Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Arnold Stallion's Pump or Die

by arzi - Jam Entry

Arnold Stallion is in trouble! His precious protein supplements have been stolen by some thugs!

Embark on a epic quest through picturesque Osaka (no actual connection) to recover your most valuable possessions!

Genre: Beat 'em up

Arrows/WASD - Move
Left Control / x - Punch / Special
Left Alt / c - Kick
Left Shift / z - Pump

Also works with an XBox360 controller (although only tested on OSX).

arzi / toikkis / timotheus

Music from:

Keywords: HTML5, Unity, OSX, Linux

Edit: Added alternative controls since current ones made it nearly unplayble on Windows.

Downloads and Links




sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01am

I loved the artstyle and the touch of humour!
I would have loved being able to kick asses in that kawai form as well. :P

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21am

Sometimes the game won't load for me (Unity tries to allocate too much browser memory), sometimes it just takes a lot of time (Win7/Firefox)

When it works, it's great though. The theme is spectacular.
Using Alt for Kicking in a browser game is a bad idea though as Alt activates the menu bar in Firefox.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

As keys, z/x/c would probably work better for a webgl export. Really funny, too bad it's so short :/

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Nice graphics, gameplay worked, enjoyed flexing a lot!

Not sure about your alt control scheme though, z/x/c is right under WASD and a bit of a nightmare to use (big hands).

Would flex again!

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:56pm

This was a memorable entry, so hilarious.
5 Stars mood, really loved the happy and active mood,
5 stars in Humor with those poses, specially the ass stretchs that was hilarious! XD

I must say the music was an awesome pick, although I was so sad when I reallized it wasn't yours. Also the end was abrupt. Good job overall, amazing training!

For a more GRIMM show come visit our Entry!

Bacontree says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I liked this more than I thought I would. The Power Buff Girl was a bit overpowered in my opinion, but all in all great gameplay!

pss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Oh man, this is awesome. Lovely art and great sense of humor. Brb, gotta hit the gym

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

AMAZING ENTRY! cool graphics, original and fun to play, just few details like walking over the scenery and the enemies are sometimes kinda shaky, but still being amazing and pretty cool to play! (nice humor touch too)

jdmazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Very funny! It was a bit fun to play, too. It would have been much more so if it had just a few more moves.

nikev says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Great looking game, looks just like River City Ransom :) The alt and ctrl button controls a little frustrating.

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I have a controller plugged in, yay!

Worked fine, great graphics, v. kawaii

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38am

Awesome game! I shouldn't have been surprised to see Chuck Norris the main villain of a fighting game, but I was.

fprawn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01am

Best game I've played yet, loved the art and well, everything else.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:59am

suuuper funny entry, great job

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08am

This game was hilarious! I loved the humor and the music!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15am

Haha, funniest game I've played from the jam so far! Great work!

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34am

A homage to the 80's? A satire? Both? Nevertheless, hilarious game, and a fun one too. I like the references and the overall River City Ransom feel.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:42am

LOL! Really funny game. Lovely humor. "Osaka Pubric B-tch". Arnold would be proud.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13am

I love the poses and the premise. Reached the end of the world pretty quickly though.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:39am

What a fun silly game! Wish it had controller support. Nice work!

Husky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:47am

This is really hilarious lol!.

Malvern says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:52am

I love the River City Ransom style graphics and that great music (though it is rather loud in my opinion). Combined with the humor, the game had a really bouncy, bright atmosphere.

Where this kind of falls short for me is the gameplay, specifically the button mashing aspect of gaining power. It felt a little tacked on to me.

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:14am

very funny and innovative take on the theme and an unexpected genre! had fun playing.

xclementx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:53am

Very fun !

hregrin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18am

I'm in love with this game.

Fatsheep says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Super fun to play, loved the pink dress. but its really unrealistic, you can actually kill Chuck Norris (if that was the boss in the end) This would never happen in real life, everyone knows this.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Great entry, how we could not like this as great fans of River City Ransom and humor in general! Love the theme, the humor and the variety of settings, a really solid piece for a ludum dare. Congratulations!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Hahahahaha! Broheim game! This was hilarious to play and fun! haha good work!

simex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Would flex again, but if you used unity you maybe you could have taken the time to work a little bit more on the sorting layers, because I was about the quit the game and the end of the beach level since I didn't realize that I walk down to an exit a first, but then again maybe I'm just an idiot

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Wow, quality game! Looks good (in both shapes ;)) ) and had a good laugh.

Kudanaman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Great game with tons of humor, shame that its so short :)

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Silly and funny game in the style of Kunio-kun series, I liked it. I didn't like to see unity's skybox in the end, though

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Fun game with nice art & mood. Not the best layout for controls but they work well and do exactly what they should. The signs & feedbacks really work and I instantly understood what the "girl power" did from the pose.

The passage to get out of the beach was a bit hard to see though.

GaryS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Liked the graphics, and the humour. Didn't really feel that there was much skill involved in attacking the enemies though, whether I got a hit on them or they on me felt a little random.
Still, good fun.

vini60 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

Nice fun game, art and music. Great submit.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54am

I love the retro style graphics! Very cool.

endel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:40am

Nice graphics and atmosphere. Congrats!

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:47am

It's nice concept, but I think spamming the left shift button is a bad idea.

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Nice graphics, very River City Ransom :D Loved the poses and the humor :D

Only thing that took me a while was to figure out what the girl-mode does, but once I did, it was very funny too :)

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Good game! Very much fun!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:02pm

very nice river city ransom looking art, and quite fun to play. was a little concerned at the start since i got to the end of the first level and could see the unity skybox, and was thinking there was only one level, but then the next finally loaded.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Fantastic! So much fun,would have loved to keep on playing

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Pretty good fun. Nice work on the sprites. No idea how to fight the boss though!

denycetm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Fighting in the powered up form would have been awesome. I got the little heart stomp thing just took me a second to figure it out.

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Interesting gameplay and good graphics, although the controls could be improved.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Good game just needed more game feel. =]

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:58pm

I love the theme, the audio and the graphics! I laughed hard!
Gameplay is good too, though I think the kawaii form shouldn't have a cast time for using its ability (that does not mean you should quit the casting animation, that animation is awesome)
Just an opinion, but I had a really fun time, good job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I understand this guy's not the most popular guy in town...

I like the retro style and the graphics. (The music too, but that's not yours apparently.) It's funny with the bodybuilder theme, although I don't think it connects to the shapeshifting theme very well (it would if you actually changed shape).

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:24pm

This is really awesome. The heart attack was super effective. Nice take on the theme.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:33pm

That was pretty great!

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35pm

I laughed so hard :D! Nice graphics!

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Lovely little game! It was quite funny! The "floating" movement felt a bit off. But, something a lot of people fail at with this style, are the attack collisions. You did a nice job with those! The music was nice too, not too over the top, or subtle. Also, sometime the foreground would become the ground, and I could walk over cherry blossoms, etc. Over all, nice work! :)

neontropics says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:14am

Nice humour! Gameplay is cool and a good start - it would be very interesting if the "Get in shape" thing was quicker so you'd use it more in actual fights, I mostly used it before fights now.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Hehe Great Idea! Fuarkk!!!

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:02pm

You got me until the final "ありがとう"! Excellent, the woman pose is excellent, I loved it! Nice works!

urfbound says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Fantastic art style and music! Loved the high quality and varied animation. Only graphical suggestion I would make would be to add layers - some graphics (e.g. the exit gate on level 1) render underneath the player which can be confusing.

I liked the shapeshifting ability and how you charge it, the special forms were pretty funny to me, and again the powers were animated really well.

I like the beat-em-up style, the only comments I would make here would be to tighten up the controls (the player/enemies seemed to have too much inertia and so felt slippery) and hitboxes (which i felt were a little out of whack making it feel like it was easier for me to get hit than to hit back). As for the enemy AI, i noticed that if you stand directly above or below them they can never hit you, since they just walk toward you they will never get on the same y-level. Maybe they should keep their distance in the x until they're level with you in the y?

Overall a fantastic and remarkably polished entry. Would definitely play again and I could see this making its way to a full-length publishable game pretty easily. Great work and thanks for your entry! I had fun playing it and hope you had a good time making it!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:56pm

The art was perfect and the game made me lol multiple times! Excellent job

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:52am

"Osaka pubric bitch" says it all :D
The character models, the pointy nipples, the cheesy music - this was pure gold!

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Really funny and nice way of using theme.

tomlum says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:51am

Beautiful game. Mechanics could use a little bit of balancing but this is one of the most cohesive games I've played in the jam, everything just felt like it belonged.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Great humor! Great graphics! Great game!

ZeroFaction says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:05am

Love the Double Dragon style of animation and gameplay.

Anti says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:10am

Really loved this entry. My only complaint would be the slow camera and the keyboard mapping. Otherwise great work!

joemid says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:50am

Love the humor, graphical style. The gameplay was a bit touchy, and there are some bad guy follow glitches- other than that- it took me a moment to figure out how to truly pump up, but after I did- I spread the love!

trulyvile says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:09pm

I loved the graphics, very cute looking overall. Using "shift" as the shapeshift key was sort of funny, I dunno if the pun was intentional, but. For a web game a lot of the key input was unfortunate. Alt paused the game for me (Chrome), and I think staying away from shift as a button input, ESPECIALLY one that requires repeated tapping, would be wise because of sticky keys.

May 6, 2016 @ 1:45pm


euske says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:56am

Drugs are bad, mmkay.

dollarone says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:17am

Love the graphics. Very double dragon. The gameplay kinda got easy when I realised I could spam the power puff move, but still fun to kick some ass. The humour and meta-comments were amazing. Very well done!

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]