Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Zord's Dank Carpet

by CryoGenesis - Compo Entry

(If it doesn't start, update your JRE)

-Game-
You control Zord's dank, shapeshifting carpet. Use it to keep him away from the 'darkness'. It's unsure whether Zord really is a wizard, or just an antique gentleman on a drug-induced trip. How did that hydraulic press get this high up.

-CHALLENGES-
Learn how to play - Pass through each tutorial gate
Flappy bird veteran - Reach score 50
Absolute madman - Reach score 100 <= you are now better than the dev
JESUS REINCARNATE - Get Zord's HAT to score 100 <= with video proof and you win the 'MeGa PrIzE!!11!'

To redeem your 'MeGa PrIzE!!11!' send video to gendevelopmentemail@gmail.com

Hint: the prize is totally worth the effort of getting his hat to 100

-Controls-
Move the mouse to move Zord's carpet
Left click makes the carpet shapeshift vertically
Right click makes the carpet shapeshift horizontally


-Technical Details-
Made with Java, LWJGL, paulscode soundsystem, IntelliJ IDEA, GIMP, FL Studio and Audacity

Requires latest JRE to run

If you think you've found a bug, look again, it's a secret easter egg feature especially for your build!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Humor3.30
#161Graphics3.72
#232Fun3.46
#249Mood3.26
#250Overall3.46
#487Innovation3.08
#496Audio2.60
#641Theme3.08
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:00am

Very hard game! Also, I saw your request and will try to upload a video tomorrow

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17pm

fucking brillo m8

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Loved how the hat fell off as I changed my rotation! Also a very neat concept. The sound was a bit loud and the press-type obstacles didn't seem to do anything?

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38am

Thought it was gonna be a Flappy Bird clone based on the description but was pleasantly surprised to see a relatively unique game.

Griz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42am

sweet, a flappy wizard!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42am

Haha! This was a lot of good, clean, goofy fun! My own entry could almost be a companion piece to this - it shares the pursuing 'shadow' and has a similarly hapless protagonist.

Anyway, I enjoyed it a lot even if there is no chance whatsoever of me winning the Megaprize... Great graphics, sound, controls and mood.

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:44am

The rotation mechanic is pretty neat and I liked when the hat fell off. Pretty solid game even if its not the most original idea. Good job!

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15am

Gandalf the blue :D

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:15am

Oh man this game looks like so much fun but I'm on ubuntu 15.10 and I got this error :(

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1864)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:870)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1122)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at ld35.Main.main(Main.java:23)

I actually tried both java 7 and 8 but they both gave an error :(

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Nice entry. The hat is a nice touch. I did my best to travel as far as possible but gave up after ten tries or so with my score around twenties. Procedural levels would've increased the lifetime of the game for me. Keep up the good work.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Challenging, and quite funny! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/jRtyhvCwxto

Pusty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Neat concept haha. I like the graphics and audio. Nice!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:55pm

I was really excited to become a Jesus reincarnate, but then I realized that this game is extremely hard... I got to flappy bird veteran though! The only complaint I have is I didn't realize that you can click again to stretch the carpet further. I think that should be a bit more explicit. Otherwise really great game with good graphics (though the music got on my nerves a little bit).

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

crazya02 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Made it to around 48. Love the mechanics and the hat falling off.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]