Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morphling

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

This our Ludum Dare 35 entry Morphling, a traditional platformer. We tried for a 16bit era feel this time around. Controls are explained in-game, but pleeeeeeeease use a 360 controller if you can, as it's way easier.

This time we were pretty pleased with the pixel art, and the music. Again we seemed to run out of time for level design though, so this is a relatively polished game with only 3 levels.

PS. Sorry it's so hard. Just remember that being a cat makes you invulnerable to all enemies and attacks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Theme(Jam)4.44
#9Fun(Jam)4.28
#9Overall(Jam)4.31
#13Audio(Jam)4.27
#45Graphics(Jam)4.44
#56Mood(Jam)4.03
#147Innovation(Jam)3.67
#185Humor(Jam)3.30

Comments

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:44am

Great game! Very well made.

forgiv3nplays says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47am

Music 10/10!

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

Great! The music and graphics are awesome, the controls feel very good. Well done

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

beautiful game, i loved!

celia14 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

I love the art! Transforming into the different forms is so smooth and cool, it's really fun.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19am

Cool graphics and music. Sadly, some others have this same idea, so I've seen some other games trying to do this same thing, but I think yours is the best one!

MestreRothWP says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

Very cool! Nice variations. You could introduce the mechanics more slowly, though, so you can get a great variation in gameplay. Very very good entry, congrats.

imepp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21am

Nice game. Very challenging, fun and pretty!
Too hard for me though xD Tried the first map 4 or 5 times...
Good job!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Awesome game! You managed to embed the theme mechanically in a really suprising way, it was fun to discover the different shapes. Well polished, great graphics and music. I'll try it out with a controller as soon as I can.

Thirsty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15am

Awesome game.. fun to play and great visuals and audio!

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:41am

Good platformer game. Cool graphics. Well done!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Well done sir! Graphics are nice and loved the concept of shifting into certain situations

Fartenko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

This game is amazing! Well polished and basically its fun!
Music is by far the best I listened on this LD. And Graphics is really cute. Overall, Awesome!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Max rating in all categories, congratulations!! :)

samlo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:12am

Great music graphics and animations! Game is kind of overly hard though

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03pm

What an amazingly designed game! I had a blast playing it :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Oh i love this! I had a super similar idea several jams back, even the aesthetic was similar, but this is so much better executed. If i have one criticism it would be the lack of checkpoints, and those springs seem to have been placed in exactly the worst positions to make you take damage every time. You might also be given too much all at once, it might have been better to grant the abilities over time. Super well done though, great job!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description
p.p.s so many animals *_*

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Absolutely phenomenal. Incredible engine, love the connection of your physics state to your shape! So polished, so amazing. I wish the shooters hate a lower rate of fire, but otherwise this is near perfect in every way. Congrats on an amazing entry!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Excellent! ! !

whilefun says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:16pm

This is pretty outstanding! I ran into some trouble after mis-clicking and reloading, where the double jump test wouldn't work again for me. Other than that, this game is really great. I hope you make something further with this engine. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Awesomely polished experience from A to Z, well done tutorial phase and nice work on the juice.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:15am

The graphics, audio, and overall gameplay features are all really cool, and the mood which this game creates is very engaging! I really liked the polish that you added (such as the animations while changing between animals). Well done!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:55am

I was just playing along and suddenly I just teared up.. This game made feel things. I think it's because I want to make things like this. It's so great, the mood, the pixelart, the soundtrack, just everything about this game is great. 5 on freaking everything!

You guys have inspired me <3

Reiv says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:38am

This game is so polished! The graphics and animations are awesome

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:13am

This was such a cute game! And the music, oh gosh. ♥ There's little I can say other than I loved it.

I played it on my stream @ 1:59:50, but I definitely intend to go back to it in my own time: http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:49pm

i'm still waiting your game :D

Goutye says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Music 10/10 as well. Polished entry and really funny. As you said, lack of time for game design, especially for the cat transformation which is only used in the first level. I didn't manage to jump multiple times on the walls. Don't even sure that I was allowed to but I feel like it should have been possible because of the tutorial. Overall: excellent game team! And congratulations for the baby!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:22pm

great game !

LeoM says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Great game, good use of the theme, long enough and with a balanced difficulty and fun to play ^^

Also congratulation for the last metamorphosis I saw in the blogs messages. ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Very fun and challenging, well animated and good sounds-- ticks all the boxes as far as executions goes.

My only complaint is that ther are ALOT of moves/mechanics front loaded in the tutorial. This is fine for a LD where you know people are going to be playing your game in 5-20 minute stints.

Also, while originally I thought "well the sprite changes were just decoration for standard 2d platformer moves" but this was actually a really smart design decision because it allowed you to make something really solid and fun with conventional mechanics within the allotted time.

Good work (and congrats on the baby!)

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Great entry! satisfying controls, great graphics, music, sound. All good :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:31pm

This is my favorite game so far out of more than 30 games I've played. The controls feel really natural, it's hard, but in a good way. I love it - so well done. I would buy it in a heartbeat. :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Fantastic all around! Lovely artwork, great music, and a cool way on the theme. I love how one of the attacks is also a movement ability -- things like that are super elegant and fun. Nice work!!!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:02am

Wow, excellent tutorial. Quick to go through, introduces a lot of stuff, but in a way that it is easy to remember once you move onto the levels.

Very polished entry, too. The music is great. The levels past the tutorial are a lot of fun ^.^

Controls are nice and responsive!! But I always find X and Z and C to be incredibly awkward controls, both physically and as far as needing to take a moment to think about them. Keys like F and G and R feel more natural and are faster to strike and cause less hand strain. But again, they're very responsive, which is the most important thing.

High marks all around, this is very good.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Very well crafted. Little bug in the game I think: you can use space or up for jumping but space does not work for wall jumps, only up does.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Pssst - you are in todays episode of LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa_XGu8KGz8

GaryS says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This is fantastic. It's really fun to play, graphics are great, sound was excellent.

Literally the only thing I'd change is the boxes - the player can walk through them, but can only smash them from the sides, which means if there's one at the end of a wall, you tend to walk into it. You hit Z a couple of times to smash it and nothing happens, so you have to walk back a bit and try again. It's the only thing that broke the flow of gameplay.

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:34am

Awesome game! Tough as nails tho :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Loved the animations, brilliant stuff - particularly the transition from run to jump. I was too uncoordinated to beat it but I sure wanted to.. :) I actually really liked the way the tutorial was heavily front-loaded, I think that was necessary with all the shapeshifting mechanics you had in there.

Cerno_b says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Very nice entry. Everything feels so polished. The art is very nice, the music supports the visuals without being repetitive and overall the game is a lot of fun.

What stands out though are the controls, which are super tight.

PS: I didn't find it too hard, but then again I just came back from a Dark Souls session so my judgment may be a bit off.

Linver says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:07am

All those transformations are fun, but there are some troubles:
[*] It was hard for me to manage 3 control buttons (z,x,c) at start.. and I mistaked a lot 4 first deaths. You can make a doodge by double arrow key press, for moar intuitive experience.
[*] Wall-passable haunting enemies are very annoying, when there are above or below you.
[*] Looks like you cann't jump when you stay close to wall 0_o and die/
These can improve your Overall next time, I think ;3

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:58am

What a charming little game! I just loved it. The art style and music was great. It was a lot of fun! I think my only critique is that I didn't use the cat so often, I was pressing Z a lot more often. I loved the transformations of the character, very cool. The tutorial level was also well done. Awesome entry!!! :D

LeReveur says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Awesome ! Hard but really fun to play ! :D

May 8, 2016 @ 12:24am

Cute character :) I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/tTBSC0cP_38

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:25am

Very cute, lots of content, super well made... And man, that art style! The character is so snappy with all these shape shifting, loved it!
My only complain would be that there are too many controls for such a short game (it's hard to remember everything you can do), but it's awesomely made. Kudos!

broknecho says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Really liked this game! The shapeshifting was done really well and was a blast to play!

Great job!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]