Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Changelings

by aeai - Compo Entry

The changelings are migrating! Help them reach the end of the level to win. Instruct them to shapeshift to other forms to pass obstacles. If you ever played Lemmings you will know what to do:)

########## Instructions ################

- Controls with the mouse, you can use space for pause.
- If enough changeling make it to the end of the level(orange hallway like thingy), you win!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Graphics3.56
#304Fun3.36
#313Overall3.38
#392Mood3.03
#445Theme3.39
#767Innovation2.59
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Nice looking game, the controls are very difficult, but once you get used the game become great.

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:34pm

It took some time to understand the controlls, but it's definitely a good game! Well done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

lemmings - thats was great - loved the use of theme - great job

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:21am

yeah - lemmings - awesome game - loved the retro use of the theme - great job

nyaki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

Nice lemmings clone, with pixel graphics.
It's very challenging tho. :P

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Lemmings man! :) Great game, good execution. Well done.

egos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

good idea the lemming concept for the theme

ThommazK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Tried to run it on web, but the character sprites would not load. I thought I might give you the heads up. :)

MementoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Lemmings! Took me back to my childhood.
Great art and nice entry, keep it up!

Llucile says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00am

I didn't get the control straight away, but once I did they seemed obvious. I think the first level was a bit difficult but the game was really nice ! :D

zwrawr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:14am

A nice Lemmings clone , a speed up button and level reset would be nice. I like the art and its nice and hard

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:24am

The web version isn't working for me. Level loads, but no changelings are ever seen.

aeai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:02am

Hi guys, thank you all the feedback! It seems like the game web version have some compatibility problems with some browsers(i tried it in both Firefox and Chrome and it worked fine), please if the Changelings don't spawn for you tell me what kind of browser you use. In the meanwhile if the web version not working you always can try the standalone one:) Thanks:)

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Lemmiiiiiingsss!!!! :):) I loved that game! Kudos for making this in a compo edition! Good job!

My only complaint is that in my explorer tab it says LD33 instead of 35 :P

Keep up the good work ;)

robb_blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Cool game and graphs! At the beggining is quite difficult to know how to use the controls. I think that it could be great with some music and sound effects!!

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:53am

The BRIDGE idea is totaly awesome!!!

SengiG says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:54am

People reporting that something is wrong with the web version, dunno, for me everything goes well. Back to the game- it's great and fresh, love seeing people keep experimentation with uncommon mechanics. Thumbs up from me here. =)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Nice one! Graphics are fun and the levels were challenging. A little too hard to control though. Would have liked the actions mapped to keys, and a reset button.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Cool. A derivative of lemmings but still appropriate for the theme (woulda read better for the theme if the blobs actually had a sprite change)

needed more levels and a "speed up" power for once the puzzle is solved.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:16pm

The first thing I thought when I saw the screenshots was "Lemmings!", so you definitely get points for the graphics. Such an obvious use of the theme that I can't believe you're the only one I've seen to do it! I had a lot of fun with this, but got completely stuck on the tree level because I ran out of stoppers. Would have been great to have some sound which evoked Lemmings in the same way as the graphics, but I imagine with all the work this must have taken you just ran out of time. Really good work! :)

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Fun game! nice interpretation of the theme. Add some sound, a reset button and a level selection menu and it could be a complete game. I enjoyed the strategy element.

Somnium says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:58am

A fun take on the classical Lemmings! The pixel art is really nice.

As has been mentioned by others, a "mass bomb" button (or just a level reset) would be a nice convenience addition :)

Foxarya says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Nice Lemmings like game!

LinealGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Didn't understand the controls for a little bit but a cool and different concept

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Web version didn't work for me. Java was fine. Fun game and Quite enjoyed it. Certainly echos Lemmings on the Amiga. Thanks.

FurtherForm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Old good lemmings. Love the graphics, expect the font. Controls are hard, using laptop keyboard it takes a while to the button and then to the changelings. Do the buttons have keyboard shortcuts? Bit frustrating. But after you get it, it works but really have to be careful not to mess up.

esayitch says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Very cool entry, loved the lemmings-like mechanics and how you adapted them to the theme. Graphics were good, and I'm kinda sad there was no sound :(

Solid entry, good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]