Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Squared

by JPatrick - Compo Entry

Squared is a survival game with shapes. You can shift between the default shape and shapes that have more powerful weapons and attacks. Shapes have to be unlocked and charged up before use. Levelling up and charging the shapes is achieved by killing the robots.

Please read the instructions before playing :)
Forgot to mention in the instructions that it is WASD to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#492Humor2.13
#547Audio2.39
#587Fun2.95
#708Theme2.95
#743Mood2.35
#785Overall2.80
#786Innovation2.55
#813Graphics2.30
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:38pm

It looks and feels like the first idear prototype, and not like an finished game.
There is no collision or anything with the enemys and the only kind to see if you get damage is the healthstatus.

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Would be nice to start with things a bit slower, to get the hang of things before dying. I thought it was strange to put the pc in the corner since it can't move (right?)

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:30pm

A nice start, but as a player it really feels like i need more feedback. Seeing a number tick down doesn't feel like anything, and then dying comes at a surprise. Also, the whole thing feels like it requires more precision than I can really get with a mouse and keyboard which can make the game a little frustrating. I did like the use of the four shapes though, and how the power levels create a risk-reward of waiting for the diamond or just going for a circle.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Frantic, and once I understood what I was doing I had some fun. Your instructions don't detail that WASD moves the player character, so like the person above, I was confused as to why there was no way to move for a bit.

Senor Salty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Most fun Ive had shooting hot dogs at brown board tacs.
In all seriousness though,for some constructive critism the game was way to easy.More enemy hp and less powerups would strike a nice balance.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Very good!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Nice entry. I like the idea.

lanestp says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:48am

Good entry. I got owned pretty quickly. It would be nice if the enemies started off a little slower. Other than that, very nice!

General says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:19am

Made a video review for you: https://youtu.be/cov2SmkSm4E

Big Cow says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Nice little scoot around and shoot type game. Reminded me of the dynamic in super smash tv. Found it very hard to avoid being hit and hard to press the numbers to change shape when moving around and shooting. Great idea though. Pew Pew! -R

davor10105 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:36pm

like it, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]