my very limited play area (my computer desk is exactly at the end of the conveyor belt... so I kept hitting my hands against an invisible wall while trying to pick up boxes that fell) but that added to the feeling of growing chaos. Fun!

TTLabs says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 1:34am

Lots of fun! I love the consistency of the art style, and the custom controller. And great interaction system! I wasn't sure if I was throwing objects into the right area, maybe a bit more player feedback regarding that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]