Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Research Lab

by SaintHeiser - Jam Entry

You are a cleaner in Shape Research Lab.
But after emergency situation you started to shift your forms. Each form grants special abilities.
You should escape from the lab using them to control a CLEANER DEVICE.
Every room will be unlocked only after it is cleaned from animal shapes.

CONTROLS:
MOUSE ONLY!

Walk with RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON
Use ability with LEFT MOUSE BUTTON
Esc - go to main menu.

Your form is changing every 5 seconds. But you can increase this time by collecting bonuses.
Use abilities to PUSH your CLEANER DEVICE. It changes color after contacting special platforms.
Touch an animal with needed color to clean it!

WATCH OUT! If you are the same color with your CLEANER DEVICE, it will clean YOU!

Made by:
Saint Heiser
Tatiana Sherbul
Andrey Stadnik

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#40Innovation(Jam)4.08
#61Theme(Jam)4.08
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#77Overall(Jam)3.92
#81Mood(Jam)3.91
#158Audio(Jam)3.65
#313Humor(Jam)2.93
#365Fun(Jam)3.33

Comments

kivlor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:16pm

you forgot to add download/play links

sherbul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Hey!
I'm Tatiana Sherbul.
Here is the Windows download link:
files.digital-synthesis.com/ludum35/ShapeResearchLab.zip

Have fun :)

sherbul says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31pm

http://files.digital-synthesis.com/ludum35/ShapeResearchLab.zip

mokujin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Good idea, awesome visual effects, but I stoped playing at second level after several "one shot" deaths from being smashed by "device". I think device size and hitbox should be be tuned a bit. Overall it's pretty good entry! Good luck :)

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Awesome graphics and gameplay.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Wow, that is pretty solid game wih awesome art! Good connection with theme too. As for me, it's hard to play, probably because of controls. Traditional WASD scheme would work better in this game, IMO.

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:07am

Absolutely stunning. Ridiculously hard while still being ridiculously entertaining. Takes a couple of minutes to get used to but after that you feel like a ninja when you complete levels.
A lot of content for an LD, could use some sort of level selection screen, and past that just expanding upon the idea with more mechanics could work really well for a full game.
Really nice job.

kalth.streil says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Good entry! I'm not a fan of mouse-based controls, but the graphics are great, and the game feels complete from the beginning! Mechanics are clever too :D

Knowledge says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:42pm

A bit too frustrating!

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:10pm

amazing game, loved the graphics!

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:31am

nice graphics! i like the mood :)

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:10am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]