Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Secret of the Lizard People

by zookatron - Jam Entry

You are Hugh Mann, a reptilian shapeshifter tasked with infiltrating human society to destroy it from within. This is Hugh Mann's first assignment above ground, and while he is able to look just like a human, he is having trouble imitating their behavior. Help Hugh blend in and avoid detection!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Humor(Jam)4.19
#216Fun(Jam)3.52
#465Theme(Jam)3.44
#501Innovation(Jam)3.11
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#524Overall(Jam)3.26
#670Graphics(Jam)3.11
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31am

Interesting game!
I personally loved the character creation bit.

medidog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01am

Love the humor, and appreciate the effort to put this all together! I wish driving mechanics would work much better then it is but it was very funny afterall

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Cool start. Only my game froze and I could not continue to play.

Alphish says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:03am

The game is pretty cute. The art style is simple, but serves its purpose, and there was a good variety with the minigames. Mechanics were working pretty well, too (though driving was a bit of a pain). I'd have liked to have some special ending for getting 11/11, though; it's always nice when perfection is rewarded. Also, I haven't heard any audio...

Good job overall. ^^

ryjcio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:33pm

I was surprised that I tried to master this game, even it's seems to be primitive at first. I think you've done great balancing difficulty! :D

Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:44pm

I really liked this game.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:22am

Loved it It was really funny! I coudnt drive properly though. good job!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:08am

This is probably the funniest LD game I've seen. Good job! The mini-games offered a good variety, each with their own humor. Driving is terribly hard.
Great to see another reptilian overlord game like my own! (we have to stick together... not that I'm a reptile or anything...)

Reiv says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:49am

This game is really funny and interesting. Driving was hard thought. Nice characters.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:50am

Fun stuff, a good variety of minigames and it was great that it worked even on mobile, though the driving game was pretty hard. Could be funnier still if failure/success would have more consequences.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Haha awesome entry! Love the humour! I was missing sound though.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Fun game! The graphics are colorful and friendly. The concept is very humorous, and the gameplay simple and fun. Great job making so many minigames in such little time!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Nice game :)

Kurulla_Se0 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:00pm

I like the pleasant mood and your approach to the theme. But I didn't get the driving part.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]