Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty

by PickledBrain - Jam Entry

It's a lovely day in the park...to steal stuff.

A simple thief sim with the ability to shape-shift into another. Steal money and don't get caught.

Be warned there will be bugs :P The cops can see a little farther than is shown. Also I didn't make the awesome art. These are from Simple People from the Unity Asset Store.

Thanks for playing!

Controls:
WASD or Arrows for Movement

Made with:
Unity5
Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Innovation(Jam)3.67
#153Overall(Jam)3.71
#155Fun(Jam)3.62
#171Humor(Jam)3.35
#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#293Mood(Jam)3.43
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

Pretty original and well implemented!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11am

Cute idea! I love how the wanted poster popped up.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:53am

Very cool idea and game, shame there is no sound.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:55am

Original gameplay, its good idea for LEGO)))

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05am

I love how the cops run up to distressed citizens and change the Wanted poster to show you that you need to take a new form. I understood what was happening there right away the first time it happened, and that was great.

Really, this is a pretty good game. My only real complaints are 1.) the lack of sound, 2.) the fact that zones of vision aren't very inaccurate, 3.) the fact that the the buttons actually only click when you click the left side (including the Retry button!) and 4.) I suck at this game! My high score's $800, which feels really low.

The way I keep trying shows you did something right, though. Good job!

I think if I were going to expand on this, I would add some features like making it so you can't pick the same person twice within a certain time, and you get less money from people you've picked before. Also, I'd make it so you get more money from risky picks, like picks where people or cops are nearby. As it stands, there's no real pressure on me to go for risky scores beyond my impatience. So many games, so little time...

I had the same problem with another stealth game today, actually. That and the sound thing. Sound is ridiculously important to stealth games.

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45am

Le_Saurs - Totally. It needs sound.
thegoofromspace - Thank you for all the ideas. And I completely agree with your critique. I wanted to make custom meshes that would be 100% accurate instead of eye-balled textures but I ran out of time. I'm encouraged you liked it.

Thanks guys for playing :D

imit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30am

I liked it very much, hope you could develop it further :)

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:36am

Neat idea, totally has a potential for something bigger. Would love to see more features and levels. Also sound :) Keep up the good work!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Really neat concept. Needs sounds! Would be funny to pickpocket the cop just for the lolz. Good work though! Should have a graphics rate.

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:25am

apart from the missing sound, i've liked everything in the game. The concept is really interesting and needs to be continued has a finished and full game

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:34am

Cool game-idea for a nice casual game.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Awesome low poly Graphics!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Hi, nice game ! hahahahah the charas are like minecraft XD. We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

paquinn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Really liked the art style

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:09am

Nice take on the theme, solid art and concept. Those pedestrians were rich!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:33pm

neat little stealth game, well done. Maybe you should could run.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]